Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pre-season?

• 15-07-2014 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭

So lads(and ladies!)

That time of that year again, how are ye fixed for it? when are ye back, and are ye doing any cool or new or taking any novel approaches to it?

I will be late back as I am moving cities, and looking for a new club. Have an idea, but just have to go down and see what the club is like before I put pen to paper and officially sign,
    I have been doing lots of cycling,tag, recently taking up crossfit, and hoping to start some strength training soon. Although I should have been doing the strength training all summer.

Did a set of 150's last week after crossfit - scored 645. The best I have ever done. Not great but alright for my position. Prop.

So I am itching to get back out on the paddock. Have myself a lovely new comfortable pair of Asics hard ground boots, and getting a new gumshield moulded on Thursday, and the fittest and lightest (down 3 stone on last preseason) I have been in years - curious to see how I go compared to previous seasons.

So how is your preseason going or your thoughts/fears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I'm looking at the silver lining here as I fractured my kneecap towards the end of the season, but the silver lining is that I am far fitter than I was last pre-season due to all the physio. I'm only back running now, so tip/tag, loads of cycling and starting a strength conditioning course for 6 weeks. I'm hoping to add a bit of bulk and cut down the BF as I want to try and play a bit of centre this season. Well, to be honest, I just want to play and get off the bench. :D

Last year it was all about the burgers... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

Best of luck with that .ak. Sometimes injuries help focus you so much.
    And if you were out of the game for a bit longer than others you will be chomping at the bit to get back.
    I don't care what level I play as long as I get a load of gametime!

1's,2's, or 3's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Started crossfit 3 weeks ago, nearly puked after 10 minutes, been stepping up the HIIT stuff too rather than distance running, strength is never really an issue as even during the season I'm usually doing weights 4 days a week. Starting with a new club though, means I need to be fitter than last season, so will keep stepping it up over the next month.

I'm also doing Starting Strength 5x5. For anyone who wants to get into lifting and just get the basics right I can't recommend it enough.

I'm also thinking of doing this during August. I've been looking for an all round strength program that I can use with the 5x5. Unfortunately I can't see what it actually contains - by the videos it looks like a lot of interval training mixed with strength training. The fact it's particularly geared towards rugby seems interesting too - although I'm fairly sure £25 is pretty steep for what is essentially a list of work out sheets you can get from bodybuilding.com

Still, the guy seems quite genuine, don't mind giving him a few quid if it helps a gym n00b like myself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

.ak wrote: »
    I'm also doing Starting Strength 5x5. For anyone who wants to get into lifting and just get the basics right I can't recommend it enough.

I'm also thinking of doing this during August. I've been looking for an all round strength program that I can use with the 5x5. Unfortunately I can't see what it actually contains - by the videos it looks like a lot of interval training mixed with strength training. The fact it's particularly geared towards rugby seems interesting too - although I'm fairly sure £25 is pretty steep for what is essentially a list of work out sheets you can get from bodybuilding.com

Still, the guy seems quite genuine, don't mind giving him a few quid if it helps a gym n00b like myself out.

truthfully I think you would be better putting your €30 into chicken and nuts. I doubt it's focus on Rugby goes past anything more then trying to maintain or even add a bit of muscle while reducing bodyfat.

So just eat big when you train and don't eat big when you don't train. Starting strength in the long term would probably be a better use of your time. Oh and lots of squats and milk.

oh and go play some tag to help with the fitness

Anyway you're a winger, it doesn't take that much strength to stand there, rubbing your hands together to stay warm.

Yeah, that's basically what I've been doing over the past year...

The guy that did the course was interviewed a year later. He said it helped him around the park as well, so not just a bodyfat crushing program. A lot of it worked on explosiveness. He's now converted to the backrow for his club.

TBH I think for people like myself who have a very limited knowledge on how to build your own training program things like this are good. I did P90X a couple of years back and it really turned me from couch potato into someone with a decent level of fitness. These sort of things definitely help guide people I think.

The reality is I have no problem bulking at all. ;D

stephen_n wrote: »
    Anyway you're a winger, it doesn't take that much strength to stand there, rubbing your hands together to stay warm.

I calculated if I bulk up enough I will have to rub my hands 37% less. Those kind of numbers are hard to argue with.

I have done the 5X5 before. Very good basic program. But for rugby if you could get a program that includes a few Olympic lifts to get the power going it would probably be a tad better.

Any idea when your clubs will be back out on the pitch?

I think no matter how hard you train and prepare pre season will always be tough, as will your first few games. The best way to get rugby fit is to play rugby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,876 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I want to try and play a bit of centre this season.

Is that you Jared?

I have done the 5X5 before. Very good basic program. But for rugby if you could get a program that includes a few Olympic lifts to get the power going it would probably be a tad better.

Any idea when your clubs will be back out on the pitch?

I think no matter how hard you train and prepare pre season will always be tough, as will your first few games. The best way to get rugby fit is to play rugby!

Last season we (Clontarf) started training in August, and had a couple of friendlies in late august/early september.

Here is a good rugby specific program I have for 3 weeks starting off if anyone wants it. I did it a few years ago. It was given to us by a guy who our club brought to give a rugby specific program. Cleans, and single leg squats all key to rugby.
    Can't find weeks 3-6.

I may start this tomorrow evening myself actually.

.ak, seen as your from Clontarf you might be able to answer me this, whats the best gym in the area? The only one I can see is Westwood, is that any good for free weights, or is it too busy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Pre Season so much easier when you're not playing anymore.. pre season for me prepping for reffing is just mix of 5k run races, mix of speed work with local tri club and playing about half an hour to 40 minutes a week of tag rugby in the local club

Will have fitness tests etc with referees at end of august but nothing too difficult..

.ak, seen as your from Clontarf you might be able to answer me this, whats the best gym in the area? The only one I can see is Westwood, is that any good for free weights, or is it too busy?

I actually use FlyeFit myself, decent amount of free weights and no frills. I live in town so any direction is decent. I actually think the club has a decent free weight setup but I'm actually never out that direction.

My cousin works in Westwood and he's a total gym bunny, he says it's very good and he's a personal trainer, so I would say it is good and does have a decent weights section, but it's pricey afaik.

There's also The Edge, but I have no idea what that's like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

What do ye think should be done by me for pre-season.

I'm 5'11''. 19. Quick enough but not fast if you get me. Come from GAA so kicking is a strong point. Good at off-loads. I'm stocky but not fat and get fit easy and put muscle on easy but never been dedicated enough to keep it going.

I played centre for club but it's a new and small club so number filling and giving lads a game etc. I'd imagine I'd be decent in the centre or outhalf position so how do I train for the next few weeks/months to improve for these positions?

I'm used to stupid replies on boards and hoping the rugby side of ye comes out and not the boards one! Thanks.

9bred4 wrote: »

I'm 5'11''. 19. Quick enough but not fast if you get me. Come from GAA so kicking is a strong point. Good at off-loads. I'm stocky but not fat and get fit easy and put muscle on easy but never been dedicated enough to keep it going.

I played centre for club but it's a new and small club so number filling and giving lads a game etc. I'd imagine I'd be decent in the centre or outhalf position so how do I train for the next few weeks/months to improve for these positions?

I'm used to stupid replies on boards and hoping the rugby side of ye comes out and not the boards one! Thanks.
    What level have you been playing and what level do you hope/think you will play this season coming? Will you be playing 20s or j1/2/3/4?
    Work on 20/40/60s sprints. Sounds like you have to motivate yourself more. Just get out training and you'll be fine. If you want to play 10/12 make sure your passing is top notch

Try get into a gym, and bulk up, do a lot of core work. No point in having bulk if they are not connected. if you want to do some fitness, do sprints, shuttles, wrestling with your mates etc. If you playing GAA you should be in a great position to start the season in good shape.

What level have you been playing and what level do you hope/think you will play this season coming? Will you be playing 20s or j1/2/3/4?
    Work on 20/40/60s sprints. Sounds like you have to motivate yourself more. Just get out training and you'll be fine. If you want to play 10/12 make sure your passing is top notch

Low level. J2. I've never really had motivation because I never had a goal but now I want to improve at rugby and maybe even get noticed!

Try get into a gym, and bulk up, do a lot of core work. No point in having bulk if they are not connected. if you want to do some fitness, do sprints, shuttles, wrestling with your mates etc. If you playing GAA you should be in a great position to start the season in good shape.

Gave up the GAA this year to focus on rugby so no fitness on that front ha. Can you bulk and do sprints at the same time?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

If you want to be an outhalf practice passing and kicking.

If you want to be a centre practice passing, tackling, kicking.

You can be as fast/fit/strong as a pro player but if you cant use the ball and tackle you'll still not get picked.

Low level. J2. I've never really had motivation because I never had a goal but now I want to improve at rugby and maybe even get noticed!

for low level J2 it shouldn't be too tough. As Cat from Hue said, passing and kicking are easy to work on.

Just keep working on your pass... been able to throw a laser sharp accurate fast long pass off both sides will be key to playing outhalf.
    Get your fitness up, and keep working on your skills, you can never do enough skills.

To be honest if you want to get noticed, you should be down training with a AIL senior side, whether it be their seconds, or a J1a team (at a stretch, if you really really lit up at J1A standard, a senior club may take a punt through the season as a dual status player). I really doubt anyone would take a J2 player serious as a prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭S12b

Guys, unless ye are particularly knowledgeable with training and nutrition, I would warn against trying to "bulk up". Far too many guys attempt this without the required knowledge.

Unless you are blessed with fantastic genetics, (i.e you walk around with a 6 pack despite not watching what you eat) building muscle naturally is a very slow process. For a normal guy, building 1kg muscle per month would be very solid progress. Far too many guys claim to add 1kg muscle per week but in reality, 80% of the weight they are gaining is fat. In short, most guys who "bulk" get a bit stronger, build a little muscle but gain a lot of fat and this probably won't help them on the pitch.

My advice, focus on getting stronger relative to bodyweight to start with. Take a guy who is a lean and athletic 80kgs, he should be able to:
    1) do 15+ strict chin ups
    2) bench 120kgs (1.5x b/w) + for 1 rep
    3) deadlift 200kgs (2.5x b/w) + for 1 rep

I guarantee the 80kg guy who can do the above will be a much better rugby player (faster, fitter, more powerful) than a tubby 90kg guy who has been "bulking".

1) Get leaner
    2) Get stronger relative to bodyweight
    3) When you are near the above strength standards, look at olympic lifts to increase power and speed work
    4) Enjoy being an infinitely better athlete

S12b wrote: »

1) do 15+ strict chin ups
    2) bench 120kgs (1.5x b/w) + for 1 rep
    3) deadlift 200kgs (2.5x b/w) + for 1 rep

**** me I'm 80kgs could do the chin ups alright, though I'd be pushing it. 1 rep max on the bench would probably be 100kg, though I've never tried heavier as I train alone so wouldn't risk more. Feel weak now :eek:

By noticed what do you want? Just go out and enjoy yourself get as many games as possible and train and have the craic
    for low level J2 it shouldn't be too tough. As Cat from Hue said, passing and kicking are easy to work on.

Just keep working on your pass... been able to throw a laser sharp accurate fast long pass off both sides will be key to playing outhalf.
    Get your fitness up, and keep working on your skills, you can never do enough skills.

To be honest if you want to get noticed, you should be down training with a AIL senior side, whether it be their seconds, or a J1a team (at a stretch, if you really really lit up at J1A standard, a senior club may take a punt through the season as a dual status player). I really doubt anyone would take a J2 player serious as a prospect.
    OP is in Kerry though so no AIL team and highest teams are div 1 junior...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Started back about 3 weeks ago, like Lost Sheep I'm a ref, joined a fit for life group and working my way through a few 5ks and a bit of tag as well.

Moved up a level this year so will hopefully be getting some better games. Will work on speed in a few weeks and might train with my local rugby team, as doing it on your own is a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭S12b

stephen_n wrote: »
    **** me I'm 80kgs could do the chin ups alright, though I'd be pushing it. 1 rep max on the bench would probably be 100kg, though I've never tried heavier as I train alone so wouldn't risk more. Feel weak now :eek:

Not at all, those numbers sound good....I probably should have said that those numbers would put a guy at a very high level.

My point was that improving strength relative to bodyweight should be the goal, not just seeing the scale weight going up.

So far there doesn't seem to be too many clubs back so.
    I think are clubs shortening the preseason in an attempt to keep players interested and fresh through the season?

I think most clubs teams below J2 level usually start in August.

Tell you what, I have no problem with preseason stuff starting later, last year the ground was a killer. Been a bit wetter this summer tho in fairness.

So far there doesn't seem to be too many clubs back so.
    I think are clubs shortening the preseason in an attempt to keep players interested and fresh through the season?
    Quite a few back in next week or two but only really at the higher grades. Junior sides back mid august...
    I think most clubs teams below J2 level usually start in August.

Tell you what, I have no problem with preseason stuff starting later, last year the ground was a killer. Been a bit wetter this summer tho in fairness.
    Lower grades start their season slightly later and AIL is starting a few weeks earlier this season than previous years so senior 1st XVs will be back in pre season earlier as a resuly

S12b wrote: »
    Not at all, those numbers sound good....I probably should have said that those numbers would put a guy at a very high level.

My point was that improving strength relative to bodyweight should be the goal, not just seeing the scale weight going up.

I'm better with less weight for playing, carrying extra weight is less important to me than overall mobility and fitness, which would get compromised by bulking up.

Just after a crossfit session, and two games of tag, flying round the pitch. running lines I haven't run in ten years!
    Hurry up rugby season.
    Was chatting a few guys from senior clubs there tonight, AIL 1b team back next week, AIL 2b back 3 weeks ago, its nearly upon us :)