Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underage Football Mentors\Coaches\Trainers

• 19-07-2014 6:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭

Im an u10 mentor with my local gaa club. Always busy with blitzes in the go games.

Anyone else here the same?

Should we have a thread for the likes of us to discuss certain aspects it? (If there is not one already)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

MidlandsM wrote: »

Im an u10 mentor with my local gaa club. Always busy with blitzes in the go games.

Anyone else here the same?

Should we have a thread for the likes of us to discuss certain aspects it? (If there is not one already)

You giving out about the amount of blitzes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

You giving out about the amount of blitzes?

I'm not giving out about anything. Thought it might be good to discuss all aspects of mentoring youngsters in GAA football.

anyone else a mentor in their local club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Rocman

Yeah, I coach as well. Under 8's which can be a bit of a handful!

Just want to ask- has anyone any tips to get kids to stop and listen to you when talking?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Rocman wrote: »

Just want to ask- has anyone any tips to get kids to stop and listen to you when talking?

Its a hard one alright. I tend to focus them by saying... any messing or talking, i will ask your parents to take you home. We are here for football.....That usually works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Rocman wrote: »

all balls with the trainer.
    sitting facing you in a semi circle.
    do a simple listening exercise to focus attention - look them up
    don't have the kids facing the sun

have a few basic rules
    if you shout FREEZE, all children must freeze and stay quiet.
    TIMEOUT means all kids run into the trainer as quick as they can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Myself and 1 other lad manage our U-16's

Such a struggle to get people training etc...Champ next week (we would be one of the favs) and only 8 at training this morning because they were all on the piss last night

Fighting a losing battle

Myself and 1 other lad manage our U-16's

Such a struggle to get people training etc...Champ next week (we would be one of the favs) and only 8 at training this morning because they were all on the piss last night

Fighting a losing battle

have ye a ladies U16 team in the club?
    get them down to train at the same time. works wonders.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

nice_guy80 wrote: »

No club only has U-12 and U-10 girls sides.

I know young lads at 15/16 will have a drink but this is getting to be a weekly occurrence. On Wednesdays we get great numbers at training but the majority play soccer on a Saturday and all go on the drink after it, it seems.

Problem is, if we win the U-16 Champ, which we prob will as we are better than anyone else, They are going to grow up thinking they can do both Social Life and Football (does not work like this, Ive found this out myself)

No club only has U-12 and U-10 girls sides.

I know young lads at 15/16 will have a drink but this is getting to be a weekly occurrence. On Wednesdays we get great numbers at training but the majority play soccer on a Saturday and all go on the drink after it, it seems.

Problem is, if we win the U-16 Champ, which we prob will as we are better than anyone else, They are going to grow up thinking they can do both Social Life and Football (does not work like this, Ive found this out myself)

get a county player in to talk to them about the effects of alcohol and the consequences
    get someone else in to talk about nutrition and sleep

its worth spending money on that sort of thing if you've a good bunch of young lads. think of it as investing in the future of the club

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

In the first few years with the underage in the city clubs you often have as many subs as players. When you have a match get a helper to have the subs do five a side and a bit of training rather than sitting down watching the match. They are ready to come on when you want them and it will really help the weaker kids. If you dont keep them occupied they wont turn up

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Works wonders vice versa as well!