Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Irish drunks

• 26-07-2014 7:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

A bar in the US has caused a row after it put up a sign saying "No Irish Drunks" on the pub's front window.

Alongside the ban on drunken Irish, the sign also says No to Yapping Mutts, Screaming Kids, Cells Phones, Strollers and Public Restrooms.

Pauline Turley, originally from Co Down, saw the sign at the The Dock Bar and Grill in Montauk.

The New York resident, vice chair of the board of Irish Arts Centre in New York, told Irishcentral.com that she was upset by it.

She said: “I was taken aback by the way that kind of stereotype was so blatantly displayed.

“’No Irish Drunks,’ that’s very pointed.”

But the bar's owner, George Watson, who is of Irish descent and describes himself "also a drunk at times" insists the sign is just a bit of fun.

"If you spoke about any other religion or race they would probably take offence to it, but the Irish have a sense of humour," he told Irish Central.

http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/new-york-bar-sign-no-irish-drunks

No Irish drunks ha ha ha can't see him getting much Irish drinking business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Sure they probably wouldn't even know you were Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

realies wrote: »
    told Irishcentral.com that she was upset by it.

And I am out.

That's the only site that manages to match thejournal.ie for sheer ineptitude and ability to be outraged at absolutely everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

There are a few pubs in Ireland that I wish had the same sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

El Weirdo wrote: »

Deadly ha ha

So with no drunken Irish and no loud Americans what be left ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

realies wrote: »

No Irish drunks ha ha ha can't see him getting much Irish drinking business.

Is he worried that when drunk the Irish might break into a song or two? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Plenty of Irish love to embrace the thick drunk paddy stereotype, we really shouldn't be surprised that the rest of the world see us that way. It was earned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Must type out witty response.

Later when I sober up a bit .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Plenty of Irish love to embrace the thick drunk paddy stereotype, we really shouldn't be surprised that the rest of the world see us that way. It was earned.
    That's for sure. In fact I think we Irish are getting worse in that regard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

We need to realise that some people don't appreciate "having the craic".

It's basically an excuse for us to act like complete dickheads when we get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

That bar is in Montauk, which is a holiday town basically run by Irish J1 students during the summer (especially where that bar is based)....they'll easily be talking about half their clientele :)

I'd safely say it's tongue in cheek :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

In both stories (in Montauk and Waterville), the 2 people who reported the signs were from Northern Ireland. What's the deal with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

She probably Googled "pasty faced bog hopper" (using quotes) to see what would come up, and took it from there.

(Edit: link removed - but you can try it yourself).

In both stories (in Montauk and Waterville), the 2 people who reported the signs were from Northern Ireland. What's the deal with that?

Just a haunch, but people from the north eastern part of the island occasionally leave it from time to time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Is he worried that when drunk the Irish might break into a song or two? :)

There's credence to this. We were only permitted into a bar in Clapham last year to watch a rugby match on the merit that we didn't sing. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

MugMugs wrote: »
    There's credence to this. We were only permitted into a bar in Clapham last year to watch a rugby match on the merit that we didn't sing. :(

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

I thnk your own post answers your question, they're from 'Northern Ireland', means they are Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

What if I walked in and have a big friendly " top o the morning to you all"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    That bar is in Montauk, which is a holiday town basically run by Irish J1 students during the summer (especially where that bar is based)....they'll easily be talking about half their clientele :)

I'd safely say it's tongue in cheek :D

I'm pretty sure too.

How can we get some publicity with these two magic markers and this piece of white card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Just a haunch, but people from the north eastern part of the island occasionally leave it from time to time too.

On quests to find discriminatory signs?

(How are your haunches?)

On quests to find discriminatory signs?

(How are your haunches?)

I doubt they departed on any 'quest' tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Jebus,Im rapidly running out of options at home and abroad,I get a bit loud when im drunk,woe is me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Meet me in Montauk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

...from Dublin, said: “I think it's dreadful and ever so racist.
    Sounds like Enid Blyton wrote that line.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

I am ashamed to say I am Irish when I travel anywhere outside the United Kingdom for several reasons. The fact we are considered the drunks of the world tops that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

billie1b wrote: »
    I thnk your own post answers your question, they're from 'Northern Ireland', means they are Irish

Ah yeah! but they tend to be very sensitive up there, get offended very easy.

Twas only a joke about a stereotype - what about Screaming Kids? - should they or their parents be marching with placards outside the bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

Míshásta wrote: »
    Ah yeah! but they tend to be very sensitive up there, get offended very easy.

Twas only a joke about a stereotype - what about Screaming Kids? - should they or their parents be marching with placards outside the bar?

When it suits them, they're Irish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

biko wrote: »
    Sounds like Enid Blyton wrote that line.
    Well, she'd know all about racism, anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I hope you started singing as soon as the game was over :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Proper order. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Wait a minute, all the americans claim to have some fraction or percentage of irish geneaology ... what does it mean for the people who are "half" irish? You can stand in the doorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Proper order. :)

The irony of all those crappy english rugby songs... "swing low sweet chariot" what does that even mean in practical terms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

The irony of all those crappy english rugby songs... "swing low sweet chariot" what does that even mean in practical terms?

Never mind that Shiite. Ireland's call is the worst of them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Is this some kinky nordie thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

The ecstasy of victory and the sense of fulfilment of goals accomplished likened to the prophetic vision...oh never mind. Even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I thought all Americans were Irish? I went to New York once, everyone was Irish.

One woman told me her aunty's cat's first cousins handbag was Irish, thus making her Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

I thought all Americans were Irish? I went to New York once, everyone was Irish.

Have there been any American presidents who weren't Irish?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Maphisto wrote: »
    Have there been any American presidents who weren't Irish?
    The sober ones;)