Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Illegal money lenders

• Registered Users Posts: 24,470 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

why would you have expected Sinn Fein to be able to do anything about it?

400% per quarter isn't too bad, it's no Wonga @5853% :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

OP, your naivety regarding Sinn Féin is adorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I though Sinn Fein could have sorted this evil out by now. What are they doing? They know the moneylenders. Are they demanding backhanders to keep these ponces in business among the most deprived? If not, they should stop the rackets, release a statement of intent and educate the victims.

http://www.herald.ie/news/debt-warning-as-moneylenders-target-families-30482530.html

SF are not in Government, what exactly is it you think they can do?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭martinedwards

SF are not in Government, what exactly is it you think they can do?:confused:
    they could do their knees.

they're good at that........

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

Sure what use is illegal money anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

"The goldsmiths also discovered that their control of this fraudulent money supply gave them control over the economy and the assets of the people. They exacted their control by rowing the economy between easy money and tight money.

The way they did this was to make money easy to borrow and therefore increase the amount of money in circulation, then suddenly tighten the money supply, taking it out of circulation by making loans more difficult to get or stopping offering them altogether.

Why did they do this? Simple, because the result would be a certain percentage of the people being unable to repay their previous loans, and not having the facility to take out new ones, so they would go bankrupt and be forced to sell their assets to the goldsmiths for literally pennies on the dollar.

This is exactly what happens in the world economy of today, but is referred to with words like, "the business cycle," "boom and bust," "recession," and "depression," in order to confuse the population of the money changers scam."

That's the situation from a long, long time ago. Still holds true today, so basically, the illegal lads are just like the legal lads, just not as good at it, not as powerful and not cheered on by the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Is it really a problem? If you are able to get a loan you should be able to tell the interest is high.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Never mind the illegal ones, the legal ones are extortionate. I heard a relative say "its only 15 a week" but was shocked when the 200 euro phone actually cost 400. "but i only borrowed 200" was the reply. Priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I though Sinn Fein could have sorted this evil out by now. What are they doing? They know the moneylenders. Are they demanding backhanders to keep these ponces in business among the most deprived? If not, they should stop the rackets, release a statement of intent and educate the victims.

http://www.herald.ie/news/debt-warning-as-moneylenders-target-families-30482530.html

Sinn Fein ? I thought when it comes to money matters it be more of a FF item :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I though Sinn Fein could have sorted this evil out by now.

Illegal activities should be dealt with by the Guards or other relevant state authorities.

Not by some quasi-vigilante bunch of scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

SF more into illegal moneyborrowing. Not sure they plan to repay the millions they robbed, sorry I mean borrowed though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

I would advise anyone thats in a desperate situation NOT to take out a loan with an illegal money lender.

There are other ways of getting credit such as credit unions.

Im especially happy that Payday Loan Companies cant operate in this country due to the interest rates. The likes of Wonga are making millions out of low earning borrowers and if your late with the repayments your hammered with interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Illegal activities should be dealt with by the Guards or other relevant state authorities.

Not by some quasi-vigilante bunch of scumbags.

And that's why the crime figures are plummeting?

Driving fines and driving in the bus lanes seems to be their forte.

Over the past few years I think (per capita) you'll get more gardai before the courts than elected SF politicians.

mikeym wrote: »
    I would advise anyone thats in a desperate situation NOT to take out a loan with an illegal money lender.

There are other ways of getting credit such as credit unions.

Im especially happy that Payday Loan Companies cant operate in this country due to the interest rates. The likes of Wonga are making millions out of low earning borrowers and if your late with the repayments your hammered with interest.

And any football team associated with these pariahs should be treated with caution. Shame on the FA.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

a link to a tabloid? no point in even debating this when the article at hand is a pile of SIHTE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Could this be a politically motivated poo slinging thread ??

Is someone using multiple accounts to answer themselves in a bid to say boooo sinn fein ??

Could this be seen as a form of manipulation ??

In a similar manner to some kind of deviant sexual hypnosis ??

Find out next week on after hours.

sinn fein money lenders skangers sinn fein money lenders skangers

Over the past few years I think (per capita) you'll get more gardai before the courts than elected SF politicians.
    I'm not worried about the average SF politician. Beyond their populist posturing, they're mostly harmless. Those who did have hobbies of concern seem to have given them up. It's their active, armed wing that causes problems.

The Armed Wing of Sinn Fein? Hmmmm. Are you a FG, FF or Labout politician? If so, declare your interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

why would you have expected Sinn Fein to be able to do anything about it?

400% per quarter isn't too bad, it's no Wonga @5853% :pac:
    400% compound interest per quarter is 62,500% APR ;)

Are you a FG, FF or Labout politician? If so, declare your interest.
    I confirm that I am not a politician. I also confirm that I have zero loyalty to any particular political party.
    The Armed Wing of Sinn Fein? Hmmmm.
    Don't play coy now. You know exactly what I'm referring to. :rolleyes:

No Pants wrote: »
    I confirm that I am not a politician. I also confirm that I have zero loyalty to any particular political party.

Don't play coy now. You know exactly what I'm referring to. :rolleyes:

You're a psychic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Im going ringing Joe in the morning, was going to ring Ray but am he might not take me er am serious.

Are you sure you'll be coherent? Not many hours to go, Sir Arfur?
    Incidentally, I used to take a few many tinctures in The Prince Arthur (Caledonian Rd) in the early 70s .......... any relation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Are you sure you'll be coherent? Not many hours to go, Sir Arfur?
    Incidentally, I used to take a few many tinctures in The Prince Arthur (Caledonian Rd) in the early 70s .......... any relation?

Ffs wily cut out the big fancy words aint no body got time for that.

No Pants wrote: »
    OP, your naivety regarding Sinn Féin is adorable.

And your naivety re our boys in blue so evenly balanced?

Five minutes reading this link may help to concentrate your mind ........ providing that your's isn't of fruit fly brevity:

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/07/08/are-you-a-journalist/#more-343294

And your naivety re our boys in blue so evenly balanced?
    Who mentioned them? I don't think it was me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Ah sure lookit Willie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

they could do their knees.

they're good at that........

I assumed that's what the OP meant.