Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies Hybrid Bike Recommendation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭bobobear

Anyone - please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

bobobear wrote: »
    Anyone - please?

You'd be right about Halfords pricing.

Be very wary of sub €300 bikes. Also do you really need a women's specific bike. The thing of the angled top tube is only going to benefit you if you wear skirts while cycling.

Have a look at some of the branded Hybrids like the Giant Escape and Trek 7.2 to see how much better they feel than the Halfords bottom scrapers (the subway has a reputation for being decent but heavy) any of which should take a child seat.

Also if you'll be visiting the UK/Belfast/anywhere in Europe there's an alternative budget range in Decathlon (the IKEA of sports) and don't rule out second hand since hybrids are robust by their nature and a lot of people are selling lightly used examples due to cycling not taking off or cycling really taking off and them upgrading to a road bike.

The important thing is to get a bike tha you love getting out on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

Also do you really need a women's specific bike. The thing of the angled top tube is only going to benefit you if you wear skirts while cycling.
    In general I'm all in favour of ordinary diamond frame bikes and not woman-specific models. Long skirts can be a problem on any bike (you have to make sure to keep them out of the back wheel) and short skirts are fine on any bike (just wear something that isn't completely transparent underneath).

BUT the OP did mention a child seat (all the more reason to get a nice bike with good brakes that can handle the extra weight of a child and a family's shopping.) I cycle my sister's bike with a child seat on the back every now and again, and it isn't woman-specific. There is a knack to getting one's leg over the crossbar without kicking the child in the teeth or dropping the bike or the shopping (and, if you've gone down that road, your helmet and/or the child's helmet - I have to remove my niece's helmet to get the harness for strapping her into the child seat over her head (unless I fiddle around with the harness straps instead, which is no less fiddly).

All this is very doable. But it would be easier to get the child on board and move off from a standing start on a woman-specific bike. I don't like them much otherwise, but that is one thing they have going for them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

women's hybrids don't necessarily have the dropped top tube; they're designed to be shorter (as in distance from handlebar to seat) than men's geometry frames as (i believe) women have shorter arms than men, for people of a similar height.
    best bet is to get on one and find one you're comfortable on.

I think I'll go out and have a look at a Trek or a Giant tomorrow (hopefully the shop will be open!) or during the week.

I guess I was just a bit worried about "wasting" the bike to work scheme. I'm an over-researcher by nature (you should have seen the amount of time I spent choosing a running buggy) and don't want to regret my purchase. I'm willing to spend a bit more to get a decent bike I'll be happy with for a few years.

As for the short arms - I can testify that I have freakishly short arms. Like a T-Rex.
    And I definitely think I need a women's bike with a slightly dropped top tube. I also have short legs.

I'm painting a really attractive picture of myself aren't I.

So I rang my local bike shop to see if they had a Trek 7.2 WSD in stock for me to come and see/try.

I was told to come to the shop, get fitted, get an invoice, then when I had my cycle to work voucher they would order the bike.

I asked what would happen if the bike came and it wasn't right.
    The guy laughed sarcastically and said "What, if it's not to your liking?"
    I said, "Well, no, if the fit isn't right or whatever".

He said that it would fit. That that's part of the service.

Is this really the case? I have to purchase a bike sight unseen?

Felt a bit stupid after the conversation, like I was some kind of cycling imposter because I wasn't buying a 2k racing bike.

Any advice?
    Or if anyone wants to pimp their local bike shop in the South Dublin area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

Vote with your feet.
    There are plenty of shops in South Dublin to get a bike from.
    It is tricky for a shop to get a model of a bike in specially but at the same time there are perhaps better ways to tell you this / work around it without making you feel belittled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Any advice?

Unfortunately there's a lot of know it all/ sarcastic guys working in bike shops. I've had my fair share of feeling belittled by them, when there was simply no need.
    If they're patronising call them on it, or don't buy from them if it's convenient for you to shop elsewhere.
    Joe dalys in dundrum are very helpful, as are fitzcycles in stillorgan - maybe pay them a visit.
    You will notice a big difference between trek/ giant and the bikes you initially mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

In general I'm all in favour of ordinary diamond frame bikes and not woman-specific models. Long skirts can be a problem on any bike (you have to make sure to keep them out of the back wheel) and short skirts are fine on any bike (just wear something that isn't completely transparent underneath).

I'm posting on a phone so can't embed this simple idea which solves all cycling in a skirt related problems, here's the link

http://youtu.be/S8rmW-TXmg0

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I'm posting on a phone so can't embed this simple idea which solves all cycling in a skirt related problems, here's the link

http://youtu.be/S8rmW-TXmg0

I do this regularly and it's brilliant! Skirts can be like wind anchors without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Vote with your feet.
    There are plenty of shops in South Dublin to get a bike from.
    It is tricky for a shop to get a model of a bike in specially but at the same time there are perhaps better ways to tell you this / work around it without making you feel belittled.

The shop will have to buy the bike first, so if it doesn't fit they have to absorb the cost. If they're rude to you, pull them up on it or go elsewhere.

If the frame is the right size, a decent shop should fit you on it and swap out stem, bars etc that don't suit. I bought a complete bike from a shop for the first time this year on spec and was fitted on a turbo trainer, changed out tyres, saddle, bars and bar tape and paid the difference as some stuff was more expensive than stock parts.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Any advice?

Try a couple of different shops, some are bound to have your size in stock. My wife is barely five feet tall and bought her Giant Escape on her first visit to Cycle super store. Ring around the shops in range, ask them what they've got in stock, and visit those that have anything suitable.

FWIW, the Giant Escape was ~€350 at the time, is light, and has proved robust over the last five years of moderate use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭fits

Go to a different shop where they treat you properly. Bikes are flying out of the shops these days and I wonder if some owners are forgetting about customer service...

A lot of shops should have a 7.2 to try even if its not the right size or model. I have the stagger wsd. I probably should have bought the regular crossbar but its definitely useful when you have a load on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

There are a range of great shops in around Dublin, some just aren't worth the business. Just a few years ago I was in the market for 2 bikes and went into a well known store - staff were too busy having a laugh and some craic while my OH and I circled the store trying to get their attention. In the end we went to another well known store that offers free services for all bikes they sell.

Don't rush into it, find one that suits you - even if it's last years model. In our case we tried one from the previous year as the changes year on year are minimal so if last years suits you then this years should be just as good. Just remember to check for specs on some of the components, sometimes you are better off getting the older model.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just to be absolutely clear here - it is illegal to use someone else's BTW entitlement. There is to be no more discussion of that point

Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭wench

ThinkBike in Rathmines are good.
    They'll let you take a demo bike for a couple of days to be sure its suitable before you buy.

http://www.thinkbike.ie/demos.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭codrulz

+1 for joe dalys in dundrum, very nice store with help and nice staff.
    Its not my local lbs but am in Dundrum weekly so always pop in!

Was staring to feel like a bit of an imposter for even trying to start cycling!

Going to head out today to try out a few bikes.
    Spend the weekend doing stupid "clown car" trips and feeling annoyed I don't have a bike already!

Just an update - I got my bike!

Went to Joe Daly, got a Trek 7.2 WSD, very happy with it.

I tried out the Sandyford-UCD commute last week, and it was surprisingly grand. On the way back it was P1SSING rain, wind whipping, water in eyes kind of weather, and I arrived with the biggest smile on my face.

Then today I tried out going up a massive hill near my house. Got 2/3 of the way up, really thought I'd have to get off and (shamefully) walk it, when this lad on a road bike, head to toe in lycra, came up behind me. Thought he would be all smug laughing at me, dying, with my big red face, but he was really sound, cycled along beside me encouraging me til we got to the top of the hill where we went our separate ways.

I'm converted!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Just an update - I got my bike!

Went to Joe Daly, got a Trek 7.2 WSD, very happy with it.

I tried out the Sandyford-UCD commute last week, and it was surprisingly grand. On the way back it was P1SSING rain, wind whipping, water in eyes kind of weather, and I arrived with the biggest smile on my face.

Then today I tried out going up a massive hill near my house. Got 2/3 of the way up, really thought I'd have to get off and (shamefully) walk it, when this lad on a road bike, head to toe in lycra, came up behind me. Thought he would be all smug laughing at me, dying, with my big red face, but he was really sound, cycled along beside me encouraging me til we got to the top of the hill where we went our separate ways.

I'm converted!

Fair play to you! It was mad windy out there this evening too, extra kudos!