Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sober nights out?

• 21-07-2014 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

I had four drinks at the weekend and ended up in a club with herself, another couple and two more friends. I know four drinks is not sober but I may as well have been. Thought it was absolute rubbish just standing there nursing my bottle of heineken whilst roaring into a few ears. Felt awkward in the club just standing there as I wouldn't have the confidence to dance when I'm not drunk.Still didn't feel great with tiredness and all that the next day.

So what is your experience of going out and not getting drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

It's like talking to a woman with no chance of sex at the end of the conversation.

Whats the point?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

It's not fun. I love having a few pints in a quiet pub, night clubs are shite anyway, drink doesn't make them more fun, they just make you numb to them.

I lasted almost a year of not drinking one time and it was horrible, mostly down to how drunk other people were, couldn't keep up with conversations, didn't know what they were laughing at etc and the worst thing about it is every eejit asking "why aren't you drinking, are you an alcoholic or something" and "shur have one" and "will you have one if I buy it for you".. just piss off, I'm not drinking because I don't WANT to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 theJED102

I've found it can be enjoyable but really you have to be in the mood for going out with a few friends. Go out with a few friends enjoy the music and dancing and it can be enjoyable, the only thing is the tiredness in the morning can be as bad as a hangover sometimes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I had four drinks at the weekend and ended up in a club with herself, another couple and two more friends. I know four drinks is not sober but I may as well have been. Thought it was absolute rubbish just standing there nursing my bottle of heineken whilst roaring into a few ears. Felt awkward in the club just standing there as I wouldn't have the confidence to dance when I'm not drunk.Still didn't feel great with tiredness and all that the next day.

pretty alright....I wouldn't be the biggest drinker out there/cant really stick the crowds....so emm I just go out chat away with the lads..when it gets too much...(noisy/crowded etc) I just slip away home:)...

theres no way the hangovers I get are worth the hassle...I have friends who never get hangovers...I would love to be like that

Haven't done one in years, waste of time. If I find I'm not drunk enough for a given stage of the night I'll swallow down a couple of shots to catch up an get on the doubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I can go out and not get drunk but I'd choose the place more carefully, not a club anyway, what is there to like about a club sober, you just notice filthy floors, people being assholes, just gets on your nerves if youre sober

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭LadyLucinda

Haven't done one in years, waste of time. If I find I'm not drunk enough for a given stage of the night I'll swallow down a couple of shots to catch up an get on the doubles.

That's the dedicated attitude I like to hear!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

LOVE sober nights!

Maybe cos my friends wouldn't bat an eyelid...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I've been on the dry for a while, purely because I'm useless at doing two things at once, like drinking and having a coherent existence. I've been out but I haven't skulled the uisce beatha in the typical Irish way like I used to, I might have one or two halves or a mixer on an odd occasion but I find that is enough and so worth it the next day. I went to a festival a few weeks ago and while everyone around me was drinking beers from plastic cups, I was ordering the finest freshly brewed mocha while watching the world go by. You know when people take pictures of their festival highlights and they're all blurry and out of focus? well mine were perfectly crisp and stunning. That's what it's like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I actually kind of enjoy it, it's like a different dimension, all your friends slowly disappear over the course of the night and their alter egos come out! Definitely have to be in the right form for it and with the right people, and drunk or sober I wouldn't be bothering with nightclubs. But for house-parties/pubs/bushing it can be good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Its real boring. I'm not a drinker at all, so it ends up with me sitting there drinking coke or orange juice, smoking a cigarette feeling and acting like a damp weekend, while everyone has a drink, a chat, the banta etc.

It's the other people talking shyte that makes it difficult. Your good mates are grand cos you can get a giggle out of their drunkeness but other than that - no thanks. The rest of it's grand, sure I'd talk to anyone and dance anywhere!

I'll be sober for a while now, I'll have the odd pint and electric picnic will be a big weekend of drinking I guess but I've a big race in a couple of months so need to train for that and drinking won't fit it.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Its real boring. I'm not a drinker at all, so it ends up with me sitting there drinking coke or orange juice, smoking a cigarette feeling and acting like a damp weekend, while everyone has a drink, a chat, the banta etc.

Do you not enjoy messing with people's heads when they're pissed though?That's how I enjoy the night. And then if someone loses their keys or bag or something and everyone's running around like headless chickens, you find it (it's usually sitting right in front of them) and everyone thinks you're possessed of superhuman abilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Depends on the type of night. A sober night out at the pub/ club run is dangerous: you might realise how unfunny a lot of the craic and the so called banter is. You might think, Jesus do I act such an a-hole with the drink on board. A sober night out at some other things is brilliant.

Not really, I find it real frustrating. Like they could ask me for a smoke say, I would offer them the smoke, then they'll get into a fit of giggles from it.

That sounds deadly :D

Ya can't bate a fit of the giggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I actually kind of enjoy it, it's like a different dimension, all your friends slowly disappear over the course of the night and their alter egos come out! Definitely have to be in the right form for it and with the right people, and drunk or sober I wouldn't be bothering with nightclubs. But for house-parties/pubs/bushing it can be good craic.

bushing, is that cork speak for knacker drinking? :P

Sure its all grand when your the one giggling. When your the one whose sitting with a banging headache in a filthy smoking area in a **** pub an hour away from your house at ten at night, less fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

"I wouldn't have the confidence to dance" <<< theres your real problem...alcohol just hides the fact that some people have low confidence....not on a high horse or anything, im the exact same....but im sick of feeling the need to drink, slowed it right down lately, if you learn to be social and avoid the wrong places (like nightclubs) and go to gigs or some other sort of event, a night out can be great craic...how do you think the spanish or other europeans do it? (the ones that dont drink heavy that is)

--LOS-- wrote: »
    bushing, is that cork speak for knacker drinking? :P

I was trying to make it sound more grown-up and respectable! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

They really are impossible. Not terrible for the first couple of hours but after that you just realise you can't really talk to anybody if your in a loud bar, your mates are on a different level laughing at **** that just isn't funny when your sober and your all standing around looking at women or lookin at other groups of drunk men looking at women.

And you realise that you would much rather be at home with tea and biscuits watching match of the day. Or maybe I'm just getting old .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

On antibiotics at the start of last December. One of the lads had arranged a night in Shelbourne Park a good few weeks before, couldn't say no then.

It's 10ish and the girls in our group can barely stand.

Later on in Flannerys I'm just standing there like some sap with my ribena.

Then came the dreaded words "into Coppers?" Essentially walked around Coppers for 15 mins then left just before 2.

Was an eye opener to put it one way. :pac:

Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I'm not a big drinker. I will have a few when I'm out, but I've never been drunk, nor have any intention of doing so. I don't see the point, to be honest. I can still have a good laugh with mates, whether they're drunk or sober. I can wake up the next morning hangover-free and be able to remember a good night.

I don't understand the business of a night out not being a good one or being complete without getting hammered. In such cases, people with too much booze can either be a good laugh (fair enough); be annoying assholes talking ****e to sober people (not necessarily assholes, but talk nonsense); vomit however many euros worth of booze back up; pass out, meaning that mates have to help them into a taxi, or have to call an ambulance, if they get into a pitiful state (paramedics have far more serious cases to be dealing with than someone who can't handle their drink); fall all over the place in a packed place, and fall into this person and that person. . .I could go on. Fair enough, the above cases are only a minority.

I much prefer to be able to go out, sit around a table, have a few quiet ones (though, depending on the venue) and just have the bit of craic. I'm not into the club scene and all (I have two left feet anyway). But, everyone has their ideas of a good night out. And, it's not my place to tell someone to give it a rest, if they always seem to be drinking excessive amounts some nights during the week, apart from weekends. I have worried about a couple of mates who'd do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I do it all the time. I don't have a problem with it. Although, I have to roll my eyes at people who say I'm dry cause I don't drink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Hate the fact that people nearly look down there nose at you for saying,

I don't want to drink tonight.

Since when did "drink" refer to having an alcoholic beverage,

Any night I have gone sober has been torture, people talking sh!te, you realise the state of the floors in pubs & clubs towards the end of the night, broken glass, sticky floors from spilled drinks etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

We're you ever standing there in a club sober and pissed off, watching a lad sweating and smelling like a wet dog getting stuck into a bird that can barely keep her eyes open or legs straight, fake tan coming off her, and wonder to yourself, whoever made alcoholic drinks and make people feel so good and even sexy, while in such a state is a genius.

Ps. I'm not judging, that drunken soul was often me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I really enjoy it for a change until about 12 when everyone starts getting scuttered and repetitive. Then I go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

It really depends who you're with and where you go. I've had great nights in the pub sober, just chatting and talking sh1te to friends. I'd never ever do a night in a club sober again, did it once and hated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Sky King wrote: »
    I really enjoy it for a change until about 12 when everyone starts getting scuttered and repetitive. Then I go home.

these people that stay out to the bitter end in clubs etc....why bother doing it yourself if your miserable??
    your friends are probily drunk and wont miss you....if your driving...would you not be better sitting in your car listening to something better than what do be played in the nightclubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I haven't been in a club since the mid 90's, tbh, I'd rather gnaw off my own foot than go to a club:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I do it a bit more now than I would have before. Although I wouldn't do stone cold sober much. I might be like the OP and have 4 or 5 drinks, or whatever. I certainly wouldn't be anywhere near drunk, but generally I'd be what I call, pleasantly unsober :D

Even when clubbing, if the music is good, then I have no need for much drink. Hit the dance floor and have a laugh. Most people there are locked anyway, so no need for your inhibitions!

I've never really been one to get locked anyway, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

It's not the worst...you just have to be ready to deal with silly stuff that is only funny to a drunk person...but you can still have the same craic sober as a night where you're hammered. It's quite funny noticing things drunk people do as well.

When it comes to pulling it boost your chances severely. You don't look like you're having a rasher attack...you aren't staring at her t*ts all the time, you can string a competent sentence together etc. It helps loads to be sober in a club when you can actually see a girl checking you out and giving you the look to get your arse over there and make her night....still prefer getting hammered though :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pretty alright....I wouldn't be the biggest drinker out there/cant really stick the crowds....so emm I just go out chat away with the lads..when it gets too much...(noisy/crowded etc) I just slip away home:)...

This, I tend to do this at work gigs

Clubs are my idea of hell, sober or otherwise.

Never had a problem being sober anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

It's quite funny noticing things drunk people do as well.

This is my favourite part :D I think drunk people are hilarious, as long as they aren't too sick or violent.
    The best part is, because I'm sober 99% of the time (I have gotten drunk once or twice to see) I have this deal where I promise to make sure my friends don't do anything too stupid, as long as I get to tell everything they've forgotten the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭chrisguy116

I can't hack it at all ! I find if I don't drink I can't get 100% of me to shine.. If that makes any sense.. Not white girl wasted now but just a few to getcha warm & fuzzy.. I think I'm "sounder" when drunk?
    I'd talk to anyone just for a chat especially outer group mates you wouldn't stop & talk to on the street

One of my mates is a non drinker and has serious Craic when she's out..makes jokes about it & Offers lifts but still can be out til 3 or 4 laughing with the rest falling around.. Green with envy is me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Sure its all grand when your the one giggling. When your the one whose sitting with a banging headache in a filthy smoking area in a **** pub an hour away from your house at ten at night, less fun.

Ten? Try 4am

At a pub, I think it's grand as people aren't really that drunk anyway. However, I went to a club with my friends completely sober and got a taxi home after half an hour. The whole thing just disgusted me from piss all over the place to stupidly loud music to drunk people falling all over you and funny looks from the barmen when you ask for a bottle of lucozade. When you're drunk, you don't care or realize these things but when sober, they really annoy you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Do you not enjoy messing with people's heads when they're pissed though?That's how I enjoy the night. And then if someone loses their keys or bag or something and everyone's running around like headless chickens, you find it (it's usually sitting right in front of them) and everyone thinks you're possessed of superhuman abilities.

THIS. It's like you're helping people survive an alternate dimension where people can be cartoonisly lose their minds and feel like their lives are at stake over small occurences (so just like sober life really). I love it.

I posted this in the non drinker's forum for somebody looking for advice over how to thrive on a night out:
    This is counter intuitive
    I also try to think of people as shy and uptight (even if they are not) if I haven't met them and then try to bring them "alive".

Most people are terrible conversationists anyway, so I feel no shame, that I'm trying. The fact that you even intiate says a lot about you.

And people time and time again are more than delighted if somebody "rescues" them from the tension.

Also people in a pub look at all the people in the pub as sort of crazy that they have to drink, "Wow, is this really what's required for them to articulate (which they won't remember anyway)" then feel fairly godlike that you're navigating through a crowd of sedated zombies.

You just need to reframe it mentally, and it can be slow, but if you have a good imagination its faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

haha, i think the problem here, is boards is saturated in introverts :P such a one sided debate going on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

In a pub it's fine. I don't mind it at all although I've only done that once and it was with very close friends and no one was particularly drunk. I'm cutting down my drinking for the summer (and hopefully longer). I've a friends birthday to attend in a nightclub on Friday night and I'm only allowing myself 6 pints (including pre-drinking) and no spirits or other types of alcohol. Everyone's gonna be blind drunk and I don't know how I'll cope in that situation. I'm dreading it but also kinda looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Did a sober festival, and plenty of nights out.

I can go nuts on the dancefloor sober though which is a big help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I have never really been a drinker.

I hardly drink at all and have a great time still.

I think you have confidence issues in general if you have to be drunk to do anything really.

I have actually NEVER been drunk once.

Everyone thinks they are friendlier drunk...you're not! Trust me. You think you are chattier and funnier ...you're not...

You seem chattier and friendlier if the OTHER person is drunk.

I don't like being around people who are REALLY drunk or off their heads on drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I cannot see a point to being in a niteclub sober. It's too loud to have a conversation, and if you dance you're surrounded by messy drunks.

Loud pubs are just as bad. Screaming in people's ears and struggling to hear people talk is one of my ideas of hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Pubs can be tolerated,if not to crowded and you can have a conversation,night clubs be a big no no,your just not on the same planet as the majority of the people there IMO.