Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heading to a music festival solo?

• 31-07-2014 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭

I won tickets to a music festival this weekend but none of my mates are free or the ones who are just aren't interested in going to it...

So I'm thinking of heading solo and just giving away the spare ticket.

Good Idea/Bad Idea... After hours give me your advice! Anyone here go to any festivals on their own before? What was the experience?

Pros: Some genuinely decent bands I want to see.

Cons: It looks like rain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Go ahead by yourself and use the second ticket as a hat if it rains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Can't be much of a festival if you're the only person going to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Sell second ticket, buy wellies, sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Set up a competition here on boards to give away the spare ticket.

Bring your new boards.ie friend with you camping at the festival.

Have a laugh.

Only one of you comes back from the estival alive.

Opens thread on boards.ie explaining all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Get on tinder and find yourself a ride date for the weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

OP BRING ME!

>Soldier, (pro)
    >all round lad, (pro)
    >I turn into an autistic arsehole when drunk (con?)
    >I'll probably be less good looking than you therefore great wingman... (procon)
    >love rocking out
    >I own a sleeping bag

Get on tinder and find yourself a ride date for the weekend!

Haha much better idea, OP do this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Thread title would make a decent, if obscure, **** metaphor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

discus wrote: »
    OP BRING ME!

>Soldier, (pro)
    >all round lad, (pro)
    >I'll probably be less good looking than you therefore great wingman... (procon)
    >love rocking out
    >I own a sleeping bag

I bet you're the kind of guy that would fk a person in the @ss and not even have the goddamn common courtesy to give him a reach-around. I'll be watching you.

Full metal jacket

I bet you're the kind of guy that would fk a person in the @ss and not even have the goddamn common courtesy to give him a reach-around. I'll be watching you.

Full metal jacketThis upcoming weekend

FYP

And you should know reach around comes as standard with every festival ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Definitely go! I've gone to a good few festivals alone (because everybody hates me) and I always enjoy myself. You'll always get to talk to people, without even having to try. A bit of rain isn't reason enough for not going. Even if you sell the ticket for half price, it'd pay for some of your expenses.

Which festival is it? Castlepalooza? The only downside of going to that is that you'll be in Offaly! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Depends on the festival and yourself really. I only went to ones with friends but had a tendency to storm off in a huge huff when everyone wanted to see someone different to what I wanted to see wander off by myself. Would wind up hanging out with strangers for big chunks and had a great time.

I'd say the fact you're entertaining going by yourself is probably enough evidence that you wouldn't mind it too much, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Everyone will think you're a weirdo for going on your own, and they will treat you with suspicion because of it. People are judgemental fcuks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I won tickets to a music festival this weekend but none of my mates are free or the ones who are just aren't interested in going to it...

Good Idea/Bad Idea... After hours give me your advice! Anyone here go to any festivals on their own before? What was the experience?

Pros: Some genuinely decent bands I want to see.

Cons: It looks like rain...

Indiependence?

C'mon away! Nobody is going to bat an eyelid at somebody being by themselves, and you'll fall in with people easy enough. There's a thread for it and all, here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Definitely go! I've gone to a good few festivals alone (because everybody hates me) and I always enjoy myself. You'll always get to talk to people, without even having to try. A bit of rain isn't reason enough for not going. Even if you sell the ticket for half price, it'd pay for some of your expenses.

Which festival is it? Castlepalooza? The only downside of going to that is that you'll be in Offaly! ;)

I'm actually from Offaly... but yes you are right its fairly awful which is why I don't live there any more :P

Yep festival is Indiependence this weekend.

Go ahead by yourself and use the second ticket as a hat if it rains.

Best idea so far :)

Why yes... yes I did :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Knex. wrote: »
    Indiependence?

C'mon away! Nobody is going to bat an eyelid at somebody being by themselves, and you'll fall in with people easy enough. There's a thread for it and all, here.

Agreed. I made the mistake of trying to woodstockify a festival last year by forgoing clothes. At first being on my own didn't matter but the nakedness changed the vibe a bit. Day two was lonely...

OP BRING ME!

>Soldier, (pro)
    >all round lad, (pro)
    >love rocking out
    >I own a sleeping bag

genuinely if I don't have a person for the ticket by 5pm you can have it if you want. Or if you don't who ever else wants it can have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

genuinely if I don't have a person for the ticket by 5pm you can have it if you want. Or if you don't who ever else wants it can have it.

OP is a gent.

OP is a hero! In my excitement I forgot I have friends coming from London on saturday... I'm gutted, going to a festival with an absolute stranger would be a right laugh :( OP, we need to find someone to go with you!!

ha ha, I meant you could have the ticket and do your own thing! No worries someone already mailed me about the ticket so I'll give it to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I went to Electric Picnic on my own for one day. Nobody I knew wanted to see The Cure and I did and so went along and slept in car that night. Met a girl who was with friends and at no stage did I think of not telling the truth as I simply can't see what's odd about it. There are no shortage of odd fcuking things people do these days and going to a concert on your own sure ain't one of them.

People climb mountains on their own ffs. Who gives a shit if someone thinks it's odd anyway. Most likely, they're odd, so fcuk 'em.

Enjoy yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I'm studying this weekend, sorry babes. :(

You'll be grand, things are much more exciting when you do them alone. :D Go meet all of the peoples. Yay. \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Take huge amounts of acid and ketamine and spend the weekend involved in a very 'deep' conversation with Jesus and your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

im heading to independence this weekend. there is around 7 or 8 of us goin ,all lads. i often went out on my own to concerts and stuff when i lived abroad.
    id say alot of us will get absolutely **** faced don't no if yr into that sort of thing.we are all in our late twenties no knackers or fighters.1 guy is a bit crazy tho, there is always one i suppose.

Go for it. I've been to Electric Picnic by myself (I did meet other people I knew up there but was camping by myself). It's much better to go alone than to not go at all. Besides, even if you're part of a group people will tend to do their own thing anyway depending on what bands they wanna see. It's nice having people you know to camp with so you have someone to chat to in the mornings and have a few cans with at night, but for the most part you won't really need them around.

With all that said, I'm free this weekend if you want a stranger from the internet to accompany you! ;)

id say alot of us will get absolutely **** faced don't no if yr into that sort of thing.

Pretty much same plan but some particular bands I want to see as well!