Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Montbeliarde Open Day

• 25-07-2014 8:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭

Went to this in Co Louth yesterday. very impressive. did any of ye go ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

zetorman wrote: »
    Went to this in Co Louth yesterday. very impressive. did any of ye go ?

Never heard or seem anything about it.
    Is there many pure bred herds in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

the open day farm is a few miles down the road from me, Good set up. There are a few pb mo herds around here, one guy died last year and he used to also make cheese from the milk. I saw the open day advertised on donedeal a few times this last while, do many people have mo cows now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Father had some years ago - very good as suckler Cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Farrell wrote: »
    Father had some years ago - very good as suckler Cows

Always thought the Normandy breed was better suited to ireland. Produce the same as British friesan but their bull calves are more valuable. Also they're temperament is excellent.

have 2 mox bull calves that santa brought last christmas, one of them point blank refused to drink, never saw anything like it. What where the production figure like yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Local lad went from Ho's to montbeliarde got out of milk after a few years as he couldn't get a decent yield out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

td5man wrote: »
    Local lad went from Ho's to montbeliarde got out of milk after a few years as he couldn't get a decent yield out of them.

bought AAX calves off a had who had MO x British FR

big hardy cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

td5man wrote: »

That seems to be the story with them. Fella beside me brought in two hundred of them. They looked lovely in the field but he set it all out for spuds soon after!!
    If they were good stock suited to here we'd all be using them. That's not happening so kinda speaks for itself imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

We used a few Monte's about 10 or 15 years ago and safe to say they were the greatest bas##d cows that ever came into the place.

Huge, stubborn f##kers that you couldn't handle, would only go and do what they wanted and were right f##kers in the parlour and at the feed barrier

Whats amazing is that it seems the Whitehead continues on - we have heifers now that would only have 1/8 or 1/16 monty in them and the heads are still pure White - still f##kers mind, even that far out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

They aren't really that efficient when you take in to consideration they could have a mature wight of up to 700kgs and only produce 4oo/450 milk solids. Jersey x and smaller Frisians could do there own weight in solids without going to made on the cake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Dawgsback

trixi2011 wrote: »
    They aren't really that efficient when you take in to consideration they could have a mature wight of up to 700kgs and only produce 4oo/450 milk solids. Jersey x and smaller Frisians could do there own weight in solids without going to made on the cake

Montys are useless shyte.( sorry for offending everyone).
    When it comes to brass tacks...... Nothing beats the HOL.... Give them the best of feed and they WILL produce.
    BTW I wouldn't love hols as they break my butt.
    All Montys can do well is kick.
    Bad feet, temperament .....etc.....shyte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭zetorman

Did not expect such negative replies. I would love to have some stock like those I saw in Louth. They seem to be easy managed, look well, milk well and the bull calves sold averaged €300 a head. The expansion of the breed seems to have stalled all right though.

zetorman wrote: »
    Did not expect such negative replies. I would love to have some stock like those I saw in Louth. They seem to be easy managed, look well, milk well and the bull calves sold averaged €300 a head. The expansion of the breed seems to have stalled all right though.

What sort if yeild or MS/ha was he sending out? That shows ye how good they are not how much the calf sells for

Wpnder has he much of a market for stockbulls. See him advertising on dd a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawgsback wrote: »
    When it comes to brass tacks...... Nothing beats the HOL.... Give them the best of feed and they WILL produce.

The correct cow is a cow that produces as close as possible to her weight in kgs milk solids with one calf per year. Regardless of breed breed

Farmer next to me sold a beautiful herd of well bred Hols and replaced them with Monty all Hols there again.

His words," Stubborn, nasty, hungry feckers with thick calves"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Louth is the only county in the midlands and north east I've seen them. If they are any good why is there so few of them about?

feck there doing 7500l not bad for a sucker cow. Theres a herd I pass regularly in Tyrone milking simintails or fleckvighs I think they call them. They look pretty milky to be fair and a lot finer boned than any Montys ive seen.

trixi2011 wrote: »
    feck there doing 7500l not bad for a sucker cow. Theres a herd I pass regularly in Tyrone milking simintails or fleckvighs I think they call them. They look pretty milky to be fair and a lot finer boned than any Montys ive seen.

There could be a dozen cows pulling that up. Mist could be at 5000l

The correct cow is a cow that produces as close as possible to her weight in kgs milk solids with one calf per year. Regardless of breed breed

With you except the one calf per year craic.
    Working on it though. Another cow with broken leg today.
    39 degrees just doesn't suit hols. Then again what breed does it suit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Agree on the Monty's ,u need some of our high ebi Holsteins dwag,can bang out milk ,high solids on grass based diet and really drive on on a Tmr diet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Agree on the Monty's ,u need some of our high ebi Holsteins dwag,can bang out milk ,high solids on grass based diet and really drive on on a Tmr diet

mahoney_j wrote: »

Bought a part load outa Ireland in March.
    22 in total. Come from renowned herd. 1900 gallon.
    Not impressed. Caving into the pressure.
    Then again he wasn't going to sell his best was he? Bought unseen....

Lived and died by ebi....... Me ar**.

Bought a part load outa Ireland in March.
    22 in total. Come from renowned herd. 1900 gallon.
    Not impressed. Caving into the pressure.
    Then again he wasn't going to sell his best was he? Bought unseen....

Lived and died by ebi....... Me ar**.

1900 me arse

Never a truer word.

Not so disappointed cos I sold a house today. Was beginning to think I needed a "victim".
    Sorry off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

imported 48 in 1989 , still have a good a couple pb and a good few X breds along with br Ffr

suit our system and land , holstein are a no a no here actually getting de populated in 1988 was one of the best things that ever happened

jt65 wrote: »
    imported 48 in 1989 , still have a good a couple pb and a good few X breds along with br Ffr

suit our system and land , holstein are a no a no here actually getting de populated in 1988 was one of the best things that ever happened

When emotion is put aside depop is actually a reboot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Depopulated in the nineties going to different herds buying stock back in opened my eyes

I can see what you mean. It hasn't happened to us but I think it would have a huge impact on our business.

What do guys do for income and to keep payments made in that situation. I know one gets compensation for the stock but there must be consequential losses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I can see what you mean. It hasn't happened to us but I think it would have a huge impact on our business.

What do guys do for income and to keep payments made in that situation. I know one gets compensation for the stock but there must be consequential losses

We got cleared out with BSE a few years ago , the compensation just about bought in replacement milkers . Lived off plastering and the old lads savings so were ok but I wouldn't like to have neither for 6 months and a young family to support .
    Our herd was bf with a bit of hol in the younger cows and I suppose he had been breeding hardiness into them for years so they were easy maintenance . We bought back 30 pb hols and they showed us a massive difference in the amount of nuts they needed to milk compared to the home bred ladies

Insurance.
    I always insure for consequential loss.

Farming 101. Risk management.

Insurance.
    I always insure for consequential loss.

Farming 101. Risk management.

I cannot find an insurance company who'll give me cover. Id be very thorough when doing our insurance. What do you have covered and has anyone else on here hot it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

Anyone have a good word to say about montys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

suppose we were kinda lucky in more ways than 1 , it was brucellosis so we still had a good batch of bullocks left also cows went end of September so we really only lost out on 6 - 8 weeks milk

we bought heavy bullocks and killed them mid january ( they actually left a few bob) & was milking again first week of febraury

went to france in dec , picked out the stock with an importer & he arranged the rest

bought br fr from 3 or 4 irish herds to make up the balance of the herd

we were fairy heavily borrowed at the time but had a good record & the banks were understanding enough re late payments

red bull wrote: »
    Anyone have a good word to say about montys

They look nice

I cannot find an insurance company who'll give me cover. Id be very thorough when doing our insurance. What do you have covered and has anyone else on here hot it?

You have to go outside of that little country.
    ALWAYS consequential loss.

Any proper insurance company will do business.

It's never a licence to print, but business management 101, risk management.

You have to go outside of that little country.
    ALWAYS consequential loss.

Any proper insurance company will do business.

It's never a licence to print, but business management 101, risk management.

I'm following this up first thing Monday. What do you cover?

They look nice

Lol. Plick. Lol. :):)

I'm following this up first thing Monday. What do you cover?

You already know. Keyman, etc.
    It will cost you mind......!

I milk 45 MOX. Changed from hol fr 12 yes ago. Yields are down but health and fertility probs are gone. Maybe not the ideal breed, but they pay my bills,have a valuable calf every year and the only vet bill I had for years was for tb/Bruce test

wonder how much meal is being fed?

I milk 45 MOX. Changed from hol fr 12 yes ago. Yields are down but health and fertility probs are gone. Maybe not the ideal breed, but they pay my bills,have a valuable calf every year and the only vet bill I had for years was for tb/Bruce test
    sounds like they suit your system red bull . What sort of prices do you get for your calves? and how do you find their temperament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Nice one Red. How are they doing on solids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

His words," Stubborn, nasty, hungry feckers with thick calves"

Jezzzz I one hoor of a HO who fits that description, utterly does my head in and I can't wait till I can justify culling her! If I had a herd of them I'd be out the gate so quick to find a new job!

Doing the sums on the more valuable male calf from them which is worth 300. Assume an equivalent HO is worth 30quid, that's a diff of 270. Assume you have 100 cows and breed 60% as replacements, so 30 bull calves, the MOs are worth 8 100euros more than the HOs. However a herd of 100 HOs would at a guess knock out an easy 100kl more milk than the montys which is 35k euros extra sales! I'm sorry the bull calf debate just never ever stacks up, us dairy farmers produce milk 1stly, bull calves are just a byproduct.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Jezzzz I one hoor of a HO who fits that description, utterly does my head in and I can't wait till I can justify culling her! If I had a herd of them I'd be out the gate so quick to find a new job!

Doing the sums on the more valuable male calf from them which is worth 300. Assume an equivalent HO is worth 30quid, that's a diff of 270. Assume you have 100 cows and breed 60% as replacements, so 30 bull calves, the MOs are worth 8 100euros more than the HOs. However a herd of 100 HOs would at a guess knock out an easy 100kl more milk than the montys which is 35k euros extra sales! I'm sorry the bull calf debate just never ever stacks up, us dairy farmers produce milk 1stly, bull calves are just a byproduct.
    wonder what the gestation period is, considering its a much bigger calf

[QUOTE=trixi2011;91458,hey suit your system red bull . What sort of prices do you get for your calves? and how do you find their temperament[/QUOTE]

Mox bulls averaged 280 7 char bulls 400. 3 char hfrs 288
    No problems with temperment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Had a few here over the years milking. Great for calving big beef breeds. Other than that found them too heavy for our wet land. Also could be very difficult to handle. They would walk over you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I'm supprised about the temperament issues people have mentioned here. We had a few mo-x cows we bought in when we were milking. While they were at the top of the herd pecking order I can't say we ever had any issues with them kicking

I worked with a lad who used them yrs back but had been using fr for yrs since. Remember trying to get a few out in cubicle shed that were near calving. No way would they go. Had to bring whole batch out and separate. Stubborn out and poor feet is what I remember