Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

present ideas for 5 month old son

• 18-07-2014 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭

Myself and herself were wondering what would you suggest we get him? It's for his first Christmas and these are Santa presents so any ideas appreciated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Its July 16 :eek: Is he even born yet? You're obviously very excited, congratulations ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Boskowski wrote: »
    Its July 16 :eek: Is he even born yet? You're obviously very excited, congratulations ;)

Yeah but we need to start saving!! And 2 weeks (give or take)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Yeah but we need to start saving!!

You're grand. I don't think a five months old needs anything terribly expensive.
    2 weeks? I'd say excited doesn't quite describe it by the sound of you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

When I was a babby my mam used to be disgusted- all the things she bought me and I got more pleasure from playing with the box and wrapping paper :P

Don't freak out buying tonnes for the first Christmas OP, especially if he's only 5 months- it's when they're a little older that you can really spoil them :)

When I was a babby my mam used to be disgusted- all the things she bought me and I got more pleasure from playing with the box and wrapping paper 

Yeah sounds like babies :p
    Don't freak out buying tonnes for the first Christmas OP, especially if he's only 5 months- it's when they're a little older that you can really spoil them 

I have no idea what to get though xD I need to save for everyone else as well so kind of looking at a writing the list and picking bits up over the next few months :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

We will be having our babies first Christmas this year aswell. Have no intention of splashing out on anything. Going by when my nephew was a baby everyone else will be buying him gifts. He will have no idea about Santa so I'd put the money aside for future years when he starts asking for things. Until then enjoy the generosity of your family/friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭SarahLil

Congratulations first of all, I would keep the spending to minimum but of course you want the little guy to wake up to something on the big day, I would go down the route of toys from fisher price or early learning centre things he would benefit from, there all some good ones to choose from

I have another suggestion maybe not at 5 months though but my godson had the bag of building blocks at an early age and still had them at 8 he would use them to build garages for his cars etc, to this day he is 11 and they are in my mums every child that visits the house loves to play with them, I think they are 20 euro for a bag

Also if he hasn't got a teddy bear from build a bear yet,that would be nice for his first christmas the bear comes with a birth cert, I got one for my pals little guy the day he was born they both have the same birthday

SarahLil wrote: »
    Congratulations first of all, I would keep the spending to minimum but of course you want the little guy to wake up to something on the big day, I would go down the route of toys from fisher price or early learning centre things he would benefit from, there all some good ones to choose from

I have another suggestion maybe not at 5 months though but my godson had the bag of building blocks at an early age and still had them at 8 he would use them to build garages for his cars etc, to this day he is 11 and they are in my mums every child that visits the house loves to play with them, I think they are 20 euro for a bag

Also if he hasn't got a teddy bear from build a bear yet,that would be nice for his first christmas the bear comes with a birth cert, I got one for my pals little guy the day he was born they both have the same birthday

Thanks for that really helpful. I won't get the building blocks or those kind of things this year but definitely when he's older it's a great idea. Yeah lego and the likes are savage. :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

It will be my babies 1st christmas but I have 3 older ones too.
    A vtech walker or duplo or anything that you need for him eg a high chair.

Moonbeam wrote: »
    It will be my babies 1st christmas but I have 3 older ones too.
    A vtech walker or duplo or anything that you need for him eg a high chair.

Not gonna get a walker. I don't see the need for one myself.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Our son will be 9 months,i am buying him the complete collection Oscar Wilde's stories for children :)

never mind your harry Potters or your Grufflo's, this is the real deal

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

lol
    We got the complete Dr Seuss:)

My April baby is getting http://www.toysrus.com/buy/stroller-car-seat-toys/lamaze-my-friend-emily-colors/styles-vary-lc27026-2588003.

The vtech baby walker - http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/3479865.htm, the front comes off as a play centre too.

my eldest got this for her 1st christmas and loved it and we used to have to bring it everywhere with us -
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/3490916.htm

We also have one of these but an older version http://www.smythstoys.com/ie/en-ie/baby/c-810/playmats-gyms/p-3897/baby-einstein-discovering-music-activity-table/ and they love it. The 19 month old still loves it and plays with it as his big sisters did.

Other ideas are a cd player for my room,all my lot have one and they love listening to music going to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Did ye have the baby yet then!! Those loverly toys with the crinkle paper in them jes even I would want one of them, love them you can get toys and books of them... Smyths have them

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Milly33 wrote: »
    Did ye have the baby yet then!! Those loverly toys with the crinkle paper in them jes even I would want one of them, love them you can get toys and books of them... Smyths have them

Hey Milly33 the OP has closed their account so you be getting a reply on the baby! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Whoopsie sorry I should have spotted that, jes he didn't stay around too long the baby must have arrived :) thanks