Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can a 17 year old book into a hotel with no hassle?

• 19-07-2014 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭

Myself and a friend want to stay in Belfast to see The Killers next month, both of us are 17. Due to the late finishing time of the gig, we've decided the best option would be to book a hotel for the night and go home the next day. Would we have any hassle? One of our parents would call a hotel and book it with no problem using their credit card, would the majority of hotels have a problem with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭highlydebased

You would have to check with the hotel in question. For example Travelodge have in their T&C's
    We do not permit people under the age of 18 to stay alone in our hotels. You must not leave under 18s unattended in any rooms or public areas at any times.

At Premier Inn hotels adult is age over 16 so you could stay there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,740 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Stayed in hotels when I was 17 a few times, never had any problems myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Hostel, yes. Not sure about hotels. As above posters mentioned, check the hotels t and c's or failing that, ring the hotel personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I'll look up some hotels and give them a call then, should be able to find at least one that will allow us, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,545 ✭✭✭dobman88

Why would you tell a hotel what age you are?? I have never told a hotel my age or ever been asked for ID in a hotel. Just walk in, give them your name to check in, pay and enjoy.

dobman88 wrote: »
    Why would you tell a hotel what age you are?? I have never told a hotel my age or ever been asked for ID in a hotel. Just walk in, give them your name to check in, pay and enjoy.

If they happened to look younger than they actually are they might have some bother.

Not unless they look 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

don't know what hotels you stay in, but quite alot of them ask for id, doesnt matter what age you are, its for them to scan it incase you damage anything in the room.

Not unless they look 12

You never know!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It's possibly to do with 'duty of care' issues for underage folk.
    I think you might have a better chance with your parents ringing a small B&B/hotel rather than one of the chains, who will be hyper about liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Best bet is just book somewhere in the name on the credit card. Check in as normal. They will ask for the card at check in. Just give them the card. They swipe it. You get it back.

On check out. Same thing.

It may vary.

Other option is to prepay for the room when booking. You may still need the card for checking.

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    don't know what hotels you stay in, but quite alot of them ask for id, doesnt matter what age you are, its for them to scan it incase you damage anything in the room.

That's why they take a swipe of your card. So they can charge the damage if any is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    Best bet is just book somewhere in the name on the credit card. Check in as normal. They will ask for the card at check in. Just give them the card. They swipe it. You get it back.

On check out. Same thing.

It may vary.

Other option is to prepay for the room when booking. You may still need the card for checking.

Lots of problems with this.

Will the parents be willing to give their kids their credit card & let them take it to Belfast with them? I mean give them the actual card itself, not just let them use it to book a room over the phone or online.

If they are not, the hotel probably won't let them check in without a credit card. Even if the room is prepaid, the hotel will usually still require a credit card at check in to protect themselves in case the guest runs up big bar bills or room services bills or whatever.

Even if the parents give the kids the card, the staff at reception may not accept it as they may think it is stolen, or being used fraudulently, as very few 17 year old look as if they are old enough to qualify for a credit card.

Best bet would be for the OP's parents to contact the hotel directly, explain the situation to them and ensure that the front desk staff know what is going on and are ok with the kids using the parents card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I myself have a bank account and a debit card, would this be suitable for checking in, or does it have to be a credit card?

That's fine. Do not mention your age and you won't have a problem. No reason to be asked for ID. They will swipe your card for any damage you may cause, drinks or food charged to the room etc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You may see a 'pre - authorisation' charge on your debit card. This is to cover the hotel for damages and will normally be returned in a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

I get asked for ID at nearly every hotel I stay at, they usually check it with the card I'm using and scan it, then hand it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

That's fine. Do not mention your age and you won't have a problem. No reason to be asked for ID. They will swipe your card for any damage you may cause, drinks or food charged to the room etc.

Some hotels ask you to fill in a registration card, that ask for your date of birth. Some, but not all do it. What is he supposed to do, lie on that? What if the staff look at that, refuse to believe his age & ask for ID?

Hotels have strict policies on under age guests for a reason. If the OP looks his age, front desk staff will call a halt to his checking in, no matter what piece of plastic he has on his person. It is part of their job after all.

Call me a worry wart, but I don't think the "off ye go, it'll be grand sure" approach is the correct one to take when it comes to a child booking accommodation in a strange city. What is he supposed to do, if he is refused at the front desk...sleep rough on the street?

I said it before and I'll say it again....the OP and his parents need to contact the hotel that he is planning on staying in. Find out in advance what their policies are on letting an underage person check in, as well as using someone elses credit cards and/or the OP's debit card. Different hotels will all have different policies. No one here has any way of knowing what the precise hotel will do on the day, or what their policy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Tangey99

He didn't say how much he had in his account. @ 17, he could well be a student with less in the account than the pre-authorisation amount, in which case the card will shoot out so quickly it might lodge in the front desk clerks stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Call me a worry wart, but I don't think the "off ye go, it'll be grand sure" approach is the correct one to take when it comes to a child booking accommodation in a strange city. What is he supposed to do, if he is refused at the front desk...sleep rough on the street?
    This is a pair of 17 year old lads going up to see a rock concert.
    Seriously, don't worry, they will be grand.
    And of they aren't grand, then all the better, they might get a little real world experience.

Worst comes to the worst there are buses from Belfast to Dublin at 1am, 3am and 5am.