Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bmw x5 commercial insurance (21) ye

• 31-07-2014 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hey guys. I recently purchased a 2002 commercial bmw x5. Has anybody an idea where would I be able to insure it and how to go about it as I don't have a registered company. Thanks for your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭vandriver

You didn't check before buying??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 eiretylergill

vandriver wrote: »
    You didn't check before buying??

No I didn't cause I got it for very little and if I can't insure it ill just sell it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Somewhere between 1000 and 5000 based on the driving experience and insurance history you provided in your opening post.

Ah not bad but how should I go about it ? Don't you have to have a company registered to insure a van ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

You can just insure it privately can you not?

djimi wrote: »
    You can just insure it privately can you not?

But does that mean that the tax is gonna be as it is for a passenger bmw x5? The only reason why I want to insure it is to pay cheap tax

I would assume so, yes. Youre not a commercial customer, youre not entitled to commercial tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

But does that mean that the tax is gonna be as it is for a passenger bmw x5? The only reason why I want to insure it is to pay cheap tax

Ha, if it was that easy.

Forget about the tax.

Are you 21 years old btw? If you are then the insurance won't be easy to get at all.

You don't need commercial insurance to get commercial tax, they are separate.

Insuring a car taxed as commercial privately may open another can of worms. Most - if not all - private policies exclude commercial use. Very shady area if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Hey guys. I recently purchased a 2002 commercial bmw x5. Has anybody an idea where would I be able to insure it and how to go about it as ****I don't have a registered company.**** Thanks for your time.

Sorry mate, you may sell it on. They closed that loophole years ago. If you cannot provide a company vat number and prove its yours, you cannot tax a commercial vehicle.

I know plenty of people using commercial vehicles, taxed commercially for semi or total private use (commuting etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

I know plenty of people using commercial vehicles, taxed commercially for semi or total private use (commuting etc).

Using a commercially taxed vehicle for anything other than for commercial purposes is against the law.

Now obviously boards.ie isn't going to allow people to talk about how to break the law.

Using a commercially taxed vehicle for anything other than for commercial purposes is against the law.

Now obviously boards.ie isn't going to allow people to talk about how to break the law.

Are you a moderator? Or a verified representative of Boards.ie?

No, but you pretend to.

Nowhere in these thread we suggested anything like this, an opposite actually. If you find it i will go to Garda station meself and ask them to lock me up for being an accessory to the crime. Why to bring this up?

wonski wrote: »
    Are you a moderator? Or a verified representative of Boards.ie?

No, but you pretend to.

Did the name give it away :D:D

Nowhere in these thread we suggested anything like this, an opposite actually. If you find it i will go to Garda station meself and ask them to lock me up for being an accessory to the crime. Why to bring this up?

I do understand that that most of the people on the thread are saying that it shouldn't be done. However someone made a reference to knowing plenty of people who do use a commercially taxed vehicle for private use, so I thought I would just point that there is no grey area when it comes to it - it is against the law.

I know plenty of people who dont pay motor tax also. And I know plenty of learners who behave like they are licensed drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭pcardin

You won't get any reasonable insurance (if any at all) I'm affraid so put back for sale. I'm looking for commercial X5 so when u put for sale let me know and send a link. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Last time I got a reasonable quote on a van I was 18. €600 for the year with a TD100 (and I stupidly didn't take it!). Things changed shortly after that

That was 6 years ago OP, since then I've found it impossible to get quoted on a van for that price. Mind you, the car insurance has come down to near that level, so meh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

You don't need a company VAT number but you do need to be registered either as self employed or as a company to avail of commercial tax.
    You also cannot tax it commercially and insure it privately, the insurance companies know what tax band it is on when you ring up.

Try insuremyvan.ie, they do both commercial and private insurance, I got a great quote off them just this morning.

Did the name give it away :D:D

I do understand that that most of the people on the thread are saying that it shouldn't be done. However someone made a reference to knowing plenty of people who do use a commercially taxed vehicle for private use, so I thought I would just point that there is no grey area when it comes to it - it is against the law.

There is plenty of grey areas, it's next to impossible to use a vehicle for only commercial use. Every farmer in the country for instance has no problem taxing their commercial 4x4's, crew cabs etc and also using then as their family car or as one of their family cars etc. I wouldnt pay private tax on something that can be taxed commercially under any circumstances.

There is plenty of grey areas, it's next to impossible to use a vehicle for only commercial use. Every farmer in the country for instance has no problem taxing their commercial 4x4's, crew cabs etc and also using then as their family car or as one of their family cars etc.

Goods only declaration:
    http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/MotorTax/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,23874,en.pdf

In the eyes of the law, there are no grey areas on this. In order to avail of much cheaper tax, you agree to only use that vehicle as a goods vehicle. Ideally you would be allowed use it for small trips etc. but it would be too hard to police. I know of people who have been done by the gardai because they were using commercially taxed vehicles for private use.
    I wouldnt pay private tax on something that can be taxed commercially under any circumstances.
    That's understandable if your primary reason for is for business. I might do the same myself. But if someone was to tax a vehicle as commercial even though it is never/very rarely used for business then that's just taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

that's not quite right. You can make a declaration that you won't be using it for any non-commercial use. Amounts to the same thing...you can't legally tax a Commercial as a commercial and use it privately...that "loads of people" do it is beside the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

You don't need a company VAT number but you do need to be registered either as self employed or as a company to avail of commercial tax.
    You also cannot tax it commercially and insure it privately, the insurance companies know what tax band it is on when you ring up.

Try insuremyvan.ie, they do both commercial and private insurance, I got a great quote off them just this morning.
    Really?
    A lot of people I know that have american pickup trucks and vans have them insured privately but taxed commercially (and only use them privately to go to shows etc).

Dangerous word that, in the wrong hands. "Cannot"
    Please don't say things that blatantly aren't true.

There is plenty of grey areas, it's next to impossible to use a vehicle for only commercial use. Every farmer in the country for instance has no problem taxing their commercial 4x4's, crew cabs etc and also using then as their family car or as one of their family cars etc. I wouldnt pay private tax on something that can be taxed commercially under any circumstances.
    Sure the guys down at the DOE center would be laughin' at you for being such a mug!

corktina wrote: »
    that's not quite right. You can make a declaration that you won't be using it for any non-commercial use. Amounts to the same thing...you can't legally tax a Commercial as a commercial and use it privately...that "loads of people" do it is beside the point.

Fair enough but there's guards going around schools to catch people in commercial vehicles just picking up their kids so tbh its safest to follow the law to the letter on this one.

Sure the guys down at the DOE center would be laughin' at you for being such a mug!

I would. Id happily get a Navara for private use :o

wonski wrote: »
    Ha, if it was that easy.

Forget about the tax.

Are you 21 years old btw? If you are then the insurance won't be easy to get at all.

Yea I am 21. My father has a company so I asked in my insurance company if they could do something for the both of us but unfortunately they can't insure us both for some reason.

I would. Id happily get a Navara for private use :o

Are you saying you'd laugh too or you'd tax it privately?
    If you'd pay 1500 odd p/a when you could also pay 333, you are quite the renegade!

Are you saying you'd laugh too or you'd tax it privately?
    If you'd pay 1500 odd p/a when you could also pay 333, you are quite the renegade!

Id be the one being laughing at.. Id pay the tax (2.5 dCi... €1,050?) for the freedom to do whatever with it without some red faced garda trying to take it off me :D

I borrowed one such veeehicle and went through a checkpoint, not so much as a question asked.

pcardin wrote: »
    You won't get any reasonable insurance (if any at all) I'm affraid so put back for sale. I'm looking for commercial X5 so when u put for sale let me know and send a link. ;)

Ok cool well I'm gonna keep trying and if I don't succeed ill contact you..

I'd be interested as well if you're selling
    Seeing as I could get it taxed commercially and insured privately :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Yea I am 21. My father has a company so I asked in my insurance company if they could do something for the both of us but unfortunately they can't insure us both for some reason.

Your father has his own company? Put the x5 in the COMPANY'S name, add it too the company policy and bobs your uncle. Just don't take no for an answer, no insurance crowd is gonna jump at the chance to cover you but be persistent and you'll get it.

I borrowed one such veeehicle and went through a checkpoint, not so much as a question asked.

My luck with the law has been.... "poor"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

Really?
    A lot of people I know that have american pickup trucks and vans have them insured privately but taxed commercially (and only use them privately to go to shows etc).

Dangerous word that, in the wrong hands. "Cannot"
    Please don't say things that blatantly aren't true.

Using a privately insured vehicle for commercial reasons would make the insurance void
    Which raises a lot of questions about your claims about your friends, bring their American pick-up trucks to shows requires more than private insurance, maybe you should get them to check their policies;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Quinn Direct quoted me €650 last month for a commercial X5 3.0d and the same for the 4.8is V8. The commercial policies are based on loading capacities, so the engine CC makes no difference.

Told them I have no business, would be commuting to work, but carried my site gear in the back for site inspections.

I taxed my dads Transit the other day, no vat number required.

Using a privately insured vehicle for commercial reasons would make the insurance void
    Which raises a lot of questions about your claims about your friends, bring their American pick-up trucks to shows requires more than private insurance, maybe you should get them to check their policies;)

But it isn't being used for commercial use.
    It is being used for vintage/display and use at shows which is explicitly prescribed as covered in the insurance cert.
    They are covered by their insurance, the only question is taxation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭pudzey101

haha i remember when i had a van when i was 18 :) just had to give them me social welfare number and say i was a sole trader and i got commercial tax insurance the lot !! :) cant work through that loophole anymore tho !! :) sell it on imo to a person that actually NEEDS an X5 for commercial use..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Or, if you're a farmer, a herd number will suffice. Something I never knew until the father in law told me recently after he bought a commercial Grand Vitara (he is actually a farmer, before the high horse brigade decide to light on me)

For those happy to make false goods only declarations (in counties where such a declaration is required) using any ole VAT number isn't a problem to them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭PeteK*

Wow, I never knew you had to have a VAT Number to use a commercial vehicle!
    I often considered getting a commercial jeep for handiness with having a dog.
    Only to be used privately and not for work or anything like it!

So I guess it'll never happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

no problem, just tax and insure it privately

PeteK* wrote: »
    Wow, I never knew you had to have a VAT Number to use a commercial vehicle!
    I often considered getting a commercial jeep for handiness with having a dog.
    Only to be used privately and not for work or anything like it!

So I guess it'll never happen!

I would have 4 dogs if this would allow me to pay a commercial tax on the car:D And I would put most of the saving towards the cost of the dog food, grooming and anything really.

You don't need a commercial to drive your dogs, do you? And even if you do, you have to tax it privately, unless your business is dogs related;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Theanswers

Business Ins usually includes social,domestic and pleasure. So you have no problem using the car/ van for running to the shops.

Guards have better things to be at.

Don't sell the jeep, you will get insured/ taxed.

Theanswers wrote: »
    Business Ins usually includes social,domestic and pleasure. So you have no problem using the car/ van for running to the shops.

But he wants to insure it privately, and tax as a commercial.

Most private policies do not allow commercial use - some do add Class 2 if commuting ( NoNonsense).

This will be very hard to explain why you declared it as a commercial for tax purposes, and then insured it for Social, Domestic and Peasure, won't it?

This tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭PeteK*

corktina wrote: »
    no problem, just tax and insure it privately

But I would have hoped to benefit from the cheaper tax. :pac:

What if there was an accident, would they still cover him?

PeteK* wrote: »
    But I would have hoped to benefit from the cheaper tax. :pac:

What if there was an accident, would they still cover him?

If he has a private policy that makes no reference to taxation class then yes
    If the policy states the car must be taxed privately then no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Theanswers

Tax it as a commercial.
    Insure it whilst also including social demestic and pleasure as most commercial insurance policies do.

It can and is done, everyone in the country is at it. I can't blame people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

kceire wrote: »
    Quinn Direct quoted me €650 last month for a commercial X5 3.0d and the same for the 4.8is V8. The commercial policies are based on loading capacities, so the engine CC makes no difference.

Told them I have no business, would be commuting to work, but carried my site gear in the back for site inspections.

I taxed my dads Transit the other day, no vat number required.

Eh?:confused: