Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sex on Irish TV

• 20-07-2014 1:25am
    Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭

Hi Folks, was just watching 3e earlier and "A Girls Guide to 21st Century Sex" was on and I was.... surprised to see the were showing full penetrative sex, and close up shots of all the main sex organs!

Now I'm no prude, it doesn't bother me to be honest, but I didn't think this was allowed on Irish TV. Have the rules changed recently??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Shades799 wrote: »
    Hi Folks, was just watching 3e earlier and "A Girls Guide to 21st Century Sex" was on and I was.... surprised to see the were showing full penetrative sex, and close up shots of all the main sex organs!

Now I'm no prude, it doesn't bother me to be honest, but I didn't think this was allowed on Irish TV. Have the rules changed recently??

Go to bed.

And take a good cold shower first! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Why not?

It's well past the watershed, in a time designated for adult viewing.

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

What I find weird is on most shows they will show the penis but wouldn't show a females nipple, never mind the vagina! I wanna see some female body parts!

Luke92 wrote: »
    What I find weird is on most shows they will show the penis but wouldn't show a females nipple, never mind the vagina! I wanna see some female body parts!

Really? Tits are commonplace and only flaccid dicks are occasionally allowed in my experience. Erect cocks and vaginas are always off the table though for no good reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Really? Tits are commonplace and only flaccid dicks are occasionally allowed in my experience. Erect cocks and vaginas are always off the table though for no good reason.

As long as they're not on the table I eat off I personally don't care. :D

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    As long as they're not on the table I eat off I personally don't care. :D

Ok, which table works for you? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,155 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yeah! And what about beastiality??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Oh how times change. TV3 weren't long on the scene when they got the bright idea of showing Natural Born Killers. Had been banned here. They advertised it for about a week but ended up in court and an injunction slapped on them so couldn't show it. Now we have tv3 airing a programme showing camera shots where cameras never went before. Why? They claim its educational. TV3 3E are nothing more than gutter media.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 UserNo1

About fecking time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Is there a law on what body parts are permitted?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

AWTJwc0.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Seen that show while I was flicking through UPC on demand, the synopsis said it was about discovering the female g spot but I'd decided I'd watched enough fiction for that night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Educatshunal smut is perfectly acceptable. Porn is not.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Iirc it's an at about 12.30 at night?

Embarrassing bodies shows full frontal breasts and penises, amongst feet and tummies and necks and arms (etc!) way earlier than this- 9/10pm ish.

I'd imagine because they are both medical/educational shows it's fine.

Now I would say that the tv3 one pushes the"educational,not porn" parameter to the extreme. But hey wants wrong about teaching sex in a fun way. Or god forbid, in a sexy way.

If you don't like or agree with it, change the channel. Nobody is forcing you to watch.

If porn was shown on certain channels after a certain time, then who cares really? You're an adult, it's meant for adults, you can choose to watch it or not. This stuff isn't shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

If you don't like or agree with it, change the channel. Nobody is forcing you to watch.

If porn was shown on certain channels after a certain time, then who cares really? You're an adult, it's meant for adults, you can choose to watch it or not. This stuff isn't shocking.

Chill Red
    No one is saying they "disagree" with it or it is "shocking" - they just asking what the law is in the area. Like the OP, I was always under the impression that showing penetration wasn't a "done thing" on TV outside the "900" channels... Apparently it is..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

Dont need to watch them Sex Help Shows im a Sex God :D

It wasnt long ago when Gay Byrne invited the guy that narrates the Lovers Guide on to his show and there were some complaints back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

holy saints preserve us! won't somebody think of the childer!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Jaysus, you must have missed the episode where yer man showed how he has self bj's.... Now that's shocking!!

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Shades799

Jaysus, you must have missed the episode where yer man showed how he has self bj's.... Now that's shocking!!

Ha!!! Jesus I'm not sure even my educated mind would be able for that!!

But anyway, that was my question, I wasn't offended just surprised to see a close up shot of a guy finger banging a woman's arse on Irish TV!

To be fair, it's hard to argue it's not educational, so if that's how they're getting it through I suppose it makes sense, even if they know people aren't watching it for it's educational purpose!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭lertsnim

To be fair, it's hard to argue it's not educational, so if that's how they're getting it through I suppose it makes sense, even if they know people aren't watching it for it's educational purpose!

It is not erotic either.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Bravobabe

Jesas - this post was a great read:)
    Enjoyed the crack and people poking fun at the shows

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Ah God be with the days when RTE pulled a 10-part series The Spike half way through after complaints about a millisecond flash of tit. It was also sh*te but that was beside the point.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Sure wasn't Miley ridin Fidelma in the hay years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

ah good ole Glenroe........men were men................and sheep felt threatened!!