Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunatics, lunatics, everywhere

• 01-08-2014 12:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭

I've been driving for about 2 months now on my learner permit, and I'm convinced I'm going to be dead before I even get a chance to take the feckin' test.

1. I don't know if anyone knows Newbridge, I was driving towards Dunnes, had Tesco on my right and McDonalds on left, lights were green for straight through, and there was a truck in the right hand lane waiting to turn into Woodies. When I was about 5m away, a car coming the other way veers into McDonalds. The guy in the passenger seat was grinning like "aren't we so bold running a red light".

2. As I was at the Bank of Ireland, a Dublin Coach started pulling out while I was halfway along its side. I had to swerve to avoid.

3. There are two roundabouts at the Curragh end of the town. They are separated by a bridge over the motorway. While I was on the bridge between the two, and travelling at appropriate speed (3rd gear), I saw in my rear view mirror a motorbiker in full racing gear swerve into the gap between me and the preceding car, then swerve out of view to the right of my car. I realised he was going to crash into the oncoming car and jerked the car left. I was in so much shock I nearly sailed straight onto the roundabout . Then as I was slowing I heard another roar and a similarly dressed biker overtook me on the left and joined the roundabout without looking. It seemed they were in a race with each other.

It's like I'm a magnet for these lunatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

Yes there are lots of drivers with questionable ability out there but part of the learning process is to try and anticpate(if possible) what these people will do and most importantly of all react calmly.

What did your accompanying driver say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

Which is why learning to drive is important and things like stop distances, leaving gaps and so on are emphasised. You never know what other people are going to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭dalta5billion

Moomat wrote: »
    What did your accompanying driver say?

It was my Dad, who told me I should have let the first motorbiker crash, as I could have hit someone on my left side by swerving (possibly the other biker). I go for runs on the Curragh, and on a separate occasion I saw two racing motorbikes line up on the road from the Camp and race each other up to the roundabout (presumably the same pair). If I see them again I'm calling the guards on them.

With regards to the idiots at McDonalds, luckily I had slowed down because the truck was blocking my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This is all part of driving unfortunately. Being able to react to these situations is ultimately a skill that needs to be learned. Of course the other road users were wrong to do what you describe, but you still have a responsibility to react in the safest manner possible.

I don't see that much madness on the roads, or maybe I just choose to ignore it at this stage, but it gets better, and it gets easier as a driver to react and foresee these kinds of events. Keep on learning, and get plenty of lessons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

I've been acting as sponsor for a few learners and I've noticed that non L plated drivers behave in a way around learners that is probably completely different then how they would drive normally.
    Treat it as baptism of fire, you have the right attitude by assuming there are lunatics everywhere, anticipation is one of the most important skills so this will keep you on your toes.

Your dad was spot on, it's very easy to have a knee jerk reaction and the biker will ride off into the sunset leaving you to mop up the mess. That is why you must always remain cool and think about the consequences, even if you only have a split second to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Your dad deserves a proverbial thump in the bake for advising against avoiding an otherwise certain collision by taking a less dangerous evasive manoeuvre.

Thanks everyone for the advice.
    Moomat wrote: »
    Your dad was spot on, it's very easy to have a knee jerk reaction and the biker will ride off into the sunset leaving you to mop up the mess. That is why you must always remain cool and think about the consequences, even if you only have a split second to do so.
    Your dad deserves a proverbial thump in the bake for advising against avoiding an otherwise certain collision by taking a less dangerous evasive manoeuvre.

Both are valid points I think: you don't want to react disproportionately, but at the same time evasive action in this case had inherent risk attached. Thankfully no one got hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Isn’t it strange that only really good drivers post on forums such as this? Full of comments about what “ other lunatics “ do on the roads and how “ people “ need to learn the rules of the road.
    Come to think of it after forty years of driving I have never had a conversation with a bad driver. My friends, work colleagues, family regularly complain about the “other “drivers doing dangerous and stupid things but they themselves have never made a mistake.
    Leads me to wonder who the heck all the bad drivers out there are. Maybe I am just lucky that ALL my acquaintances are really good drivers. :rolleyes::confused:

Isn’t it strange that only really good drivers post on forums such as this? Full of comments about what “ other lunatics “ do on the roads and how “ people “ need to learn the rules of the road.

Well pardon-me for posting my experience.

I'm not suggesting I'm god's gift to driving, this is the "Learning to Drive" forum after all. But there's a huge difference between stalling in traffic and intentionally dangering other people's lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

Im driving unaccompanied for last two years, motorways etc.

Took down the L platees, put them back up, took them down again. People act completly different with the L plates up and are lunatics towards me, especially in the morning going to work. I have full test booked this week but WILL NOT be putting up N plates. Its safer that way. Especially on motorway. I do 900km a week, ive seen every fecker of a driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The most intelligent advert I have seen regarding the RSA is this...

Expect The Unexpected. At all times. Once I get into the car and the engine is turned, I focus on every thing possible at all times.

7 years driving and no problems so far using this method. Have eye's like a hawk out there folks.

2.5 years on provisional and never had a tip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Dowl88 wrote: »
    2.5 years on provisional and never had a tip

Never be cocky though, it doesn't matter how good you think you are as a driver, because some other bad/drunk/medicated driver can make a mistake close to you and you have to be ready to take action immediately, and the right action in controlling the vehicle while protecting yourself and others on the road.

Im a safe driver, shud have doing the test earlier though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭galson

Well, people seem not to know what indicators are for or that parking lights are not to be used when driving but for actual parking (duh!) or that fog lights are to be used in fog/snow/dense rain only. Just drives me nuts.

I sh"t ye not, today in Newbridge I saw a blue Passat have to swerve out of the way of yet another Dublin Coach Driver not checking his mirrors. Must be a new guy or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Eh... Time to contact the Dublin Coach company? Give times and locations, they'll know which driver it is. Then tell them the next time you see it you'll be bringing your dash-cam footage to the Gardai. They may fob you off but they'll probably then go chew the head off whatever employee it was. I've reported poor driving to companies before (e.g. articulated truck swerving across 2 lanes at a motorway exit). They've been fairly glad to have it reported, probably because every time someone sees their driver with their company name all over the vehicle behave badly and/or dangerously it damages their reputation. Like, here we all are talking about how Dublin Coach have dangerous drivers who behave like a-holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I agree with reporting the driver of the coach. A few weeks ago, I reported a company van that was speeding and swerving in and out of lanes on the M1. It nearly caused two accidents in the 10 minutes or so we were on the motorway together. The woman I spoke to on the phone acted like she couldn't care less, but the owner of the company rang me back about later and asked me for a lot more detail. I'd imagine that the driver got an almighty bollicking later on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Expect them all to be complete idiots, because many of them are. Never rely on indicators for information. Until you see those wheels turn, they are heading for you.