Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour Of Sliabh Luachra 2014 30th Of Aug

• 09-08-2014 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭

Hi everyone. Just a heads up to anyone looking for a bit of a challenge. Sliabh luachra CC are again holding their annual tour of sliabh luachra charity cycle in memory of two great local guys that passed away not long ago. The proceeds will be going to Simon cork and friends of children from chernobyl charities. There are 3 options. A very tough 110k, ( would be a lot tougher than the ring of kerry even with the shorter distance) a 90k and a 65k. It is a lovely scenic route based around the Cork-Kerry border area. Feedback from last year was very positive and the general consensus was that it was one of the most enjoyable leisure events of 2013. Registration is at rathmore church from 8:15 to 8:45 and the event will begin at 9. Check out our fb page for all other info and route maps. Thanks for taking a look!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Seefa

There are three routes this year and is run in reverse from last year. The 90km excludes Cordal but anyone that loves a challenge the 110km offers just that. The shorter 65km offers a bit of everything. A day not to be missed. Full details on sliabhluachracyclingclub.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Hi,Sann, Seefa,
    I am going to do the 90K with two of my friends from the 'Big Schmoke' , really looking forward to it. A friend of ours in in the Sliabh luachra cycling club and he roped us in for a good charity.

I wouldn't class myself as 'real cyclist' yet as I only cycle 20K per day commuting to work plus the odd sprint/ 20K Duathlon, so I was wondering how long would it take for a few guys of decent/average fitness to complete the 90K section (4-5 hours??).

Any advice would be appreciated, think it is called the 'Club Cycle' for 90K?

Hi smashiner

The 90k should take 4-5hours as you suggested. The club cycled the route earlier this month maybe that is why it is referred to as the"club cycle" All three routes are part of the Tour of Sliabh Luachra. Looking forward to meeting you on the 30th

Hi Seefa,
    Great, thanks for the feedback, I thought that 4-5 hours would sound about right. We will be the Dubs dressed from head to toe in Aldi cycle gear and brand new bikes bought two months ago on the 'Bike to Work Scheme'!! The term, 'All the Gear and no idea' springs to mind :rolleyes:.

We travel down on the Train on Friday night to Killarney and may have one or two lemonades on the way!!

Hi smashiner

Sounds like you are going to be very distinctive on the day, will keep an eye out for you. Enjoy the lemonades :)

Yep,
    We sure will. Look out for lads with a 'Corratech' White Bike (me), White 'Giant' bike and Black Flat Bar Racer 'Giant' bike, we will trying to blend into the crowd. Was going to bring my High Nelly with the wicker basket on the front, but I didn't want to look silly :-).

Cheers,
    C U then......

Really looking forward to this at the weekend, should be a good atmosphere in Killarney in the afternoon too with the GAA replay with Mayo being on!

Quick question, how tough is the 110K route? I am not going to attempt it but I was curious by the description of 'Very Tough' on the website, sounds as if it is not for the faint-hearted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭sann

Heya. Well to put the 110 in perspective. It's not the distance as such but there are a few nasty little kicks between Ballydesmond and Castleisland. You have a relatively flat section then before your final foodstop at Scartaglin. This is where the fun starts as you head up over the very scenic hills of the leaps which carries you towards Kilcumin. The fact that you have about 80k of cycling at this stage is what makes this section so tough. It's a long drag with very little respite. The feedback we received last year from people who had completed the ring of kerry a few weeks previously was that they found our 110 a lot tougher. We are running the route in reverse this year but having cycled it a few times in both directions it's equally as difficult. Hope this answers your question. See you saturday!!

smashiner wrote: »
    Really looking forward to this at the weekend, should be a good atmosphere in Killarney in the afternoon too with the GAA replay with Mayo being on!

Quick question, how tough is the 110K route? I am not going to attempt it but I was curious by the description of 'Very Tough' on the website, sounds as if it is not for the faint-hearted?

The 110k is challenging and for hill lovers. It consists of three climbs each not very long but are steep. It should be a good day, looking forward to welcoming you to Sliabh Luachra

Thanks Lads,
    Really looking forward to it. Based on the feedback, I think that we will stick to the 90K route and get back in time for the start of the match!

Just one more thing to mention. The 110k and 90k follow the same route for the first 50k until u get to knocknaboul cross where the 110k nuts will be turning right for corral while the 90k will continue straight for scartaglin. You could decide at the time you reach this point but bear in mind that there will be a cut off time for people hoping to do the 110k. For anyone reaching this point after 12 pm they will be asked to continue on straight on the 90k route.

Hi Sann,
    We will probably stick to the 90K route (Same as the 65K??) as we will be up for a few hours cycling in aid of a good cause and a few lemonades after!

Question, what would you recommend to wear on the day? Would Tee Shirts/ short sleeve Cycling Shirts be adequate or should we go for rain jackets / wind breakers, what are conditions like up in the Gods ? Would a Dubs jersey be the ideal way to go for a cycle in the Heart of the Kingdom or would we be lynched
    :-) ??

Hi smashiner. No problem with a dubs jersey. We're up for a bit of friendly banter as much as the next fela😊. As for what to wear! As it stands forecast is looking good for the beautiful surroundings of Sliabh Luachra. At worst the odd sun shower. Handy to prevent over heating!!. So I'd go with a short sleeve jersey and just a light gillet or a rain cape just incase the morning is a little cool.

Hi Lads,
    Dubs jersey it is so! I was speaking to our mutual friend 'IOT' and he said that the Kerry lads would be on for a it of crack alright. He said that Kerry even wore blue jerseys against Mayo last week in order to look more like Dublin (his words) :-)..... Will take your advice on the rain jacket too, as the weather looks decent but the odd shower might be on the cards.

Looking forward to the weekend, talk to you soon.
    S

Great stuff. You will be glad to hear we have released Mr IOT to cycle with you. He was hoping to escape and use marshalling duties as his excuse but we are a very obliging crowd down here and love to see the boys from the big smoke suffering. Ha.ha. Looking forward to seeing ye in the morning. Should make a great day for all.
    Paidi Keane.

Super. I heard that he was trying to avoid the cycle by saying that he might be 'under pressure' to do a marshalling job alright....complete cop out.

Glad to hear that he has to haul his butt up the side of a mountain with us. Looks like we are doing the 90K now!!

Steve

Hi Lads,
    Just wanted to say a big thanks to all the members at Sliabh Luachra for running a great event! Under advice from IOT we sensibly did the 65K route (around 3+ hours), which wasn't too bad considering the hills and climbs involved. Highlight of the day were the pit stops where we were greeted by very friendly members with copius trays of sandwiches, drinks and 'Rocky Road' cakes, which kept the sugar levels up for the poor auld Dubs!

We went into Killarney watched the Kerry v Mayo game (super game, credit to Kerry), had a hearty dinner a few drinks afterwards and then slept like little babies that night :-).

Great weekend, we will be back soon aiming for the 90K next :-). In GAA, Donegal burst our balloon yesterday afternoon, but fair play to them as they deserved it, should be a great final.
    C'mon The Kingdom !!!