Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor dealer - an absolute tool

• 06-08-2014 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

So anyway 2 weeks ago went to look at McCormick . Went back a few days later witht he auld lad who is a mechcanic and did a deal with this lad in Carlow(May or may not be the part of the country) pending the inspection of my tractor last week.

So last week my auld pal Henry (May or may not be his real name) didnt call me back after a few calls and texts to come look at my tractor so i advertised it myself.

Friday afternoon he calls me and says, "Look ill do the deal with you not just take down your tractor off donedeal and i will also" That was saying he was buying as is and not pending inspection, and ill drop up the new tractor on tuesday or wednesday. He was in hospital he said and would get someone to drop it. So it was organised for yesterday and no show and today he called and him 15 minutes away. FFS i had told him call me before he leaves Carlow (If that is the place :rolleyes:)

So the hoare arrives up today and backs out of the deal. I knew before he even got off the lorry he was going to break the deal.

Seems the man has no word. Fecking raging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

after reading that im not sure are you drunk or i am!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

rs8 wrote: »

I had to read it 3 times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

was wrote in a fit of anger :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Be careful, one of Carlow's longest established tractor dealers name is #enry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Tell him to go fcuk himself.
    I wouldn't buy it after that carry on.
    If he is that way doing a deal I wouldn't have any faith in his word saying the tractor is as he says it is
    What if you buy it and something goes wrong.
    I'd say from your description of him he wouldn't fux it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

Tell him to go fcuk himself.
    I wouldn't buy it after that carry on.
    If he is that way doing a deal I wouldn't have any faith in his word saying the tractor is as he says it is

Totally agree, move on and forget about the pr!ck, a deal is a deal and he doesn't honor it then not worth wasting your energy thinking about him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Maybe I missed it, but what was his reasons for breaking the deal?
    And I'd agree with exactly what Greengrass said, ye couldn't trust him after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Squatman

So anyway 2 weeks ago went to look at McCormick . Went back a few days later witht he auld lad who is a mechcanic and did a deal with this lad in Carlow(May or may not be the part of the country) pending the inspection of my tractor last week.

So last week my auld pal Henry (May or may not be his real name) didnt call me back after a few calls and texts to come look at my tractor so i advertised it myself.

Friday afternoon he calls me and says, "Look ill do the deal with you not just take down your tractor off donedeal and i will also" That was saying he was buying as is and not pending inspection, and ill drop up the new tractor on tuesday or wednesday. He was in hospital he said and would get someone to drop it. So it was organised for yesterday and no show and today he called and him 15 minutes away. FFS i had told him call me before he leaves Carlow (If that is the place :rolleyes:)

So the hoare arrives up today and backs out of the deal. I knew before he even got off the lorry he was going to break the deal.

That was really annoying to read (may or may not be my opinion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭dzer2

Move on and remember the name and any time some one mentions it let them know how he behaved

dzer2 wrote: »
    Move on and remember the name and any time some one mentions it let them know how he behaved

think I might give the good people at donedeal an extra é3 and tell the country :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

rs8 wrote: »

Lol, I can interpret (farmer's daugher)
    A gentleman's agreement was made in relation to the sale of a tractor. This agreement was broken. You will not understand the implications of this unless you have farmed, where financial loans etc. were given on good faith/a spit and a promise. If your father had dealt with this individual on the strength of a spit and shaking of hands, then you also deal with them on the same terms.

Be careful, one of Carlow's longest established tractor dealers name is #enry

this lad is more plant than tractors. no marquee brand.

also does landscaping :rolleyes:.

If you can not depend on the strength of someone's word, then they don't have the money.

lakill farm - listen to your Dad or whoever owns the farm still until you learn how to deal with credit on a farm.

NipNip wrote: »
    lakill farm - listen to your Dad or whoever owns the farm still until you learn how to deal with credit on a farm.

deal with credit?

Btw its my farm- bought by me, not inherited or gifted

If you can not depend on the strength of someone's word, then they don't have the money.

ah, I had the money :rolleyes:

Then you have to ask yourself why the deal was not done.

because he wasn't a man of his word

You learn fast! Farming is not so fast, nor so easily forced. That's why I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Which did he back out of? Was it the price for his tractor or the deal to buy yours?

Have had that in the past where a fella was delighted I wanted to buy but wasn't too happy that I was interested in trading as part of the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Rang a dealership a while bak on a saturday for an injector, he didnt know me.,said he was shut at one, no way id make it before 4. Id have to wait til monday. Almost begged him! The uncle had bought his tractors off him for years, when i told him dat he apolized and sent a guy up with it and said we wil fix up when you introduce yourself!

Ur man is an ass.any chance of a link to the ad. . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Lakill,

Why the f**k did ya want a McCormick anyways? :D

Damo810 wrote: »
    Lakill,

Why the f**k did ya want a McCormick anyways? :D

BUDGET

and I haven't access to your bank account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

BUDGET

I could sell ya a smouldering hot tractor...literally loo

BUDGET

Ah I'm only pulling your leg! And you're lucky about the second part too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Lakill I had a diplomat experience z few months ago with a dealer pulling out of a mower I paid a deposit on. Absolut prxxk. People here said walk awsy etc. was very annoying but found a nicer one for better money a month later.

Walk away. It's annoying. Tell everyone you meet about it and spend your money else where.

Ps(Dealer may or May not be in Laois and constantly advertises on done deal.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I hope he enjoyed his drive up the country and back again! What price does he put on a days driving?
    Had an similar experience with a lad who mistakenly thought that since I had travelled 200 miles to pick up a machine, that I wouldn't return without it, despite the price going up . He was sadly mistaken...

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I hope he enjoyed his drive up the country and back again! What price does he put on a days driving?
    Had an similar experience with a lad who mistakenly thought that since I had travelled 200 miles to pick up a machine, that I wouldn't return without it, despite the price going up . He was sadly mistaken...

and some free publicity:D

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/henry-from-carlow-tractors-plant/7437702

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

and some free publicity:D

That fuel type is expensive enough most of the time lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Fuel type Classic!

That his name and number , or your's, by the way? Just in case you don't need it all over boards..........

Fuel type Classic!

That his name and number , or your's, by the way? Just in case you don't need it all over boards..........

Mine but no difference to me. the truth is the truth

Fuel type Classic!

He'll be getting a heap of strange prank calls from you Cavan bucks now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Not cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Muckit wrote: »
    Not cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Bit over the top lad. Most machienry dealers are dickheads. Get over it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

mf240 wrote: »
    Bit over the top lad. Most machienry dealers are dickheads. Get over it and move on.

Don't trip over the toys as walk past the pram

mf240 wrote: »

since I put up the advert I have got 3 or 4 texts from other lads who he treated the same

So could save another one off here a trip for no reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

Muckit wrote: »
    Not cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

{MOD]

Alright guys, the point has been made and has come across loud & clear.
    Going to close this thread now to avoid it descending into organised chaos.

Lakill, I hope you see the reasoning behind me closing it.

.Kovu.

[MOD]