Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy / Have you bought alcohol/cigarettes for someone underage?

• 24-07-2014 3:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭

I once bought cigarettes for a cute young one outside a shop, but then I regretted it. She asked me the next day, and I told her to forget it. I don't buy them for anyone new.

I wouldn't buy drink for people I don't know. I would probably buy some for lads I knew were sensible enough and if it was only a few cans.

What about ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Loads of times I have bought alcohol for them.. but I was underage myself at the time :p

No way in hell would I. Sorry kids.

I wouldnt have liked anyone buying for my kids when they were underage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Only after sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

I once bought cigarettes for a cute young one outside a shop

Y'all right there Sharon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Whatever about a bottle or 2 of Bud, I wouldn't buy them Smokes

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Yeah, myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

No Booze

I would be terrified of something happening to them while they were drinking, I would never forgive myself !!

Cigarettes - Yes, I haven't been asked yet, but I probably would... we did it when we were teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

No, I haven't, nor will I.

However I admit I am a bit of a hypocritical git, as my local newsagent was happy to sell me a fag and a match for 10p when I was 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nope.

Not even for someone who is the legal age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭ch20

No I wouldn't buy booze or smokes for young people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I have bought my little sisters a shnaky bottle or 2 when they turned 16. They're sensible enough young wans, have yet to see them come home off their tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

No

Nah, wouldn't do it.

The closest I came was in the O2, they have an over 21s rule, so a dude asked me would I get him a pint - he had his passport and he was 19. I figured he was legal so what harm. Got to the queue and was asked for ID myself - had none on me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Nope, if they think they're mature enough to drink or smoke, they should be mature enough not to ask people to break the law for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Once when I was nineteen I bought a seventeen year old cigarettes.
    Didn't see the harm as she was already smoking a few years at that stage and was only five or six months away from being able to buy them herself.

Would not buy them for someone younger than that or for someone I don't know.

EDIT: Would buy a few drinks for someone if I knew them, like people did for me when I was underage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

there was a group of 16/17 yr old lads outside a Tesco that asked me to get cans for them, it ended up being 2 cans each. pretty harmless, I was that age and we all did it. actually at age 17 I was in college and back then it was easy to get into pubs in Dublin city without ID in most places

Im and adult but Im not gonna run some young lads buzz by being a dick

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Bought small quantities for my sibiling on a couple of occasions when she was 17. Parents did similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Couldn't be bothered tbh, would feel weird.