Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clannish families.

• 16-07-2014 5:38pm
    Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭

Anyone know families who keep completley to themselves and associate mostly with their immediete family?Ignoring travellers as they're in a whole catagory altogether you often get families who don't talk to their neighbours or "outsiders".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Fritzels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Politicians….

End of thread…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Can't say I'm familiar with the phenomenon, but it wouldn't bother me if someone chose to keep a tight social group, whether it consists of 'just' family or whatever... I don't really see how it effects anyone else really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Hillbillies.....I mean people from Dundalk....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

The O'Reilly's at the end of the road. Bunch of weirdos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Often it's scumbag families from regeneration areas who move to a new town and whose extended family then follow on after them. In my town 1 family alone has 4 seperate houses, all getting Rent allowance and all pretty much run out of where they originally lived. Not saying for a minute that all people in regeneration areas are bad people, they aren't. Quiet often the scumbag families are inter-married with traveller families for some reason. None of the people receiving Rent allowance work, I doubt they ever have and they probably never will get off their arses.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Often it's scumbag families from regeneration areas who move to a new town and whose extended family then follow on after them. In my town 1 family alone has 4 seperate houses, all getting Rent allowance and all pretty much run out of where they originally lived. Not saying for a minute that all people in regeneration areas are bad people, they aren't. Quiet often the scumbag families are inter-married with traveller families for some reason.

Well thats an extreme example.My girlfriends fathers family are a bit strange in that he had a lot of siblings who when they married and had children the various branches of the families had very little to do with each other.She has cousins who have never spoken to her and live very near.Its all a bit odd,but none of them are trouble makers or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

pulls out banjo

baba bing bing-bing bing-bing

bing

bing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

pulls out banjo

bing

bing

Put that yoke away and get a yuke. Easier to strum. You're obviously a novice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

You talkin' about fences? No offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

I definitly think these types are lacking in certain characteristics that make them compatable as friends. I've felt that those who hang around with their family are less trustworthy and likely to decieve.

Isn't there a saying in the bible that goes something like this ''A friend at home is better than a brother far away''.
    It kinda means the opposite of blood being thicker than water. (Which is true in my opinion.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Well thats an extreme example.My girlfriends fathers family are a bit strange in that he had a lot of siblings who when they married and had children the various branches of the families had very little to do with each other.She has cousins who have never spoken to her and live very near.Its all a bit odd,but none of them are trouble makers or anything like that.

It may sound extreme but there's a lot of it in this country. The family I described is just one example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭sleepytrees

Yeah.. all of Jehovah Witnesses

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Used to work with a guy who whenever there was a work night out used to bring along a load of his brothers and cousins,theyd take up a whole table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Devotees of the bould Maharishi

Our next door neighbours are pretty clannish,been living next door to them for over a year.Couple in their early 50s and teenage son plus another son in early 20s who calls to them a lot.The mother has never spoken to us once even though we'd run into her quite a bit.The rest will grunt some form of greeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

dee_mc wrote: »
    Can't say I'm familiar with the phenomenon, but it wouldn't bother me if someone chose to keep a tight social group, whether it consists of 'just' family or whatever... I don't really see how it effects anyone else really?
    Yeh, there's nothing wrong with families keeping to themselves, however families who are completely closed-off, unapproachable oddballs are whom the OP is talking about I think.
    It's nice to have neighbours you can approach if you need to - and such neighbours don't necessarily have to be really gregarious. The couple across the landing from me are extremely private and quiet - can't picture them having any parties any time soon, but they'd always oblige with the auld bottle opener or drop of milk and always say hello. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

The Jolies.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Magaggie wrote: »
    Yeh, there's nothing wrong with families keeping to themselves, however families who are completely closed-off, unapproachable oddballs are whom the OP is talking about I think.
    It's nice to have neighbours you can approach if you need to - and such neighbours don't necessarily have to be really gregarious. The couple across the landing from me are extremely private and quiet - can't picture them having any parties any time soon, but they'd always oblige with the auld bottle opener or drop of milk and always say hello. :)

That pretty much hits the nail on the head,the thing about my girlfriends fathers family is that they've never had any kind of falling out or anything but they just seem to choose to have nothing at all to anyone outside of their own branch.She says she regulerly meets cousins ,aunts etc who know well who she is but would never bother to say as much a shello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Bit odd how both the landed gentry and the lowest orders of society are all endogenous equine obsessed halfwits yet the folk in between are neither.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I value family loyalty highly and admire families that stick together. We don't, we're always at one anothers throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭forgotten password

pulls out banjo

bing

bing

bada dum dum dum dum dum dum dum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Nope.

I am close with my family and extended family but no we don't keep to ourselves or anything. I don't know anyone like that.

I know with large families if the kids are close together in age it may seem that way.

I am social and close with my family but not clannish at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

God yeah. My ex and her sister thought the sun, moon and stars shone from each other's holes. Mind yer eyes lads.

I remember the sister getting sacked from her job for smoking weed out the back of the shop. Gf said she'd had a toothache and was smoking it to relieve the pain. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭miss tickle

shouldn't it be,

bada, dum, dum, dum, dum, dum, dum, RUN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Feckin hell there is this one family down the street from my parents.

Completly isolated from everyone outside of the family. Its insane!

There is 7 of them. One (the exception) moved to the States 30 years ago. Been back twice since. The other 6 kids (youngest is in her early/mid 30's) all live at home and have never lived elsewhere.

None of them drive, socialize do anything outside of the house. 2 out the 6 work but sit in seperate area's of the bus to work and dont walk to or from the bus together even though they get the same buses 5 days a week.

The other 4 just sit on there holes watching tv ALL DAY LONG 24/7.

I'd like to take this opertunity to point out that I'm not stalking this family but my mam talks to their mother on occasions.

Its such a strange situation. I'd be worried what'll happen in that house when the mother dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Anyone know families who keep completley to themselves and associate mostly with their immediete family?Ignoring travellers as they're in a whole catagory altogether you often get families who don't talk to their neighbours or "outsiders".
    I'd explain why some families do this, but my family doesn't converse with strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

I know one family that over time have taken over most of a certain part of a local authority estate.
    Nothing actually untoward but if you live down that way you would be quite isolated.and everybody is related.

I heard it's not unheard of in other parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Feckin hell there is this one family down the street from my parents.

Completly isolated from everyone outside of the family. Its insane!

There is 7 of them. One (the exception) moved to the States 30 years ago. Been back twice since. The other 6 kids (youngest is in her early/mid 30's) all live at home and have never lived elsewhere.

None of them drive, socialize do anything outside of the house. 2 out the 6 work but sit in seperate area's of the bus to work and dont walk to or from the bus together even though they get the same buses 5 days a week.

The other 4 just sit on there holes watching tv ALL DAY LONG 24/7.

I'd like to take this opertunity to point out that I'm not stalking this family but my mam talks to their mother on occasions.

Its such a strange situation. I'd be worried what'll happen in that house when the mother dies.

You live near the Royle family?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

'Clannish families', OP? Are you sure you don't mean 'familial clans'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I'd consider my sisters to be my best friends. My mother and her sisters are the same.

I do have other friends and a job and a life though. But I could imagine that if we all lived in the same place instead of being scattered around various places, we'd be very clannish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

God forbid you'd prefer the company of your family to strangers who seem to care a bit too much what you are doing with your time.

This thread is one long half opening of the veiled curtains and tutting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Augmerson wrote: »
    This thread is one long half opening of the veiled curtains and tutting.
    peeping throug the veiled curtains and shuttered blinds. Juicy Thread so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A lot of them like them French-fried p'taters, mmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I know a family down the road from me who I'd say are a bit clannish. They're very friendly, if a little weird and closed off. The mother's quite attractive, but spends a lot of time at home and wears black. I think she might have depression problems. Her husband's got a bit of an accent, I think he's Spanish but his English is perfect. Their son's a bit fat but there's nothing too off about him. Their daughter's the ultimate hipster, though. Loves wearing old Victorian clothes and dyes her hair black. Saw her in the garden once with a toy guillotine marching her doll towards it. Weird kid. The grandmother also lives with them and looks like a bit of a witch, but I'm sure she's lovely. Your man's brother visits sometimes as well, and kind of creeps me out. Always wears long coats and has an inane grin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

OneArt wrote: »
    I know a family down the road from me who I'd say are a bit clannish. They're very friendly, if a little weird and closed off. The mother's quite attractive, but spends a lot of time at home and wears black. I think she might have depression problems. Her husband's got a bit of an accent, I think he's Spanish but his English is perfect. Their son's a bit fat but there's nothing too off about him. Their daughter's the ultimate hipster, though. Loves wearing old Victorian clothes and dyes her hair black. Saw her in the garden once with a toy guillotine marching her doll towards it. Weird kid. The grandmother also lives with them and looks like a bit of a witch, but I'm sure she's lovely. Your man's brother visits sometimes as well, and kind of creeps me out. Always wears long coats and has an inane grin.

Are you living next to the Addams Family??? :D

I don't understand why the OP is bothered that his girlfriend's family aren't living in each others pockets. Who cares? I have no idea what half my cousins children's names are or where they work and I don't see them from one end of the year to the other, just because we're related doesn't mean we have to be close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Hillbillies.....I mean people from Dundalk....

And where might you hail from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

pulls out banjo

bing

bing

Leave me the fcuk out of this. I'm an extremely sociable neighbour. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

dd972 wrote: »
    Bit odd how both the landed gentry and the lowest orders of society are all endogenous equine obsessed halfwits yet the folk in between are neither.

In terms of equine obsessed, this is extremely untrue....

In terms of the OP, our family are a bit like this, but it's half a mile to our nearest neighbour. We'd speak to the neighbours if we met them on the street but wouldn't go visiting and don't really have any interest in gossip. Which is why we mostly keep to ourselves. We have the type of community that wants to know everything about everyone, and we couldn't care less who these people's mothers are, or what there fathers do as a living etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The family that mates together, mutates together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

badda bing bing bing bing bong bing bing bing bang bush....

Aww, broke a string.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

logik wrote: »
    And where might you hail from?

Oh I'm sorry, did I step on your 11 toes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Leave me the fcuk out of this. I'm an extremely sociable neighbour. :(

Cool. Can I borrow a cup of sugar, a box of teabags, a ball of string, a lava lamp, a dehumidifier, a left handed can opener, a toilet brush, a letter opener in the shape of a dragon, a towel and some lynx Africa please?

If you say no to any of these things you are a terrible neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

pulls out banjo

bing

bing

I'LL TAKE YOU RIGHT INTO THE DANGERZONE

Crackin song that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Archeron wrote: »
    Cool. Can I borrow a cup of sugar, a box of teabags, a ball of string, a lava lamp, a dehumidifier, a left handed can opener, a toilet brush, a letter opener in the shape of a dragon, a towel and some lynx Africa please?

If you say no to any of these things you are a terrible neighbour.

Done.

Except for the lynx Africa.

This man has class.

Hmmmmm.Some of these families are a little strange