Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skeletal remains found amid Luas works outside Trinity

• 16-07-2014 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭

Human skeletal remains have been found during digging works outside the front gates of Trinity College Dublin today.
    Two gardaí and a number of workers were standing around the deep hole as diggers and trucks stopped work on the site on College Street, at top of College Green.
    Gráinne Mackin, director of communications for the Luas cross-city project, said the remains were found about 1.5 metres down a trench at about noon today.
    “Just by appearance the remains look to be historic - we could be talking medieval times,” she said, adding work had stopped in the area in front of Trinity to allow for archeological experts to finish unearthing them.
    “It could take a number of days. The work has to be done carefully and sensitively,” she said.
    Restrictions in College Green have been in place to facilitate the diversion of underground pipes ahead of the laying of tracks for the Luas cross-city works.
    The tracks will link the existing Red and Green Luas lines through Dublin city centre.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/skeletal-remains-found-amid-luas-works-outside-trinity-1.1868225

Interesting eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Neh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

There's the bones of a story in there, needs to be fleshed out a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

How did the Times get the inside skinny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

A second Viking settlement one might wonder? It isn't a million miles away from Wood Quay so I wouldn't be surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The Archaeology students and facility will be delighted- right on their doorstep.

Hopefully wont hold up the works for too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

They found (obviously ancient) skeletal remains at Andrews St. post office during roadworks about 10 years ago. It didn't make the papers. The foreman said "bin them". Work continued. People needed paying. This happened. It isn't online. It was over in a matter of 30 minutes.
    You dig more than 10 - 15 ft down in that area, you will find things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Some dead ****.

Toss the bones in a skip and get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

P_1 wrote: »
    A second Viking settlement one might wonder? It isn't a million miles away from Wood Quay so I wouldn't be surprised

Lots of dead people in medieval Dublin. Lots of plagues, wars and rebellion going on. Either that it was a missing medieval student after a particularly rough ragweek ....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

endacl wrote: »
    How did the Times get the inside skinny?

Reporter probably had spare time whilst rushing to Avoca (Suffolk St) for daily fix of Moccachino

Some dead ****.

Ah, sure what use have we, to learn anything from these remains?

Maybe even give the poor bastards a proper burial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Probably a publicity stunt like this.

Lisa_the_Skeptic.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Some dead ****.

Great stuff there mickey. That's the kind of attitude that powers human progress.

Nodin wrote: »
    Great stuff there mickey. That's the kind of attitude that powers human progress.

And makes this wee country the envy of other other nations ;)

Oooooh, a dead guy. What can we possibly learn from him/her? We could learn how to be a skeleton!

What could we learn? Quite a lot really ...

I think you will find that it's referred to as bioarchaeology

See

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bioarchaeology

gozunda wrote: »
    And makes this wee country the envy of other other nations ;)

O yeah.

"Wheres the medieval....?"

"Got rid of it and put up a roller disco in the 70's, then changed it to car park after the fad died out, then put up 60 non-fire proofed apartments with cardboard for walls. We're a 21st century country ye know"

So what possible use could some dead chaps bones have to our modern society? I'm talking about actual use, not notional nonsense about heritage.

We could literally flush these bones down the jax and it would be as relevant.

O yeah.

"Wheres the medieval....?"

"Got rid of it and put up a roller disco in the 70's, then changed it to car park after the fad died out, then put up 60 non-fire proofed apartments with cardboard for walls. We're a 21st century country ye know"

I'd never have guessed tbh - I reckon the country is still in the dark ages :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

They found (obviously ancient) skeletal remains at Andrews St. post office during roadworks about 10 years ago. It didn't make the papers. The foreman said "bin them". Work continued. People needed paying. This happened. It isn't online. It was over in a matter of 30 minutes.
    I saw something very similar happen on a building site in Swords years ago.
    The builder was converting an old vicarage into apartments, when a load of skeletons were found buried under the floor, the Gardai were called, and eventually an archaeologist spent days carefully excavating the bodies. It turned out to be a mass grave from the great famine I think.
    When the next load of skeletons were found they were unceremoniously bundled into black bags and "reburied" in the skip!

So what possible use could some dead chaps bones have to our modern society? I'm talking about actual use, not notional nonsense about heritage.

What actual use could we have for historical remains?

They gives a better understanding of the time they came from and help us gain more knowledge about the past of our country.

Flushing them down the jax would not be relevant.

Well let me see bio archeology covers research into human diseases, genetics, archaeology, population, diet etc etc

Yeah your right not much there at all ....

Gas. IRL that's the kind of thing I come out with to satirise a certain mentality all too prevalent in the country.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    What actual use could we have for historical remains?

They gives a better understanding of the time they came from and help us gain more knowledge about the past of our country.

Flushing them down the jax would not be relevant.

Ooooh, the past. You mean the thing that is utterly irrelevant?

Let's put a bunch of stock in that!

gozunda wrote: »
    Well let me see bio archeology covers research into hunan diseases, genetics, archaeology, population, diet etc etc

Yeah your right not much there at all ....

Shush now, its like art and heritage and culture - useless cack. Shoppin centres is whats needed, and feck all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I'm gonna state the obvious here at the risk of looking foolish but, you're winding us up aren't you?!

Ah, your having a laugh here.

I'll leave you to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Now now Micky.

If we flushed all of "the past" down the loo, what would we overcharge Americans to see.

I for one would love to have some stock on the Book of Kells for example.

Find me enough skeletons outside trinners and I'm sure I can find way to sell that too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

What a stroke of luck that the foreman also happened to be a forensic anthropologist! What if his expert opinion was wrong though, and the bones were more recent?

I'm gonna state the obvious here at the risk of looking foolish but, you're winding us up aren't you?!

No, he's not. He's been consistently like that in any similar thread I've ever seen him in. There are others of a similar mindset, in fairness, but he's pre-eminent amongst them.

I remember works on a road near me being held up for over a month because when they dug down they found an old road and apparently had to excavate and expect it. Even though it was already well-catalogued and understood and provided a link between 2 old settlements, one of which the road in question is actually named after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

They should dig deeper, find oil and get the country back on track.