Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VICTORY. Margaretta D’Arcy RELEASED

• 20-07-2014 10:25am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8

broadsheet.ie/tag/margaretta-darcy/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Victory ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

broadsheet.ie/tag/margaretta-darcy/

Who in under jaysus is victor Darcy?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Why is that a victory? The woman was sentenced for three months, it looks like she served her time and was released as normal routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Worst OP of all time. It's just a link. A link that doesn't even work. 0/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Omackeral wrote: »
    Worst OP of all time. It's just a link. A link that doesn't even work. 0/10
    I think you're being overly generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Who?

Jesus, but herself and her supporters mustn't have accomplished much with their protest if they see this as a victory.

Now that she's free I hear that there's a number of farmers looking to employ her to watch over their crops. She'll keep the crows, children and pretty much anyone who isn't blind away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Released from misery? God forbid,

Silly bint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Silly bint.

The word bint seems to have gained an unusual currency whenever Ms D'Arcy is being discussed. It is probably a bit inaccurate in that the slang apparently usually refers to a younger woman.

http://www.yourdictionary.com/bint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

OP you're a bit late, there's already a thread about this ridiculous woman and her pointless antics. We've been having a great laugh for days about her. But realistically she should be in some sort of psychiatric unit as she's clearly unstable and as such poses a risk to herself and to others. Sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Just an annoying old tramp who has nothing better to do. Under my government, she'd be in jail permanently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 happylemon1

Just an annoying old tramp who has nothing better to do. Under my government, she'd be in jail permanently.

Keep telling yourself that.

What exactly has she done? She's stood around in fields protesting anything and everything and is now talking about taking a law suit against the government, the same government from which she is happy to take money for her "art". Surely a woman of such substance and strong beliefs would not have her hand out for a governmental handout if she believes they are complicit in the crimes she protests.

We could say the same about this thread OP :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

OP's Post wasn't clear. Dick is stuck in blender. Please reword your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

She will be protesting again. That is what she does.

The word bint seems to have gained an unusual currency whenever Ms D'Arcy is being discussed. It is probably a bit inaccurate in that the slang apparently usually refers to a younger woman.

http://www.yourdictionary.com/bint

Not according to this dictionary:

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Bint

diomed wrote: »
    She will be protesting again. That is what she does.

Judging by the state of her in the pictures I've seen, she hasn't got too many more protest days left in her, well we can hope anyway. Of course she could spend her time productively campaigning for female prisoners in Limerick prison but that would mean she doesn't get to don her jumpsuit and trespass on a runway and that she wouldn't get any attention, so we won't be doing that then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I'm going to protest at her funeral.

Jesus she's an annoying bastard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Judging by the state of her in the pictures I've seen, she hasn't got too many more protest days left in her, well we can hope anyway. Of course she could spend her time productively campaigning for female prisoners in Limerick prison but that would mean she doesn't get to don her jumpsuit and trespass on a runway and that she wouldn't get any attention, so we won't be doing that then.

yeah lets race to the day that nobody is hghlighing the american war planes using shannon for illelgal activity
    I'm going to protest at her funeral.

Jesus she's an annoying bastard

how is life in the Westboro Baptist Church? you're a bit of an annoying bastard yourself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

yeah lets race to the day that nobody is hghlighing the american war planes using shannon for illelgal activity

Can she only do that by trespassing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Have any of the inept gobshites working as security at the airport been fired yet for allowing an 80 year old woman scale the fence and make it onto the runway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

how is life in the Westboro Baptist Church? you're a bit of an annoying bastard yourself!!

It's nice and cosy in here. Aw don't be mad. Do you have the hots for a jailbird, troublemaking granny? Looks 'sporty' if yer picking up what I'm putting down, ya renegade.

Have a lovely day. It's gorgeous out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Have any of the inept gobshites working as security at the airport been fired yet for allowing an 80 year old woman scale the fence and make it onto the runway?

???

they did an excellent job - last thing you'd want is her getting dying - she'd just be a martyr for other terrorists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

gctest50 wrote: »
    ???

they did an excellent job - last thing you'd want is her getting dying - she'd just be a martyr for other terrorists

Hardly.. the useless fcukers had to be alerted to the fact that she was on the runway by a fellow protester of hers. Seriously.. another protester had to call the control tower to tell them that someone was on an active runway. Laughable stuff.

What if it had been someone looking to cause actual damage or loss of life instead of a silly old cow making a point? Whoever was in charge of security on the day should be sacked for incompetence. I guess it's just easier to make your one out to be the anti-christ though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP banned for some reason. Maybe trolling or maybe for a bad starting post, who knows..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Who??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Dermighty wrote: »
    Who??
    Thought the same myself. From reading the thread she seems to an ex Irish actor who likes to cause all sorts of trouble so I assume there is nothing to learn from here then :P

She's a professional protester who would protest the opening of an envelope if she thought she could get her picture in the paper. If you want to know how little she's thought of, take a look at some of the protests held to demand her freedom. The first one in Galway attracted about 5 people and the more successful second one attracted just enough so that they could spell out her first name by each holding up one letter.

She's a woman who has no problem holding her hand out to the government for a handout with which to pursue her terrible art and is then quite happy to threaten to take legal action against the state. Surely someone of such substance and beliefs, who takes such issue with the government would not be taking money off it.

If we could race to that day it'd be really great, no more tedious old bags using an airport for their attention whoring would be really great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Hardly.. the useless fcukers had to be alerted to the fact that she was on the runway by a fellow protester of hers. Seriously.. another protester had to call the control tower to tell them that someone was on an active runway. Laughable stuff.

What if it had been someone looking to cause actual damage or loss of life instead of a silly old cow making a point? Whoever was in charge of security on the day should be sacked for incompetence. I guess it's just easier to make your one out to be the anti-christ though.

What do you expect? An airport is quite a big place. Shannon has some of the longest runways in Europe. Unless they put up massive electric fences or employed thousands of security staff or perhaps built a moat around the entire airport it would be difficult to absolutely limit access to a runway from crack pots. Security are busy enough inside the airports and it would have been unexpected for some clown to be running around outside in front of planes. Ideally she should never have got access to a runway but to say someone should be sacked for this is knee jerk. Security at irish airports appear to be doing a decent enough job given this is one of the only major security breaches I can think of, apart from some lunatic driving a car across the runway in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm confused when did American war planes land at Shannon ? don’t they mean transport planes or does that not sound as dramatic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I remember she protested to have HP in Galway closed down because something they made could have been used in some war plane or something. Her protest outside their building didn't exactly capture the media's attention, although the staff were highly amused at her antics.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I'm confused when did American war planes land at Shannon ? don’t they mean transport planes or does that not sound as dramatic ?

Military transports are warplanes, but have plenty of other uses as well. It takes practically an act of God to let a foreign armed aircraft to land at Shannon. (Due to an oversight a C130 gunship landed at Shannon last year, it caused huge uproar at government levels)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Glad to see a bit of common sense being spoken here.

The Irish Times has stopped even trying to disguise their gushing support by giving an open mic to her senile politics.

The justice system in this country has bent over backwards to facilitate her. What more can it do? She insists on being a law unto herself by breaching airport security, what the hell do her supporters expect but criminal sanctions? She's perfectly happy with the publicity anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Some info about it here
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shannon_Airport#Rendition_flight_allegations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

How do they get away with all this ?
    10:22 Monday February 3rd 2003
    At around 4 this morning, three women and two men armed with lumphammers ran into the hanger and overpowered guards watching the plane.
    The five, all with Dublin addresses, are being questioned in connection with the incident.

THURSDAY 30/01/2003

A 50-year-old peace protester has been charged with causing €500,000 damage to the plane`s nose, the nose wheel, hydraulics and electrics to a US navy plane at Shannon Airport.

Mary Kelly was charged at Killaloe District Court with causing criminal damage without lawful excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

In 100 years time, balads will be sung in her honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Ray must be delighted having the Mammy back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

In 100 years time, balads will be sung in her honour.
    PITA

Protesting at Shannon
    Easier than Astana
    No water cannon
    Freeloading in Aosdana
    Margaretta
    Ireland’s Evita

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

biko wrote: »

Yes I know the allegations, but none of it has been proven. I can say Santa uses Shannon to transport elves to the north pole, does not make it so. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Well when she's on her deathbed she can look back over a long an fruitful live of achieving absolutely nothing by protesting.

She should get herself stuffed so the other crusties can bring her around to whatever other whinge-ins they attend in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Galway's crustie cabal must be having mixed feelings about her release. On the one hand, she's managed to garner some publicity for the crusties, who thrive on massaging their own egos. A dreadlocked jerkcircle. And she's a figurehead for the professional protestor set down in Galway. But she's also incredibly annoying and self-entitled. She'll be dominating the next meeting of the Galway Alliance Against War and the blowhards who make up that group won't like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭McNulty737

She should be locked up for longer than three months. Potentially forcing commercial airliners with hundreds of lives on board to carry out missed approaches whilst flying on minimum reserve fuel because of some dim-witted old bat running around on the runway should be treated as a very serious criminal act.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Victory?

I doubt she'll see it that way.

Every day that she was locked up gave her supporters something to whinge about.

Now that she's out again they have nothing to do and no one listens to them. (Not that many did anyway).

I reckon she can't wait to get banged up again.

But next time, I hope the prison authorities tell her to fúck off home and stop wasting their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

These lefty any-excuse-for-a-protest-sure-we'll-make-an-afternoon-if-it make me banana. Not only do they bother most people notseeking attention, they also steal genuine issues out of the hands of regular people so they can circle jerk over it.

Take the whole Shell to Sea thing. Residents probably have a good point, but as soon as I saw lefties in gas masks and signs with skull and crossbones on them it was a straight "Nope, don't wanna know."

In general I find they have an extremely narrow, limited, legacy narrative, and they should be revised out of every situation in which they occur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Yes I know the allegations, but none of it has been proven. I can say Santa uses Shannon to transport elves to the north pole, does not make it so. :pac:

How'd ya go about proving something like that beyond reasonable doubt? Genuine question.