Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nissan qashqai

• 20-07-2014 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭

Evening all, any opinions on a 2007/08 1.5dci greatly appreciate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Make sure it has a good service history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

We've had one for a year now, its got overthe average mileage done and hauls three young lads around.
    It's not a fantastic car for holding the road in wet conditions, so good tyres are essential in our experience. But generally its a comfortable car to drive.

The parts are a bit expensive but from what I've heard this is standard for Renault/nissan I.e. 77 euros for internal door handles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Is it built well? Is it very skittish in the rain?

Anyone else like to chip in??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

As above, make sure its been serviced properly and on time. Girl at work had timing belt snap on hers before replacement interval too.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    As above, make sure its been serviced properly and on time. Girl at work had timing belt snap on hers before replacement interval too.

Was there huge damage and huge repair bill?

I think Nissan covered a new engine outside warranry

A friend whose a mechanic said "they are a pile of scrap, stay away from them"

Problems with gearbox and suspension he said.

What did he suggest you buy instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

Electrics can be an issue with 1.5 Renault engines

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What did he suggest you buy instead?

He didn't this time, but I did ask months back about 1.8 civic and he said they have the best engine out there!

Also 1.6 2006 type mondeo is pretty bullet proof.........i don't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

robertxxx wrote: »

Also 1.6 2006 type mondeo is pretty bullet proof.........i don't like them.

There was no 1.6 in the 2000-2007 Mondeo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Qashqai is a very, very comfortable car. I like em. But as mentioned, it doesn't respond well to tyres with "Wanli" or "Goodride" on their sidewalls. Other than that, theyre decent inside, not especially cheap or brittle where bits are concerned. Try to get one low ish in miles (<150k) with fsh and you should be ok. Its a Renault lump but its pretty well proven under sensible driving and the gearbox will last you if you dont plan on pulling trailers a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

There was no 1.6 in the 2000-2007 Mondeo.

True, the later model did iirc.

Qashqai is a very, very comfortable car. I like em. But as mentioned, it doesn't respond well to tyres with "Wanli" or "Goodride" on their sidewalls. Other than that, theyre decent inside, not especially cheap or brittle where bits are concerned. Try to get one low ish in miles (<150k) with fsh and you should be ok. Its a Renault lump but its pretty well proven under sensible driving and the gearbox will last you if you dont plan on pulling trailers a lot.

Maybe my mate was on about the auto box, google brings up a few problems with them

My bad I assumed the ford was a 1.6, it must be a 1.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Xennon

The 1.5dci engine in the qasqhai is interesting. You'll get very good mpg from it. Inside theyre ok, not very plush. They suffer from annoying rattles thought, plastics mainly not fitting very well, but once you find them youll be fine.

Once the car has warmed up it does have a quiet impressive pull from that 1.5 engine considering the size of the car. The rear shocks do have an issue with wearing the bushing on the lower end and the shock ends up rattling, swap them for a set for the Xtrail and you'll be grand.

That engine is used in a few different cars so parts wouldnt be a huge issue. It is worth making sure its been serviced regularly though.

What I dont like about them is that the steering feels a bit heavy for me, if like me you rest your elbow on the window sill while driving, its a bit high to be comfortable (I know I know...but it bugs me)

Oh the windscreen wiper motor gives some grief as it seems to get wet and bearings go on it, the good news though is that if you can get a newer model from the scrap yard it should fit (up to 2010 anyway)

Over all its a pretty comfy yoke.

Xennon wrote: »
    The 1.5dci engine in the qasqhai is interesting. You'll get very good mpg from it. Inside theyre ok, not very plush. They suffer from annoying rattles thought, plastics mainly not fitting very well, but once you find them youll be fine.

Once the car has warmed up it does have a quiet impressive pull from that 1.5 engine considering the size of the car. The rear shocks do have an issue with wearing the bushing on the lower end and the shock ends up rattling, swap them for a set for the Xtrail and you'll be grand.

That engine is used in a few different cars so parts wouldnt be a huge issue. It is worth making sure its been serviced regularly though.

What I dont like about them is that the steering feels a bit heavy for me, if like me you rest your elbow on the window sill while driving, its a bit high to be comfortable (I know I know...but it bugs me)

Oh the windscreen wiper motor gives some grief as it seems to get wet and bearings go on it, the good news though is that if you can get a newer model from the scrap yard it should fit (up to 2010 anyway)

Over all its a pretty comfy yoke.

My old primera has near same faults.
    Front suspension bushings, window wiper motor blowing fuses.

So if that's the main faults with them I'm happy with that.