Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tailgating lorry with UK registration

• 18-07-2014 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭

Tailgating lorry on winding country road, 2m from rear bumper at 70km/h, 2 witnesses, clear photo of registration, blurry photo of ther driver.

But: UK registration plates. Any point reporting him to the gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

If a truck was obviously trying to get you to drive faster, then I wonder were you making progress on the road in question.

Not saying he was right to do it but I really feel bad for lorry drivers who I see out on back roads, being held up by idiots crawling at a snails pace, not like they can easily overtake.. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Carbon125

b_mac2 wrote: »
    If a truck was obviously trying to get you to drive faster, then I wonder were you making progress on the road in question.

Not saying he was right to do it but I really feel bad for lorry drivers who I see out on back roads, being held up by idiots crawling at a snails pace, not like they can easily overtake.. .

So you are you saying I am an idiot crawling at a snail's path? Post reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Considering trucks can have a stopping distance 2-3 times that of a car, they ought to be going a snails pace themselves on backroads where obstacles can literally come out of no where.

@OP Might as well report it. If you got details of the company, report it to them as well.

By the way... Our speed was limited by the vehicle in front. A mobile crane. And as I said: it was a winding country road. We did not think a head-on collision with an oncoming vehicle was a good alternative to being tailgated.

Interesting conclusions that some people jump to who do not know a story in full...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Carbon125 wrote: »
    Tailgating lorry on winding country road, 2m from rear bumper at 70km/h, 2 witnesses, clear photo of registration, blurry photo of ther driver.

But: UK registration plates. Any point reporting him to the gardai?

Save the time and money of the phone call or calling into the station. We have the only police force I know of who ignore foreign registered vehicles, most other countries actively pull foreign vehicles for the handy fines.

To be fair to the truck they can look at lot closer than they actually are in rear mirrors, but there are also dangerous drivers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

No point.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

By the way... Our speed was limited by the vehicle in front. A mobile crane. And as I said: it was a winding country road. We did not think a head-on collision with an oncoming vehicle was a good alternative to being tailgated.

Interesting conclusions that some people jump to who do not know a story in full...

Maybe tell the full story in the opening post then.

Anyway, no pont reporting. You won't get a medal for it and most likely the guard will ignore it.

kceire wrote: »
    Maybe tell the full story in the opening post then.

The opening post contains all information that is relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭seanaway

Del2005 wrote: »
    Save the time and money of the phone call or calling into the station. We have the only police force I know of who ignore foreign registered vehicles, most other countries actively pull foreign vehicles for the handy fines.

To be fair to the truck they can look at lot closer than they actually are in rear mirrors, but there are also dangerous drivers.
    Totally unfair comment.

I once had a uk reg overtake me on hatched lines near Waterford city. Stone chipped my windscreen.
    I called the Gardai and by the time I got to the city junction they'd pulled him over and asked me to file.

Travelling around a bit I will ALWAYS call Gardai when I see idiots - regardless of reg. The Guards are always courteous and ask for details.

many a time I do see them out looking for the offender and many time catching them so comments like this are unfair.

Call the Gardai immediately next time something happens and see what experience you have. No point in calling them four days later.
    What do you want them to do? Contact Interpol??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

seanaway wrote: »
    Titally unfair comment.

I once had a uk reg overtake me on hatched lines near Waterford city. Stone chipped my windscreen.
    I called the Gardai and by the time I got to the city junction they'd pulled him over and asked me to file.

Travelling around a bit I will ALWAYS call Gardai when I see idiots - regardless of reg. The Guards are always courteous and ask for details.

many a time I do see them out looking for the offender and many time catching them so comments like this are unfair.

Call the Gardai immediately next time something happens and see what experience you have. No point in calling them four days later.

Immediately they will do something if they are called. Several hours later your wasting your own time.

They hardly enforce the laws for Irish vehicles never mind forgien ones.

Totally unfair comment.

I have no idea what connections the gardai have to their counterparts in the UK. Hence the original post!

In an ideal world, the gardai would relate the incident to UK police who would then relieve the lorry driver of his licence.

Totally unfair comment.

I have no idea what connections the gardai have to their counterparts in the UK. Hence the original post!

In an ideal world, the gardai would relate the incident to UK police who would then relieve the lorry driver of his licence.

Oh good God!

The driver didn't shoot you did he/she?

Get a grip on reality. Police forces are faced with serious crime left and right.

Do you get out on the roads much these days???

Oh good God!

The driver didn't shoot you did he/she?

Get a grip on reality. Police forces are faced with serious crime left and right.

Do you get out on the roads much these days???

Fancy getting crushed between a mobile crane and a tailgating lorry?
    Maybe you are the one not out much on the roads these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

My gut instint says you most likely had plenty of overtaking opportunities but decided to mope behind the crane leaving it impossible for anyone else to overtake..

Truckermal wrote: »
    My gut instint says you most likely had plenty of overtaking opportunities but decided to mope behind the crane leaving it impossible for anyone else to overtake..

Gut instinct. I see. How many beers does it take to acquire one?

No I don't but for God's sake don't you think you're making a drama out of this?

Here's how you deal with this in future.

Slow down, slow down, slow down (meanwhile you get the reg, call the gardai, film etc...)

Make the driver realise you don't like being tailgated.
    Wait for Gardai to respond.

If they don't you have the footage.
    File a complaint IMMEDIATELY!

If they do - same.

If you had a crane in front of you then you were probably doing about 30kph./ Wouldn't take much to slow it don to 15kph. By then the driver behind would have got the message.

Different story if you were doing 120 on a motorway of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭sham58107

Not really where were you (what county)? was it UK or NI if it was near port no point if near border report to PSNI but no real crime committed,I have had plenty of people tailgate me a lot closed A jeep today a quick jab on the brakes usually stops it.

Truckermal wrote: »
    This may be possible Truckermal but it doesn't negate the irresponsible driving of the truck behind.
    In fairness to the OP distances should always be kept regardless of how frustrating it may be for some who know how to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

I was on your side up to here.

You want a man to lose his job because he frightened you??

Grow up and get over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Gut instinct. I see. How many beers does it take to acquire one?

No idea I don't drink beer, do you drive a small car??

TheFarrier wrote: »
    You want a man to lose his job because he frightened you??
    No: because he is not able to operate his vehicle in a responsible manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

OP with all due respect you seem to have a massive chip here - reporting posters because they asked a question (before you subsequently filled in more details as to the situation at the time), and sniping at people who disagree with you.

The other driver (as you describe it) is an ass but the time to do anything about it was at the time, not after coming on here and getting into a pissing contest with people who aren't telling you what you want to hear.

If you want to follow-up with the Gardai then do but you don't need our opinions for that. From personal experience though I wouldn't expect much interest from them - especially several hours after the fact.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

No it doesn't. It makes you look like someone who would rather turn around and film someone who wants to overtake you, than pull in and just let them off. There are way too many "I'll enforce the speed limit I agree with" road warriors about, mostly coupled with "I am entitled to be on the road and can drive any way I see fit!" and you are currently jumping up and down on your hat because you can't bring the truck to book.

Had you mentioned in the opening post that you where traveling behind another vehicle, then the truck driver would have looked like an impatient arse who would pointlessly tail you for no reason.
    Now, what potholed boreen where y'all traveling along?

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    OP with all due respect you seem to have a massive chip here - reporting posters because they asked a question (before you subsequently filled in more details as to the situation at the time), and sniping at people who disagree with you.

The other driver (as you describe it) is an ass but the time to do anything about it was at the time, not after coming on here and getting into a pissing contest with people who aren't telling you what you want to hear.

If you want to follow-up with the Gardai then do but you don't need our opinions for that. From personal experience though I wouldn't expect much interest from them - especially several hours after the fact.
    I reported poster b_mac2 for calling me "idiot", not because he asked a question. (He didn't ask a question).
    I thanked MidlandsM and Del2005 who answered my question short and to the point.

And that could have been it, thread closed.

I am not "getting into a pissing contest with people who aren't telling you what you want to hear". But I take issue with a few people here who have been attacking me with all kinds of IMAGINED scenarios of what I have or haven't been doing and IMAGINING all sorts of lovely reasons the lorry driver may have had to tailgate. "My gut instinct says..." etc. :rolleyes:

There is NO reason for a truck to tailgate. End of. It is absolutely irrelevant wether the car I was travelling in was doing 70 because of the vehicle in front or because of potholes in the road or because of trolls throwing shamrocks on the windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

If someone is behind you and causing you concern surely you would just pull over

I reported poster b_mac2 for calling me "idiot", not because he asked a question. (He didn't ask a question).
    I thanked MidlandsM and Del2005 who answered my question short and to the point.

And that could have been it, thread closed.

I am not "getting into a pissing contest with people who aren't telling you what you want to hear". But I take issue with a few people here who have been attacking me with all kinds of IMAGINED scenarios of what I have or haven't been doing and IMAGINING all sorts of lovely reasons the lorry driver may have had to tailgate. "My gut instinct says..." etc. :rolleyes:

There is NO reason for a truck to tailgate. End of. It is absolutely irrelevant wether the car I was travelling in was doing 70 because of the vehicle in front or because of potholes in the road or because of trolls throwing shamrocks on the windscreen.

Sorry to say but your whole post seems to indicate a driver who doesn't really understand the reality of driving in Ireland or anywhere there is any sort of traffic build up.

I do understand your frustration but I believe yo would be better off looking at your own confidence behind the wheel rather than blowing off at something you can't control.

Just my 2 cents' worth.

Drive safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Whereabouts did this occur OP?

For the record, any driver that intimidates another driver on the road be it by tailgating, tight overtakes, aggressive manoeuvres etc. is an ass hat. I'm certainly not a saint, but I would never put pressure on another driver as you don't know their abilities, their history or if they're simply a nervous driver. No one person owns the road here, we all have to share it. A little bit of patience goes a long, long way.

OP, if you're feeling threatened by a vehicle tailgating in future, turn off at a junction or move over if it's safe to do so and leave them on their way. Videoing them or having a passenger video them might only escalate things and could well lead to an accident and / or fatality. No life is worth losing over a moment of madness / rush of blood to the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

So you are you saying I am an idiot crawling at a snail's path? Post reported.

He didn't call you an idiot, but I will. You are an idiot.

Sorry to say but your whole post seems to indicate a driver who doesn't really understand the reality of driving in Ireland or anywhere there is any sort of traffic build up.

I do understand your frustration but I believe yo would be better off looking at your own confidence behind the wheel rather than blowing off at something you can't control.
    Where did I say that I was the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Funny thing is a car can drive behind a crane and choose not to overtake if they wish to.
    The guy in thevtruck, regardless of where he's from, should have the cop on to stay back and just drive.
    Stupid fools who behave like this find that they end up having to stop if something goes wrong.

People are too impatient . I mean they cant all be so important and in a justifable rush.
    The OP did the right thing in driving behind the crane. Whether it's worth reporting to the gardai is something i don't think is worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ah here.. how about you tell us the full story in one post, then we can comment on that and everyone will be clear on what actually happened as you see it.

First he was tailgating
    Then he was tailgating despite you being held up yourself by a slower vehicle
    Now you weren't even driving?

Take your anger out of it OP and read the thread objectively and ask yourself what you expect when you're not telling the full story from the start?

Bear in mind of course that if that driver posted here he might tell a completely different story about this car that wouldn't overtake a slow truck, kept hitting the brakes, and started taking pictures of him because he got a bit close as a result.

There's 2 sides to every story but you haven't even told us all of yours yet.

HERE ya Moron!

''So you are you saying I am an idiot crawling at a snail's path?'' Post reported.

Mods take note please of this op wasting other people's time with nonsense.

First he was tailgating
    He was indeed.
    Then he was tailgating despite you being held up yourself by a slower vehicle
    Yes, the truck was tailgating. Didn't I mention that already?
    Now you weren't even driving?
    Correct. I never said anywhere that I was driving. All your imagination... Oh and the truck, guess what, was tailgating. He didn't care who was sitting where in the car.

Kaiser, are you somehow construing that I am contradicting myself? Jaysus...:rolleyes:

Now: To those posters who came up with straightforward answers to my straightforward original posting: thank you.

To those posters who dream up reasons why tailgating might be ok in certain situations or who dream up scenarios where sure it must all be the victim's fault: keep on dreaming. But dream amongst yourselves. I am off into the weekend now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I am off into the weekend now.

Very slowly, with a truck up your ass I'd imagine :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Cool story.