Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watched a person hit my car.

• 18-07-2014 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭

I watched a person tip my parked and empty car today while trying to make a u turn.

I approached and told the driver I'd seen them bump my car. I turned to mine to find two scratches on the front passenger wing. They denied hitting my car. I said I wanted to collect details and they drove on. Thankfully my friends seen where they went and I followed on foot and got the details. I said nothing at this stage at all and then listened to them saying that I drove into them.

I took pictures of both cars and the damage on mine and walked away. The damage is small and hopefully won't be expensive to fix. It's a pearl effect metallic.

Let it go or follow up? I'm pissed off that they would do it and then drive off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I'd make her pay, she might be more careful the next time. Report her to the guards if she gets cheeky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Tazium wrote: »
    Let it go or follow up?

Similar experience and no I wouldn't let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭RootX

Was there any damage to their car, any paint transferred or similar?
    I wouldn't let it go either but if there's no evidence it was their car it may be hard to convince their insurance company. Any witnesses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

I'd follow it up on principle alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Tazium

RootX wrote: »
    Was there any damage to their car, any paint transferred or similar?
    I wouldn't let it go either but if there's no evidence it was their car it may be hard to convince their insurance company. Any witnesses?

My paint is on the bumper of the other car. I've take a picture of it in case it's rubbed off. I do have my friends who seen it happen too but they are my friends and not independent.

Thanks for the replies, I've gone ahead and phoned it in to their insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Should report it and say they left the scene of an accident

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

My paint is on the bumper of the other car. I've take a picture of it in case it's rubbed off. I do have my friends who seen it happen too but they are my friends and not independent.

Thanks for the replies, I've gone ahead and phoned it in to their insurance company.

Right thing to so. Let us all know how you get on.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

If they'd done the right thing, fair enough. But they lied to your face and drove off.

Give 'em hell, son. Do it for all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I wouldn't delay reporting it to the Gardai. By the sound of their reaction I wouldn't be at all surprised if they reported you to cover their backside so get in there first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Neilw wrote: »
    I'd make her pay, she might be more careful the next time. Report her to the guards if she gets cheeky.
    Nothing in the OP to indicate the gender of the driver...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Gets popcorn ;) This should be good.

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ZENER wrote: »

Ken

We nearly had a film made out of the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Purely for the fact that they were a dick about it, don't let it go. If they had any sense they would have settled things with you there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

and then listened to them saying that I drove into them.
    I would maybe have let it go until this point. If someone is trying to turn the tables on me like this I'd be all over them like a bad rash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭tonyka

Don't let them get away with it. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

anything to do with a car being banged brings out the mean and woefull in people.....they thought they got away with it until he followed them ,goodman op...

I won't be letting this go. Despite the damage being minor and, for another person probably completely insignificant I've only had the car less than three weeks. It has so far been treated like a new girlfriend, this is now the only blemish on an otherwise perfect exterior. Up to the point where the driver said I drove into them I was entirely passive, but at that point I had an idea how it was going to evolve, said not another word and took the details before walking away. My car was parked and empty. Really it's such a small amount of damage I'd not have noticed until tomorrow. (wash, wax & polish day). I'm annoyed but it'll be sorted. My friends called me this afternoon to say the other driver was back at the scene and taking photos.

My insurance company and the other parties are the same, which is interesting but as I'm claiming my stationery and empty car was hit by the other I'm kinda wondering how it will play out, especially with the other party completely denying the event occurred.

The amount of paint on the other cars bumper suggests it's not the first time that car has kissed another.

Settle in and get comfy, I'm off to the nominated garage on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

Any CCTV in the car park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

ZENER wrote: »

Ken

I don't think the two incidents are connected - the other one happened last week;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Should report it and say they left the scene of an accident

The OP described the damage as scratches to the front wing so it's possible the other car glanced the wing rather than hit it square on, in which case the other driver may not have been aware they hit anything. Further details from the OP should clarify.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

There's the problem with Ireland!
    If I just play thick and ignorant, try to laugh it off or try to bully my way out of it and then walk away, there are no consequences. So it's absolutely worth a try, because you can only gain from such a maneuver, never lose, the worst is you get caught and made to pay up.
    If you hit a car in any other country and try to get away, there will be absolute hell to pay if you're caught.
    Also in other countries, kids get told to take responsibility for their actions, here it's "if you smash something, RUN! Mammy doesn't want to get stuck with a big bill, worst that can happen, you get caught, then you just deny everything whilst walking away".

Make that bastard pay. People will only learn by pain and if they don't learn, at least they will always be in a lot of pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Photo the car, and the insurance disc, call the Gardai (?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Esel wrote: »
    Nothing in the OP to indicate the gender of the driver...

Crashing into a parked car perhaps?

yes there wrote: »
    Crashing into a parked car perhaps?
    Do you like posting in this forum?

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The OP described the damage as scratches to the front wing so it's possible the other car glanced the wing rather than hit it square on, in which case the other driver may not have been aware they hit anything. Further details from the OP should clarify.

Completely possible as far as I'm concerned. Other driver was in a tight position and was not moving fast enough to cause anything other than a scratch. It wasn't a head on hit, other driver had a full right turn lock on their steering and tipped mine at an angle.

mcgarrett wrote: »
    Any CCTV in the car park?

Unfortunately not. :(

Got a letter in today. Claim denied without prejudice.

So I'm thinking to reply in kind and asking you guys what to include. If any of you have been in similar and would like to share your experience that'd be great.

So got a letter in today. Claim denied without prejudice.

Can this be turned around now? Or am I continuing to waste my time. The more I think about it the more annoyed I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I watched a person tip my parked and empty car today while trying to make a u turn.

I approached and told the driver I'd seen them bump my car. I turned to mine to find two scratches on the front passenger wing. They denied hitting my car. I said I wanted to collect details and they drove on. Thankfully my friends seen where they went and I followed on foot and got the details. I said nothing at this stage at all and then listened to them saying that I drove into them.

I took pictures of both cars and the damage on mine and walked away. The damage is small and hopefully won't be expensive to fix. It's a pearl effect metallic.

Let it go or follow up? I'm pissed off that they would do it and then drive off.

This is a perjured statement, I wouldn't be letting it go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

The insurance company could pay your claim and then pay a claim against you to the other driver, ye both lose no claims bonus, watch them they are very sneaky and never on your side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

There's the problem with Ireland!
    If I just play thick and ignorant, try to laugh it off or try to bully my way out of it and then walk away, there are no consequences. So it's absolutely worth a try, because you can only gain from such a maneuver, never lose, the worst is you get caught and made to pay up.
    If you hit a car in any other country and try to get away, there will be absolute hell to pay if you're caught.
    Also in other countries, kids get told to take responsibility for their actions, here it's "if you smash something, RUN! Mammy doesn't want to get stuck with a big bill, worst that can happen, you get caught, then you just deny everything whilst walking away".

Make that bastard pay. People will only learn by pain and if they don't learn, at least they will always be in a lot of pain.

A neighbors kid on my street in The Hague broke a shop window across the road, himself and a few friends were messing and he fell into the window, I saw him out the Window of my place and he looked at the shop window for a few minutes and then walked off was only about 13 or 14 I think.

My first thought was "what a little bollocks"

Then he came back around 20 minutes later with a person I assume was his dad. The kid was upset and his dad was telling him that it was ok and accidents happen.

Talked to the shop owner the next day and he said that the dad has posted an Insurance Claim form in the door and note of apology with his details.

The dad had liability insurance that covered it anyway.

I got liability insurance after that .... handy in case I damage someone else's stuff (accidents happen)

But in general Ireland is very bad, a neighbor of my aunts ad a dog she just left running around on the street, the thing was vicious, attacked my aunts dog and caused a large amount of costs with the vet.

Her response went from:
    It wasn't my dog
    Your dog attacked first
    You should keep your dog indoors if its not able to defend itself
    The dog is defending my area

Rang the Gardai and got "That's a civil matter, maybe you should ring the dog warden"

Actually I can think of countless incidents were people were just able to say "f*ck you" in Ireland and walk off laughing saying things like "sue me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Can this be turned around now? Or am I continuing to waste my time. The more I think about it the more annoyed I get.

Keep pursuing it. In this instance they will try to play hardball initially, but if you have photo's and a consistent account of the incident they won't be able to shy away too easily. I've been through similar (had the car 48hours when it happened).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Kelly06

op, insist they investigate. exactly the same thing happened to me. I saw the fella reverse into it from about 30 feet away. Only had a decent car few weeks after two years of driving a crappy car. He was nice as pie at the scene, no problem to fix the damage etc. and then changed his tune two days later that I crashed into the back of his car. there was no way I was letting him away with it after that! I kept at his insurance company and eventually got paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

From the other Insurer I assume ?

You've a few options.

Well two really.

Let this go.

or

If you're COMP covered with your own Insurer then ask them to repair the damage on your policy and recover from the liable party.

Issue here is that you've got about as much proof of this happening as I do of Mr Blobby sitting on the Grassy Naul.

One thing that I would be insistent on however is that the other Insurer actually fully investigate this matter and by doing that inspect both vehicles with an independent engineer to confirm occurrence. However it's highly likely the other side has disposed of any evidence at this stage.

If only you had an Independent witness that you didn't know that saw the WHOLE thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

MugMugs wrote: »
    From the other Insurer I assume ?

You've a few options.

Well two really.

Let this go.

or

If you're COMP covered with your own Insurer then ask them to repair the damage on your policy and recover from the liable party.

Issue here is that you've got about as much proof of this happening as I do of Mr Blobby sitting on the Grassy Naul.

One thing that I would be insistent on however is that the other Insurer actually fully investigate this matter and by doing that inspect both vehicles with an independent engineer to confirm occurrence. However it's highly likely the other side has disposed of any evidence at this stage.

If only you had an Independent witness that you didn't know that saw the WHOLE thing :)

The OP and the person who caused the accident have the same insurer. But the point still pretty much stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

goz83 wrote: »
    The OP and the person who caused the accident have the same insurer. But the point still pretty much stands.

I read that and totally forgot about it.

Op, ask your insurer what measures they've taken to fully investigate. Actually, complain. I'd be applying a bit of pressure here.

Just a small update on this situation. I replied to the claim denied letter, letting them know I wasn't happy and I wanted all the details for the appeals procedure. I explained in my reply what occurred and that I had evidence by way of photos from the scene. I went on how the other person claimed I hit them and then left the scene.

In response to this I had a call from the insurer last week and an independent investigator just yesterday. They are coming to see me at my place of work to examine the damage and see the pictures. It's not over yet anyway and I'm not just going to let it go. A person that can claim I hit them when I wasn't even in the car should lose their no claims and then some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Good luck with it. I think I speak for everyone when I say we're pulling for you.

Lying bitch/bastard should be nailed to the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Just a small update on this situation. I replied to the claim denied letter, letting them know I wasn't happy and I wanted all the details for the appeals procedure. I explained in my reply what occurred and that I had evidence by way of photos from the scene. I went on how the other person claimed I hit them and then left the scene.

In response to this I had a call from the insurer last week and an independent investigator just yesterday. They are coming to see me at my place of work to examine the damage and see the pictures. It's not over yet anyway and I'm not just going to let it go. A person that can claim I hit them when I wasn't even in the car should lose their no claims and then some.

Well done fair play to you. Keep us posted please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Well done and I know your head must be melted but keep it going. The neck of some people would really shock you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Stick at it OP. The neck of some people is unreal. This woman I posted before still hasn't admitted hitting the car in the video and still hasn't apologised to the driver (two months now). Also refusing all quotations so far for repairs from what I'm told. Gardaí say because it wasn't reported at the time, they can't do anything now. Laughable.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsmX1BxJc0I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Did you ever report it to the gardai? This happy camper did leave the scene of an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭rampantbunny

I know the thread's about 2 years old but feck it..no ending ...the suspense was killing me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭howardmarks

I know the thread's about 2 years old but feck it..no ending ...the suspense was killing me :rolleyes:

So you thought you'd bump it so others could feel the same. Thanks

Now you will have to live with the uncertainty.
    Unless Tazium PMs a mod with an update in which case it's fine to open again.

Hint, you can also PM OP directly