Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

N plates

• 23-07-2014 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Hi just failed my test yesterday and am hoping to sit again in September. I would be biking the test before the 1 august but does this mean I would have to wear n plates if I pass my test in September even though I have it booked since before 1 august
    Thanka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

The only date that counts is the date on the Licence you are issued after passing.

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jasonleary

jasonleary wrote: »
    Hi just failed my test yesterday and am hoping to sit again in September. I would be biking the test before the 1 august but does this mean I would have to wear n plates if I pass my test in September even though I have it booked since before 1 august
    Thanka

Any more advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Moody_mona

jasonleary wrote: »
    Any more advice

To get an answer you want?

Doesn't matter when you book you me test. You wont have passed your test or be in possession of your license. You'll be required to wear N plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jasonleary

Moody_mona wrote: »
    To get an answer you want?

Doesn't matter when you book you me test. You wont have passed your test or be in possession of your license. You'll be required to wear N plates.
    Moody Mona really is very moody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Craftylee

But he's right - it's the issue date on your license that counts not when you book your test. Chances are if you're only booking your test now that you will land up with the N plate- sucks but that's life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

booking your test does not mean you passed your test - so yes you will need to wear those lovely plates for 2 long years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Hi folks, I'm unclear on this - I passed my test yesterday, but appointment for ndls centre is on 16th of August. do I need these plates? When I got "advice" from the tester he never mentions them and I never thought to ask. Thanks in advance :)

The only date that matters is the date of issue on your licence - usually that's a day or five after your NDLS appointment. Go down there tomorrow before 8.45 and don't leave without an appointment for the same day.

Nate

The only date that matters is the date of issue on your licence - usually that's a day or five after your NDLS appointment. Go down there tomorrow before 8.45 and don't leave without an appointment for the same day.

Nate

Cheers man, appreciate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Doesnt really matter anyway if they cant enforce L plates there not going to have much luck with N plates or any other letter!

jd83 wrote: »
    Doesnt really matter anyway if they cant enforce L plates there not going to have much luck with N plates or any other letter!

This is true. It's for the insurance companies to fleece people, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Initially it will be hard to enforce. I personally think they are pointless. The punishments will be the same for not displaying L plates now. A court appearance and a fine. Which is quite rare. Friend of mine was stopped 3 times at checkpoints and given a warning:rolleyes:

But there are plans to introduce 2 penalty points for none display for L and N plates. Will the gards bother straight away? Who knows? Maybe once a year in a highly publicised crackdown aiming for young people who think they are kings of the road. I know quite a few.

At first they will want to catch out all the learners who flout the law. Penalty points for being unaccompanied too.

When these other changes happen I dont know. When I got my learner permit over a year and a half ago. Everyone who I knew who was learning and my ADI thought Id be stuck with them. I rushed to pass my test as the word was they were just down the line when my 6 months were up waiting. Looks like I was 14 months in the clear now.

But Im starting to feel sorry for the traffic corp. All these new laws to remember and enforce. They wont be able to drive for 5 minutes without having to pull someone over:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Initially it will be hard to enforce. I personally think they are pointless. The punishments will be the same for not displaying L plates now. A court appearance and a fine. Which is quite rare. Friend of mine was stopped 3 times at checkpoints and given a warning:rolleyes:

But there are plans to introduce 2 penalty points for none display for L and N plates. Will the gards bother straight away? Who knows? Maybe once a year in a highly publicised crackdown aiming for young people who think they are kings of the road. I know quite a few.

At first they will want to catch out all the learners who flout the law. Penalty points for being unaccompanied too.

When these other changes happen I dont know. When I got my learner permit over a year and a half ago. Everyone who I knew who was learning and my ADI thought Id be stuck with them. I rushed to pass my test as the word was they were just down the line when my 6 months were up waiting. Looks like I was 14 months in the clear now.

But Im starting to feel sorry for the traffic corp. All these new laws to remember and enforce. They wont be able to drive for 5 minutes without having to pull someone over:o

Without a doubt there will be a big "crack down" for August maybe a bit of September which will slowly dissapear.

As the other poster said all this is going to do is increase your insurance and also make you a target on the road for assh£oles that the minute they see a car with plates up they think they own the road.

Without a doubt there will be a big "crack down" for August maybe a bit of September which will slowly dissapear.

As the other poster said all this is going to do is increase your insurance and also make you a target on the road for assh£oles that the minute they see a car with plates up they think they own the road.

Luckily those who are learners this minute wont be affected now but I believe in the UK premiums actually rise when you pass as now you can drive unaccompanied whereas here it's the norm for learners to do as well

2 years is too long. Up north it's 1 year but at least N drivers wont have a limit of 45mph like there...yet maybe the next "lifesaver" or headline grabber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Why do you say it will affect insurance? They know how long you're driving anyway, why would having a plate up affect that?

TheChizler wrote: »
    Why do you say it will affect insurance? They know how long you're driving anyway, why would having a plate up affect that?
    Not the plate but the penalty points that are being introduced coupled with the reduction in the limit learners can get may stop unaccompanied learner drivers being common place. So newly qualified drivers will be new to driving alone. Thats what I thought happened in the UK. A quick google tells me it happens there, but I wouldnt say it's a fact but when I passed here I was already insured to drive alone and got a refund of a few euro. Insurers may use it as a reason to not refund or even ask for a even higher premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Not the plate but the penalty points that are being introduced coupled with the reduction in the limit learners can get may stop unaccompanied learner drivers being common place. So newly qualified drivers will be new to driving alone. Thats what I thought happened in the UK. A quick google tells me it happens there, but I wouldnt say it's a fact but when I passed here I was already insured to drive alone and got a refund of a few euro. Insurers may use it as a reason to not refund or even ask for a even higher premium.
    I get what you're saying but I'm not sure it's realistic. You're saying the new laws will make learners more law abiding, therefore the first time they go out alone will be once they get their licences, and are more likely to cause an accident as a result? Surely the logical backstep from that is that more learners are driving unaccompanied now than after these laws are introduced, and are more likely to cause an accident now, therefore their premiums should be higher currently?

TheChizler wrote: »
    I get what you're saying but I'm not sure it's realistic. You're saying the new laws will make learners more law abiding, therefore the first time they go out alone will be once they get their licences, and are more likely to cause an accident as a result? Surely the logical backstep from that is that more learners are driving unaccompanied now than after these laws are introduced, and are more likely to cause an accident now, therefore their premiums should be higher currently?

No, Im just commenting on what I think happens in the UK. Maybe premiums will drop for learners hopefully they will anyway.

As for driving unaccompanied. I did so Id be a hypocrite to try spout any RSA propaganda as I did it. But I know that if I would get 2 points if caught Id think twice. Im not saying I agree with any of this N plate stuff.

The only real questions now is will it be widely ignored and will the media and public support enforcement. If it is the gards will have a tricky time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭evlgmaojr27ypu

I am still confused as to whether or not the N Plate is going to be N or R..
    Per this page on RSA it is going to be "R" - http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Learner-Drivers/Driver-Training/Graduated-Driver-Licensing/About-GDL/

If so why call it N plate when it is going to be R..

I am still confused as to whether or not the N Plate is going to be N or R..
    Per this page on RSA it is going to be "R" - http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Learner-Drivers/Driver-Training/Graduated-Driver-Licensing/About-GDL/

If so why call it N plate when it is going to be R..

That's outdated. The RSA are useless.

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Drink-Driving/Drink-Driving-Limits-and-Recommendations-/
    According to this the existing limits are the old limits.

They never update their site. The R plate is what is used up north who we are copying. Except Novice drivers here will have to display the N plate for 2 years compared to one up north. 0.08 BAC(Drink driving limit) up north compared to 0.02 here (0.05 after 2 years). And R driver are limited to 45mph (72km/h) up north.

That's outdated. The RSA are useless.

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Drink-Driving/Drink-Driving-Limits-and-Recommendations-/
    According to this the existing limits are the old limits.

They never update their site. The R plate is what is used up north who we are copying. Except Novice drivers here will have to display the N plate for 2 years compared to one up north. 0.08 BAC(Drink driving limit) up north compared to 0.02 here (0.05 after 2 years). And R driver are limited to 45mph (72km/h) up north.

Halfords thinks it is going to be a "P Plate", saw this in Airside today :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

How quickly are they getting through liscence applications these days? I got mine in on Thursday (24th)so hoping to make it in time! Girl in the office said 8 days so will hopefully will just scrape it in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Claiomh

A friend of mine just passed his test today and has already got his application processed. What are the chances of him having to have N plates? Its a bit unclear if it the rule applies from the dates the licence is issued or the day its valid from. Thanks in advance for any replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

It's from the time the licene is issued so unless he has it issued by Thursday he's rocking N plates for two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Claiomh

Thanks for the quick reply! Apparently the woman in there told him he should have it issued before August and will not need the N plates. Can they really be that quick? It took almost a week to issue mine back in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭STEEL COMET

Hey lads,

Just passed the test this morning and was wondering if I will also have to display N plates.
    From earlier posts I see that its when the licence is issued not when you past the test. If I go to the ndls tomorrow and hand in my documents will I get away with it? will my licence get the day I came in as the "Issued date"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Hey lads,

Just passed the test this morning and was wondering if I will also have to display N plates.
    From earlier posts I see that its when the licence is issued not when you past the test. If I go to the ndls tomorrow and hand in my documents will I get away with it? will my licence get the day I came in as the "Issued date"

Nope, it's whenever the license is actually processed and printed. Not when you passed your test, and not when you arrived at the centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Vologda69

All applicants who present at an NDLS office before 1st August will not have to have N plates. All such applications will have the validity dates backdated should there be any delays due to missing documentation etc. Larger offices will be open until 6pm on 30th and 31st July to deal specifically with 1st permits and 1st full licences.
    Claiomh wrote: »
    A friend of mine just passed his test today and has already got his application processed. What are the chances of him having to have N plates? Its a bit unclear if it the rule applies from the dates the licence is issued or the day its valid from. Thanks in advance for any replies!

Nope, it's whenever the license is actually processed and printed. Not when you passed your test, and not when you arrived at the centre.

so its game over! I was so happy thinking I'd be n Plate free...... Should I even try tomorrow?

Go to the NDLS office. The RSA have stated that people who present before the 1st will be accommodated and WILL NOT have to wear N plates. Hence, why the offices are open until 6pm this week.
    so its game over! I was so happy thinking I'd be n Plate free...... Should I even try tomorrow?

Vologda69 wrote: »
    Go to the NDLS office. The RSA have stated that people who present before the 1st will be accommodated and WILL NOT have to wear N plates. Hence, why the offices are open top 6pm this week.

Thanks a million, so I bring my documents,app form and they will grant it? thank you so much, just wondering how do you know this?

A family member works for NDLS. The RSA or NDLS will confirm that you will not have to wear N plates. Go there early to get your appointment and don't forget your Ppsn and cert of competency
    Thanks a million, so I bring my documents,app form and they will grant it? thank you so much, just wondering how do you know this?

A family member works for NDLS. The RSA or NDLS will confirm that you will not have to wear N plates. Go there early to get your appointment and don't forget your Ppsn and cert of competency

Thank You so Much Vologda, one last thing do I need to bring pictures?

Thank You so Muck Vologda, one last thing do I need to bring pictures?

No, photo is taken by digital camera at the NDLS.

All you need is:

Full licence application form

Proof of PPSN number

Learner permit

Certificate of competence

Proof of change of address (if different to that on you permit)

Fee: €55 for 10 years

Go to the NDLS office. The RSA have stated that people who present before the 1st will be accommodated and WILL NOT have to wear N plates. Hence, why the offices are open until 6pm this week.

I'm pleasantly surprised by this, fair play to them.

Nate

cheers, will go in first thing tomorrow so, if it wasn't for you I wouldn't have gone into ndls because of the idiots in other posts. Thank you for your help and advice

Rest assured, the NDLS staff will confirm all of the above for you. Unfortunately, a lot of people have their Certs lying around at home for months and may well miss the deadline. Lot of people are not aware of the changes coming. Next week will be too late :(
    cheers, will go in first thing tomorrow so, if it wasn't for you I wouldn't have gone into ndls because of the idiots in other posts. Thank you for your help and advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Rest assured, the NDLS staff will confirm all of the above for you. Unfortunately, a lot of people have their Certs lying around at home for months and may well miss the deadline. Lot of people are not aware of the changes coming. Next week will be too late :(

In all fairness, the certs are only valid for 6 months IIRC, and they're not a equivalent to a full license. Those people are idiots.

Nah.. the cert is actually valid for a whole two years... but still why work so hard to pass the test and leave it lying around for weeks... I applied for my full license 15 minutes after passing my test :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭holidaysong

Passed my test this morning and got two lovely shiny N plates as a present from the tester.

Yes boii, went in (thanks to vologda!) and was told i wont be needed N plates!! woop woop!

And best of all I got an email today confirming that I wont be falling under "the new laws and regulations"

Right, Today I got the licence in the post, when I open the letter up it reveals the issue date is the 8th of August.

I plan to ring them up tomorrow since I got the Email saying I wouldn't need them frickin N plates.

What do ye reckon folks??

Right, Today I got the licence in the post, when I open the letter up it reveals the issue date is the 8th of August.

I plan to ring them up tomorrow since I got the Email saying I wouldn't need them frickin N plates.

What do ye reckon folks??

What is the date on the back of the licence ?

Feel so stupid but am so happy! WOOP WOOP. could have rang them tomorrow and made a fool of meself! thanks Tyson