Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "new" 2fm so far

• 18-07-2014 10:42pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Been about 6 months now since 2fm started it's changes, what does everyone think of how it's progressing?

For me:
    Positives:
    * Playlist: Their playlist seems to be expanding every day. Back a few months ago it was all the same songs from last year (Reload, Blurred Lines, Get Lucky, Thinking About You, Love Me Again) repeated, since then it's expanded a lot from what I can hear.
    * Evening shows: Louise McSharry playing new music (Zane Lowe esque show) and Chris and Ciara (late night show) are both brilliant additions to the show.
    * Nicky Byrne Show: Was skeptical about this at first but it seems to be working well. Jenny Greene was doing a good job on her own this week too

Negatives:
    * Breakfast and Drive: Breakfast show can't get any worse and drivetime show just doesn't have the right host. If they got a decent presenter who actually appeals to the target demographic it would make a much stronger schedule.
    * Weekend (esp. Friday shows): 2FM could do worse than looking at BBC Radio 1's schedule for weekend shows. Friday night should be dominated by dance music, instead there's a chart show and an alternative music show followed by dance music. Those two shows belong on Sunday in my opinion (chart shows on ILRs are on Sat/Sun and in the UK it's all on Sunday (I know that the UK chart comes out Sunday but the shows still belong there). A show like FM104's would be a much better fit for Friday nights. Dance music is very popular at present and the only real primetime show it has is Jenny Greene's show (most of 2fm's dance shows are more niche ones apart from W&W's show and Ferry Corsten's one)

Would like to hear other's opinions on the station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Mondo 088

I think it is a load of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

bring back Barry Lang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Nicky & Jenny is working very well IMO. I didn't expect that.

However I agree that both breakfast and drive are terrible.

Colm Hayes has clearly been fudged into the schedule, he sounds totally wrong in the slot, he's terminally boring and actually sounds like he doesn't want to be there himself. It's not a good sign when the fill in presenters sound a hell of a lot better than he does when he takes his frequent holidays.

Breakfast is just a horrible nasty show. Can't listen to it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

I only listen to Rick O'Shea now. Can't abide the breakfast show - mind you, I didn't listen when Hector did it, either. The drive time show has been destroyed. I don't have any feelings one way or another about Colm Hayes, but his style is definitely not right for that slot. I only occasionally listen at the weekends - Ruth & Paddy are ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

Breakfast show - complete and utter ****e

Tubridy - complete ****e

Nicky and Jenny - better than expected

Rick - same old but the god awful "entertainment updates" have to go. Even he feel uncomfortable trying to have small talk with whoever is doing it.

Colm - ah lads......ya dropped Will for this??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭Doodah7

marno21 wrote: »
    Chris and Ciara (late night show) are both brilliant additions to the show.

I'm sorry but you lost me at this...unlistenable trash I'm afraid...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

tallpaul wrote: »
    I'm sorry but you lost me at this...unlistenable trash I'm afraid...
    They do what they do and they do it well.

For a late night chatty/music show they do a good job of it, I'm not sure what else they could put on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

I think people were giving Jenny too much credit for the success of the Nicky Byrne show as it hasn't been half the show without him the last couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Negatives : Rampant nepotism
    Positives : It can be received in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Negatives : Rampant nepotism
    Positives : It can be received in Ireland

Are u sure that's a positive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

One positive thing the changes made by the person who's in charge of 2fm at the minute is the growing audience to RTE Gold. Long may it continue.

seems aidan leonard can break the rule of post 90s songs, when he is filling in for larry gogan. most of the songs he played over the last few weeks were from the 80s.
    larry plays mostly songs from mid - late 90s and early 00's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Took a long time for me to warm to Hector but he was a million times better than the breakfast republic tribe. Will Leahy is an awful loss on weekdays. Loved Colin Hayes in the mornings but new slot doesnt suit him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Another retooling?

Here's an idea: tell your DJs not to talk at all and just music.

Listening to inane chatter by people who are bad on the radio is why your station sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Mobile Dj

2012 & 2013 - "RTÉ 2fm - innovative programming, popular and alternative
    music, sport and entertainment."

2011 - "RTÉ 2fm - talk and entertainment, popular and alternative music for the
    under-45s"

Can't see why music is restricted as up til 2011, RTE stated age of ceiling 45. the new description does not list an age ceiling.

2fm is beginning to sound like a mash up of Iradio and spin,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭eiresandra

Mobile Dj wrote: »
    2fm is beginning to sound like a mash up of Iradio and spin,

I think iRadio and Spin have a much better handle and focus on music, imaging and relevant presenters for the young adult audience than 2FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

eiresandra wrote: »
    I think iRadio and Spin have a much better handle and focus on music, imaging and relevant presenters for the young adult audience than 2FM.

Where does that leave us so? The current boss of 2fm was the boss at iRadio until he left for 2fm, and still is part owner.

He also has a good few ex iRadio people working for him now at 2fm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Nicky Button and Colm "Man U" Hayes are unable to relate to anyone or anything from beyond the pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Mobile Dj

eiresandra wrote: »

Spot on.

So what's happening 2fm, not enough young people at decision making level.?

Website outdated and station facebook page boring content.

The one show I listen to the presenter points listeners directly to their personal facebook and twitter page to interact with the show. Not sure if this is the norm with all shows but to me presenters should only announce the 2fmofficial page for interaction to keep the traffic returning to a central social platform.

Spend more time listening to my own music nowadays so falling away from radio in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

2fm has improved, but Tubs is still a square peg in a round hole...put him back on Radio 1 and get rid of John Murray :)

And as most posters have already said, get Will Leahy back to drive time and show Colm Hayes the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭greengirl31

I've listened to 2FM since I was a kid with brief stints on some of the Dublin stations in my younger days but I've always gone back to them. I don't usually get to listen between 9 and 5 but outside that I would have the radio on at home and particularly in the car on the morning and evening commute.

I used to like Tubs when he was on the full Irish a few years ago ... but since then their morning shows were a bit lacking ... I thought Hector was going to be a disaster from what I'd heard of him and Tommy Tiernan on their weekend show but he wasn't nearly as bad as I was expecting ... He wasn't everyone's cup of tea I'll admit but compared to the Muppets they have on now he was excellent.

Speaking of the new Breakfast show - OH MY GOD !!!!!!!!!! It is shocking, truly shocking ... I flicked on the other morning to hear a discussion about pubes ... Seriously ??? Jen's Lady Bits and Keiths Cock ??? I'm not looking for anything high brow in the morning but something a little better than that juvenile drivel ... If a TY station had that sort of nonsense i'd understand but the national broadcaster - I'm glad my licence fee is being put to good use !!

During the day, while I do like Tubs, I think the slot he's in wrong for him - a move back to Radio 1 might be better for him. Nicky Byrne seems to be doing OK form the little I've heard but from what I've read himself and Jenny are doing well. I like Rick O'Shay but I don't hear that much of him these days so I can't comment.

Drive Time - Another disaster !! I'd sooner pour battery acid into my ears than listen to Colm Hayes !!! He has an over inflated ego and can be so condescending !!! I can't go on cause he makes my blood boil !!!

Weekends are fine - Lottie isn't great but maybe she'll get better. The Mid morning and lunchtime shows are grand and I like Ruth and Paddy and Will Leahy and I've always loved the Electric Disco.

So all in all, I think the New 2FM has gone down hill .... I know the recent JNLR figures wouldn't have captured a full period of the new schedule but i'll be interested to see how they fare over the coming months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

During the day, while I do like Tubs, I think the slot he's in wrong for him - a move back to Radio 1 might be better for him.

It's funny when you hear him reading the papers, giving his "1950s Catholic Ireland" view of things, in between the gossip news with Lottie Ryan and playing songs that you just know that he absolutely hates..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Cork_chick_94

The jnlr ratings have spoken and it has been a big flop. The rating cover the last 12 months so it covers the full year of 2fms new playlist policy which started in july 2013.

if the new 2fm are trying to bring younger audiences, why are they currently promoting concerts like billy idol, elton john and james taylor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Cork_chick_94

Have they dropped their new music policy already ? The will Leahy sunday show is now playing 3 80s songs @ 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭westmidlands

I have to say the new 2fm is growing on me, last few months I've started listening to it more and more. I think Breakfast Republic has improved a lot lately, I thought the Nicky Byrne and Jenny Greene show would be a disaster but I really enjoy it, Rick O'Shea is a laugh in the afternoon and the evening schedule is a massive improvement on what it was before the revamp. That's my opinion anyway. 2fm sounds a lot fresher than Today FM I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

I have to say the new 2fm is growing on me, last few months I've started listening to it more and more. I think Breakfast Republic has improved a lot lately, I thought the Nicky Byrne and Jenny Greene show would be a disaster but I really enjoy it, Rick O'Shea is a laugh in the afternoon and the evening schedule is a massive improvement on what it was before the revamp. That's my opinion anyway. 2fm sounds a lot fresher than Today FM I think.

So you honestly think Colm Hayes sounds fresher than Will Leahy in the evenings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭westmidlands

So you honestly think Colm Hayes sounds fresher than Will Leahy in the evenings?

By the evenings I meant more from 8pm after, maybe nights is a better description. At least in this time slot they have live shows now over the pre-recorded stuff they had previously. I do have to admit that the drivetime slot is where it doesnt work for me. I would prefer Will Leahy in that slot.