Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is James Horan cracking up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jommer01

harpsman wrote: »
    I dont really think hes cracking up-just his rant on Sunday reminded me of "Rafas rant".

I certainly thought he went way over the top, considering hes been known to make comments about referees and named players pre match himself.

Way over the top from Horan... I saw Keegan talking rubbish in some other interview. Hard to get behind Mayo after that whereas I would have before. I just think they come across as very arrogant for a team that have no more than a few Connaught titles to their name!

As a Cork man I'd feel far more aggrieved by the trip on O Neill when he clean through than the time-keeping issue. Any contact at all during the act of shooting is a free and it was obvious. O Shea was fairly lucky to get the free out as well after Maguire's effort. All in all though, Mayo were worth their victory and were deserving winners over the 70 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Id say Horan and the Mayo team were frustrated with Corks "anti football" tactics on Sunday. Cork had a pre mediated plan that involved winding up and niggley off the ball fouling. They tried to pre empt the referee into siding against Mayo but it didnt really work as the ref handled the game well in difficult circumstances. Football is full of this negative tactics and bull **** mind games these days and its getting hard to watch. Teams seem to decide they cannot compete fairly so devise a plan based on cheating, its ingrained now in most sports unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Is it a commonly held notion that Cork were doing the niggling on Sunday?

From my seat Mayo were at the very, very least equally guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Yup .. don't think it is the most "balanced" of views. Personally speaking my pre-match routine involves a couple of "settlers" behind the Cusack then I put on my gorm/dubh gorm glasses and berate every decision that goes against us, see only one side of the argument for the 70 odd mins of the match.

Give it a day or so and watch the game back .. it's amazing the number of "oh yeah" moments you find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

In fairness I do think singling out individual players was very poor form from the Cork management.

Surprising too. That's not something you'd see Jimmy Barry do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I've no time for Mayo due to their falling dramatically to the ground to win a free routine but yet are well able to foul opponents up the field and then stop them taking a quick free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Id say Horan and the Mayo team were frustrated with Corks "anti football" tactics on Sunday. Cork had a pre mediated plan that involved winding up and niggley off the ball fouling. They tried to pre empt the referee into siding against Mayo but it didnt really work as the ref handled the game well in difficult circumstances. Football is full of this negative tactics and bull **** mind games these days and its getting hard to watch. Teams seem to decide they cannot compete fairly so devise a plan based on cheating, its ingrained now in most sports unfortunately.
    If you think football is cynical these days try getting a video of the 1980 all ireland, or type Mickey Ned O Sullivan into youtube.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Is it a commonly held notion that Cork were doing the niggling on Sunday?

From my seat Mayo were at the very, very least equally guilty.
    Mayo certainly have a few players who are quite aggressive and in your face- Boyle, Keegan, the OSheas, Doherty, and good luck to em, most successful teams have a few of those guys.

If you think football is cynical these days try getting a video of the 1980 all ireland, or type Mickey Ned O Sullivan into youtube.

I dont need youtube, I was at plenty of 80s matches. There is no comparrison between that and the systematic coached fouling that occurs these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭freddiek

pressure can do that to people. see it in a lot of sports.

as for the non-handshake, when someone offers you his hand you should accept.

doesn't mean you can't say your piece afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

The same people who are giving out about Horan on here would be doing the exact same if it was him instead that came out the week before the game and said Hurley and O'Neill were well able to win free's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

A classy manager never rises to the bait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

He's just trying to develop a siege mentality within the squad "us against the rest". If they win the All-Ireland it will be lauded as great tactics, if they don't as evidence he lost it. In reality, it will probably make little difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Horan will be cracked out of the Championship when JOD and Kerry co will hammer them out of the park. I can't see it going any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Wouldn't go so far as to say that he is cracking up, but he does seem to get involved in a lot of these war of words via the media. I don't see the point of them myself. They tend to back fire imo. If Grimley & Geezer & Horan etc etc are able to win Sam with that kind of victim/siege mentality, maybe I'll change my opinion, but I don't see it happening any time soon.

Amprodude wrote: »
    Horan will be cracked out of the Championship when JOD and Kerry co will hammer them out of the park. I can't see it going any other way.

kerry let a man run 50 yards tru the middle of their defence to score a goal, they are no world beaters. They however did beat a Cork team so devoid of heart bottle and balls that they had to try a dirty tricks campaign in their next match. They were no good at that either, maybe they should go on strike again again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

ultrapercy wrote: »
    kerry let a man run 50 yards tru the middle of their defence to score a goal, they are no world beaters. They however did beat a Cork team so devoid of heart bottle and balls that they had to try a dirty tricks campaign in their next match. They were no good at that either, maybe they should go on strike again again.

A Mayo football supporter is in no position to say another team has no balls. In case you need reminding ye have lost 7 finals since '51.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

lukin wrote: »
    A Mayo football supporter is in no position to say another team has no balls. In case you need reminding ye have lost 7 finals since '51.

You're only as good as your last match, I'm not sure what 1989 has to do with today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

And to be fair it is not as if they were favourites going into most of the finals lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Yet Mayo keep coming back in-spite of all those loses when it would be easier to throw in the towel.
    That for me shows that they have are not lacking in the balls department...just some luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

It may not be fair that past final losses are thrown at teams like Mayo, Galway hurlers etc. but unfortunatley that's just the way it is. Cork were called bottlers, chokers etc. after they lost the finals in 2007 and 2009. They had to win one to stop people saying that. Hopefully Mayo will too as despite the gloating from some Mayo posters after Sunday I'd like to see ye win one.
    However you would think past losses would teach them not to be so cocky but surprisingly that isn't the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

It may not be fair that past final losses are thrown at teams like Mayo, Galway hurlers etc. but unfortunatley that's just the way it is. Cork were called bottlers, chokers etc. after they lost the finals in 2007 and 2009. They had to win one to stop people saying that. Hopefully Mayo will too as despite the gloating from some Mayo posters after Sunday I'd like to see ye win one.
    However you would think past losses would teach them not to be so cocky but surprisingly that isn't the case.

Didn't see much gloating from Mayo fans.
    They won a QF game by the skin of their teeth, not sure how much gloating anyone could do on that occasion.

On the topic of Horan 'cracking up', I think all this is completely overblown.
    Its real storm in a tea cup stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

AngeGal wrote: »
    He's just trying to develop a siege mentality within the squad "us against the rest". If they win the All-Ireland it will be lauded as great tactics, if they don't as evidence he lost it. In reality, it will probably make little difference.

There was ridiculous stuff coming from the Cork management before the match. I'd caution against trying to go next level on what was a pretty appropriate response in the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

LOL. People would want to watch the final minutes of last years All-Ireland to get your stomach full of fouling. Also check out some of the good Kerry teams that won recent All-Irelands. Tyrone have had a few matches where there has been fouling .... I think.

The same people who are giving out about Horan on here would be doing the exact same if it was him instead that came out the week before the game and said Hurley and O'Neill were well able to win free's.
    No apostrophe in frees there zulu. and yes people would be givin out if hed said what Hurley said just like theyve criticised hurley.

What got me about what Hurley said was that I dont think theres really any truth to it so it was pointless-if it was me Id have said that Mayo lay the game on the edge and that some referees would penalise alot of their tackles as frees because that has some basis in fact.

Personally Ive no problem with managers saying things about the opposition before games and naming players as well-tough **** if you dont like it.

Kildare did it a few years ago about donegal talking about fouling out the field and the ironic thing is when they went 3 up they committed about 3 or 4 rugby tackles on Donegal players outside the 45-we showed em tho!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭HandsomeRover

No apostrophe in frees there zulu. and yes people would be givin out if hed said what Hurley said just like theyve criticised hurley.

What got me about what Hurley said was that I dont think theres really any truth to it so it was pointless-if it was me Id have said that Mayo lay the game on the edge and that some referees would penalise alot of their tackles as frees because that has some basis in fact.

Personally Ive no problem with managers saying things about the opposition before games and naming players as well-tough **** if you dont like it.

Kildare did it a few years ago about donegal talking about fouling out the field and the ironic thing is when they went 3 up they committed about 3 or 4 rugby tackles on Donegal players outside the 45-we showed em tho!!!

No p in play there harp...

Amprodude...

You got your tae in a mug on the Limerick hurling pages last week and here you are trying to rise the Men of the West. From the frying pan into the fire!

Mayo lay on the edge-common expression in Donegal:D

Donegal...you're avoiding the discussion on fouling! How will ye go this wknd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Will someone, for the love of jaysis put the a into Jmes!

Donegal...you're avoiding the discussion on fouling! How will ye go this wknd?

I definately think we'll win but if for some reason we dont bring 100% then Armagh are more than capable of takin us out. Donegal at less than full speed are no great shakes but I think they ll be well prepared for this one. Id say it will be pretty close though. Sorry for goin off topic but i was asked :)

Amprodude...

You got your tae in a mug on the Limerick hurling pages last week and here you are trying to rise the Men of the West. From the frying pan into the fire!

What I said about Limerick was true. With the good team they have now, they still won't win AI. I couldn't see them beating two good teams to win AI. Mayo are the same. Good for a QF or SF win and then choke in finals. In only stating facts but some people can't see it that way and get defensive. Until Limerick and Mayo do win AIs they aren't going to be taken seriously unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

McCarthy and Cuthbert were completely out of order and are a disgrace to their clubs and county.
    Horan was right to NOT shake the hand of a silly clown.

Having said all that, Doherty and McLoughlin were fouling all day and McLoughlin should have been black carded for a blatant block on Goold.

Reff Reilly would most likely have dealt with them properly if McCarthy and Cuthbert had kept their big mouths shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭zombieHanalei

Until Limerick and Mayo do win AIs they aren't going to be taken seriously unfortunately.

Throw the current Cork hurlers in there while you're at it. Funny, the present Limerick and Cork teams have won exactly as much as each other; one Munster apiece, yet according to you Cork are the bee's knees and Limerick can't be taken seriously.

Amprodude "logic" folks.....

Throw the current Cork hurlers in there while you're at it. Funny, the present Limerick and Cork teams have won exactly as much as each other; one Munster apiece, yet according to you Cork are the bee's knees and Limerick can't be taken seriously.

Amprodude "logic" folks.....

Ok let's go.

Since Cork won AI in 2005 we will compare facts.

CORK

2006 Munster and All Ireland Finalists.
    2008 AI semi finalists.
    2010 Munster finalists and AI Semi Finalists
    2012 AI semi finalists
    2013 Munster and AI finalists.
    2014 Munster champs and AI semi Finalists to date.

LIMERICK

2007 AI finalists.
    2012 Quarter finallists
    2013 Munster champs and AI semi finalists

2014 Munster finalists and AI semi Finalists to date.

How has better record to date? You have no argument mate and Cork didn't really have a team from 2007-11.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Will someone, for the love of jaysis put the a into Jmes!

:D It antagonised me too til I realised I had "the power" .. fixed

Guys there's been a big shift off topic in latter posts, rein it in. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

If the players feel that the manager is fighting their corner for them , they'll try even harder to repay that.

It's hardly rocket science

Also whatever about horan's reaction, it was bad form to go singling out individual players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I've no time for Mayo due to their falling dramatically to the ground to win a free routine but yet are well able to foul opponents up the field and then stop them taking a quick free.

Are you a dub :D ? Either way I agree with you. I was delighted to see Mayo beat the Dubs in 2012 but my God they were cynical! Glad Donegal stuffed them.

Having said that I'd still like to see them with it because their fans are decent like the rest of us and deserve it by now.

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Are you a dub :D ? Either way I agree with you. I was delighted to see Mayo beat the Dubs in 2012 but my God they were cynical! Glad Donegal stuffed them.

Having said that I'd still like to see them with it because their fans are decent like the rest of us and deserve it by now.

No team deserves anything. The best team will always win AI in a particular year. Mayo have never been good enough simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

No team deserves anything. The best team will always win AI in a particular year. Mayo have never been good enough simple as.

That is not true at all. The best team doesn't always win. If a referee disallowed a perfectly legitimate goal to win the AI how could you say the better team lost? In most cases you're right but certainly not all.

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    That is not true at all. The best team doesn't always win. If a referee disallowed a perfectly legitimate goal to win the AI how could you say the better team lost? In most cases you're right but certainly not all.

Mayo should have won AI in 1996 but every other time they simply weren't good enough.

They should not have won in 96, Meath were the better more composed team and deserved their victory. The AI Mayo really should have won was 97 against the same kerry team they had easily beaten in the semis the year before. Bad decisions on the line, a strange over confidence(something no Mayo team should suffer from) and a standout performance from Maurice Fitzgearld cost Mayo the AI and they were the best team in the country that year, but thats the way it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I don't see much wrong with what he said. If the cork management were picking out Mayo players before the game he has every right to have a pop back. Anyway rafa's rant as you call it was based in facts so I don't know if anyone is cracking up.