Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dead baby found in family bathroom

• 25-07-2014 8:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/dead-baby-found-in-family-bathroom-30458724.html

Tragic story
    GARDAI are treating as "a personal tragedy" the discovery of a dead newborn baby in the bathroom of a family home.
    The woman's parents are not understood to have known that the girl was giving birth in the house.

Reminds me of Anne Lovett from 1984 (year not the movie/book)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Lovett

Ann Lovett was a fifteen-year-old schoolgirl from Granard, County Longford, Ireland who died giving birth beside a grotto on 31 January 1984.[1] Her baby son died at the same time and the story of her death played a huge part in a seminal national debate in the country at the time on women giving birth outside marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

That's heartbreaking. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

I was never an uber fan of Gaybo, but I'm a little shocked by:
    On Saturday night, the 4th of February 1984, Ireland's most popular television show was coming to an end, when the host read this headline from the next days' Sunday Tribune Newspaper: "Girl, 15, Dies Giving Birth In A Field".
    With the words "Nothing terribly exciting there", the newspaper was cast down on the studio floor by the 'Late Late Show' host, Gay Byrne.

Admittedly its from Wiki so it has a huge health warning but I expected better of this guy that brought the taboo subjects of divorce, abortion, RCC influence, contraception. Was all that just being edgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

any word on what park of the city this happened ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Maphisto wrote: »

Admittedly its from Wiki so it has a huge health warning but I expected better of this guy that brought the taboo subjects of divorce, abortion, RCC influence, contraception. Was all that just being edgy?

No , he really actually meant that he didn't find the story very exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I remember watching that and seeing the look of disgust on my Fathers face. He said a few days later when the full story came out that he was never more ashamed to be Irish than at that time.

No , he really actually meant that he didn't find the story very exciting.

Yes, that's what I mean. It seems that what he is saying that there is nothing interesting there. It was an awful tragedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭FactCheck

If you think that's bad, look up how he spoke to Annie Murphy when he interviewed her about Bishop Casey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

How very sad. The poor girl. I am so sad for her tiny baby. Is there anything known about the conditions of her pregnancy? Did she know she was pregnant? I am assuming she did.

It is sad to say that I am honestly not surprised, some of the comments I have gotten for being an unmarried mother (living with the childs father for 10 years) would make your toes curl. It is a sad indictment on our society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

It's heartbreaking and sad that in this day that a young mother still has to be ashamed/hide/ and did not feel she had the confidence or support to get help with her pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I expected better of this guy that brought the taboo subjects of divorce, abortion, RCC influence, contraception. Was all that just being edgy?

He just happened to be presenter of the major debate show at the time that these subjects came into the public arena, due mostly to social changes in other states. Doesn't mean he was 'liberal' himself. In fact he was very condescending to women. My mother used turn the radio off when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

mikeecho wrote: »
    any word on what park of the city this happened ?

Does it matter where it happened, I hope they at least get to keep their privacy ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

How very sad. The poor girl. I am so sad for her tiny baby. Is there anything known about the conditions of her pregnancy? Did she know she was pregnant? I am assuming she did.

It is sad to say that I am honestly not surprised, some of the comments I have gotten for being an unmarried mother (living with the childs father for 10 years) would make your toes curl. It is a sad indictment on our society.

Article says she was in her early 20s.

I heard of a case where a woman gave birth without anyone knowing she had been pregnant. She was a big girl and had suffered mental illness and drug addiction, so she may not have even acknowledged it to herself. The mind, and hormones, can play tricks so the best we can do as a society is look out for each other without judgement as pregnant women can be vulnerable.

Fair play to you btw. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

That is just so sad for all involved, poor woman. RIP to the baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Horribly sad. I can see how it could happen. My family are very liberal and I remember still being absolutely terrified to tell them I was pregnant at 19. It was the hardest thing I've ever done.
    So I can see why a woman would try and hide it. But what a terrible outcome for all involved :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

In fairness he did go on to handle the Ann Lovett tragedy with great compassion and kindness through his radio programme.

If you have the Doc on One app there's an excellent documentary available about the whole thing, it's well worth listening to.

Yes, that's what I mean. It seems that what he is saying that there is nothing interesting there. It was an awful tragedy.

Jesus Christ - he threw the paper down in disgust because he was disgusted at the state of Irish society which could allow such a thing to happen. His comment about there being 'nothing interesting' was a bitterly ironic statement to highlight Irish societies' compulsion to sweep these issues under the carpet. It was far more powerful than some mealy-mouthed homily that the likes of Turbity would deliver with all the po-faced sincerity he could muster nowadays.
    So, just to be entirely clear;
    HE DIDN'T LITERALLY MEAN THERE WAS NOTHING INTERESTING IN THE PAPER.

Christ I despair that people need to have such obvious things explained to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Jesus Christ - he threw the paper down in disgust because he was disgusted at the state of Irish society which could allow such a thing to happen. His comment about there being 'nothing interesting' was a bitterly ironic statement to highlight Irish societies' compulsion to sweep these issues under the carpet. It was far more powerful than some mealy-mouthed homily that the likes of Turbity would deliver with all the po-faced sincerity he could muster nowadays.

Christ I despair that people need to have such obvious things explained to them.

I'd be more inclined to believe that if he hadn't treated Annie Murphy the way he did.

Sorry to upset you and your Jesus chum. All I've gone by is the written word. I didn't see the episode and it is difficult to read in irony. Thankfully though you were here to explain it to me and any other thickees reading it.

Sorry for being so fucking stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sorry to upset you and your Jesus chum. All I've gone by is the written word. I didn't see the episode and it is difficult to read in irony. Thankfully though you were here to explain it to me and any other thickees reading it.

Jesus chums? Watch out there, that could be discriminatory language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Tragic. RIP

It's not that hard really.

Oh I get it you're being ironic now.

Good one.

Maybe work on your communication skills a bit. Perhaps don't talk to people face to face like you do from behind a keyboard and maybe that way you'll get to do your leaving cert.

Oh I get it you're being ironic now.

Good one.

Maybe work on your communication skills a bit. Perhaps don't talk to people face to face like you do from behind a keyboard and maybe that way you'll get to do your leaving cert.

No, actually the last statement wasn't ironic at all - why would it have been?

It was just a statement of fact.

I honestly think the problem is very little to do with my (or Gay Byrne's) communication skills and mostly to do with your ability to comprehend what you're reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I can't even begin to imagine how terrified this woman must have been in that bathroom.

Thankfully we know she'll get the help she needs now.

RIP the little baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

catallus wrote: »
    I can't even begin to imagine how terrified this woman must have been in that bathroom.

Thankfully we know she'll get the help she needs now.

RIP the little baby.

Yeah that's pretty much how I feel. I actually felt sick to my stomach reading this story.

I don't know what the girl's background or circumstances were, but my god ... what a horrible outcome.

RIP the poor little baby, and I really hope that the mother gets the help that she needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

realies wrote: »
    It's heartbreaking and sad that in this day that a young mother still has to be ashamed/hide/ and did not feel she had the confidence or support to get help with her pregnancy.

Nowhere did it say she was hiding the pregnancy. It said that her parents didn't know she was giving birth in the house. Maybe they were out and she suddenly went into labour. It also says "near full term" so perhaps she wasn't due for a few more weeks and went into early labour in the house alone and it happened so fast.

It could happen to anyone, absolutely anyone, even the strongest most intelligent and grounded of women can find themselves in this utterly desperate situation. I hope she receives the help and support she needs going forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

:D:D
    I watched that and he took a lot of flak for it, of course RTE damped it all down. Had we had social media Gaybo on many occaisions may have lost his job...this being one of them.
    Judge for yourself...20 secs or so in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

This is a grown woman in her 20s. And all the support out there for single parents. Why did she not ask for help??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

PucaMama wrote: »
    This is a grown woman in her 20s. And all the support out there for single parents. Why did she not ask for help??

Maybe she was not in a position to? She might have been a vulnerable adult or in a difficult domestic situation.

Or caught on the hop by premature labour? Why is everyone assuming something more sinister surrounds this situation?

Witchie wrote: »
    Or caught on the hop by premature labour? Why is everyone assuming something more sinister surrounds this situation?

House would have to be empty quite a while to go through the average labour and delivery without anyone hearing

I do know of people who have given birth in 20 minutes. Also maybe family all in work for the day? Until facts are known I suggest people be more respectful and not put any more horror to a story of the tragic loss of a new life.

with their first child?
    and if you want to control the conversation why dont you just get the thread locked instead of having a go at posters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

It's a discussion board.....people will discuss what they think may have happened. No one is being disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

I had two fast labour and deliveries shocked dthe midwives on my first.. Anyway I can't imagine how she was feeling its terrifying dealing with they unknown and nothing prepares you when your heading into give birth, she did it alone and that is horrible for anyone let alone what happened next.. I think its a tragedy pure and simple.. Plus she may not have screamed some women dont no one would know..

My heart goes out to her and her family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

The Journal are reporting that she went to a garda station and reported it and the infant was found in a bin.

So impossible to know what actually happened until more info is released.

http://www.thejournal.ie/body-baby-cork-1588597-Jul2014/
    GARDAÍ IN CORK are investigating the discovery of the body of newborn baby in a house in the south of Cork City.

The baby girl was found after her mother presented herself to a gardaí station in the city and told them that she had recently given birth.

A subsequent search by gardaí of the address she had given them led to the discovery.

The Irish Examiner reports that the baby’s body was found in a bin in the rear of the house.

The body of the infant has been removed to Cork University Hospital where a post-mortem is due to be carried out today.

Examiner reporting similar

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/dead-baby-found-in-bin-276689.html

ash23 wrote: »
    impossible to know what actually happened until more info is released.

This, tbh.

Let's leave it at that, shall we folks.