Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kinnity Castle

• 21-07-2014 3:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

Anybody have any experiences with weddings at Kinnitty? I've never been to a wedding there myself but my partner has his heart set on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭hickory

I got married in Kinnitty and like you it was my husband who wanted the venue. It was brilliant, couldnt speak highly enough of them. I know everyone thinks their own wedding is great but people still say it to me. The food was excellent and the fact you have the venue to yourself is great. I got married in Feb and I was concerned it would be cold but Cavan assured me it wouldnt be and he was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I was at a winter wedding there and it was freezing during the meal. The lads who'd always have the jackets off even said it. It was fine by the time the band started but I remember how cold it was. I also didn't like being turfed out of the function room to a bar while the room was set up for the band. Food was grand, typical wedding food, and the venue itself is beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Mobile Dj

Lovely venue,

Have played at many weddings there.

Would not hold clearing the function room as this would be the norm for all wedding receptions as the room is cleaned up and seating would be rearranged for the evening, Band and Dj also set up while this is being done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Oh god, really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭annoyedgal

You pick a venue like this because you fall in love with it and it has charm, character and history. Don't mind the trip advisor haters! Some make the mistake of comparing to modern hotels or Doyle's modern renovated castle venues! Have heard lots of great reviews of weddings there! It's not for everyone, if you love it, go for ot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭annoyedgal

edit, modern renovated hotels. Bloody Swype text!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,160 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Well if you Google Aoife Molloy and Kinnity you will at find that "that" Aoife Molloy got married in Leeds so not a testimonial from a Bride at least. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Stayed there in 2000 for a wedding and again a couple of years ago (not at a wedding) and to be honest the standard of accommodation deteriorated massively. The room we were in was dusty with huge spider webs hanging out of the rafters in the ceiling. There was no TV in the room - which is not acceptable in this day and age.

To be fair, the food was great and the staff lovely. But the room really turned me off going back

Thanks guys.

It wasn't really my favourite venue but himself had his heart set on here.
    I think it'll be back to the drawing board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

. There was no TV in the room - which is not acceptable in this day and age.

Its not really that kind of accomadation. A TV would look very odd given the styling of the bedrooms to be fair.

OP Was at a wedding there back in 2004 food was good, as with other venues dont like being moved from the room while they prepare for the after dinner entertainment, was a bit cold too but its a lovely place with plenty of charm if thats your kind of thing.

Wouldnt be the kind of place Id like to get married in but I can see why people into that kind of catle type thing would like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭nearzero

If you want a stunning castle that has TVs in the rooms & stunning rooms - always warm & the food is unbelievable, have a look at Castle Durrow in Laois, I've been to 3 wedding there & its amazing! Have also had the joy of staying there twice again for other occasions and they were all equally amazing - go look at least, its worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

color_girl wrote: »
    If you want a stunning castle that has TVs in the rooms & stunning rooms - always warm & the food is unbelievable, have a look at Castle Durrow in Laois, I've been to 3 wedding there & its amazing! Have also had the joy of staying there twice again for other occasions and they were all equally amazing - go look at least, its worth it!

I agree 100% - though I'm biased as I had my wedding there!:D

Will have a look at castle durrow, kind of leaning towards the bridge house. I know it's very common though but it's always a good place for a wedding