Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Balding/Receding hairline...

• 15-07-2014 1:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭

To the guys who have receding hairlines and in the stages of balding, or fully bald, how has this affected your life? I'm interested to hear how this affects guys mentally and would you ever consider some of the treatments available?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

I'm in my early twenties and have a receding hairline (not to noticeable tbh) but my attitude is anyone who doesn't like the way I look can go duck themselfs

It is annoying however when someone brings it up that I do have a receding hairline but I always turn it on them "no grass in the middle of a busy road" or "your not doing to well yourself" or "go fuq yourself"

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭paulcummins

fergus1001 wrote: »
    I'm in my early twenties and have a receding hairline (not to noticeable tbh) but my attitude is anyone who doesn't like the way I look can go duck themselfs

It is annoying however when someone brings it up that I do have a receding hairline but I always turn it on them "no grass in the middle of a busy road" or "your not doing to well yourself" or "go fuq yourself"

Thats tough man being in your early 20s and balding. You'll probably be fully bald by the time you're 30.

It's all about how you view the situation though.

If I was balding I'd be looking into the treatments available to keep my hairline and if push came to shove, a Wayne Rooney job!!

Thats tough man being in your early 20s and balding. You'll probably be fully bald by the time you're 30.

It's all about how you view the situation though.

If I was balding I'd be looking into the treatments available to keep my hairline and if push came to shove, a Wayne Rooney job!!

I probably will and I shall be getting a "Wayne Rooney" in time

Looked those transplants up get it done and you wont loose it for the rest of your life but sure many by the time I'm 30 they will have a cure for baldness :D

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭thebigredone

I think people place far too much weight in the value of the opinions of strangers. I know bald people who wish their hair went grey instead, and people whose hair went grey, that wish they had gone bald! I can't think of a bigger waste of money than the "wayne rooney"! It baffles personally! What happens when the receding hair line recedes further than the implanted area?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I'm female and my fella is bald practically. I love it and if you're going bald embrace it please.

I think people place far too much weight in the value of the opinions of strangers. I know bald people who wish their hair went grey instead, and people whose hair went grey, that wish they had gone bald! I can't think of a bigger waste of money than the "wayne rooney"! It baffles personally! What happens when the receding hair line recedes further than the implanted area?

You look at your fathers hairline and use it as a guide possibly ?

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭thebigredone

So you'd be 'preemptively' transplanting hair on parts of the head that weren't bald yet???

(Please don't think I'm being smart or sarky, I know the tone can be misunderstood when written, but thats honestly a genuine question.)

i just laugh at the people who are saying being bald doesn't make any difference to a mans attractiveness

So you'd be 'preemptively' transplanting hair on parts of the head that weren't bald yet???

(Please don't think I'm being smart or sarky, I know the tone can be misunderstood when written, but thats honestly a genuine question.)

Hair is transplanted and grows on its own, as it's resistant to balding. when significant receding occurs again, another transplant is done to "top up". for many people, this is a small price to pay for a full head of hair. rooney himself has had two transplants and has a decent head of hair. he was in the late stages of balding before the transplants.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

This doesn't work exactly.

Also, getting a Wayne Rooney...his was done by a top specialist I believe, somewhere in the region of 20k . There are treatments for 2-4k , but obviously there must be some difference in quality there.

SeantheMan wrote: »
    This doesn't work exactly.

Also, getting a Wayne Rooney...his was done by a top specialist I believe, somewhere in the region of 20k . There are treatments for 2-4k , but obviously there must be some difference in quality there.

rooney spent 15k on his transplant but it was a bit ott. obviously he could splash out on everything since he had money to burn. calum best paid 6k for his transplant for example and it looks quite good. i know it's a bit of money but it's going to come down to how the individual feels about his hair loss. for some guys thats a small price to pay as hair loss can really be demoralizing and lead to depression. im lucky i don't have this issue and hopefully my hairline stays where it is!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

rooney spent 15k on his transplant but it was a bit ott. obviously he could splash out on everything since he had money to burn. calum best paid 6k for his transplant for example and it looks quite good. i know it's a bit of money but it's going to come down to how the individual feels about his hair loss. for some guys thats a small price to pay as hair loss can really be demoralizing and lead to depression. im lucky i don't have this issue and hopefully my hairline stays where it is!!

He had two though, so he probably ended up spending around £12k.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,938 ✭✭✭OldRio

i just laugh at the people who are saying being bald doesn't make any difference to a mans attractiveness

Why? Honestly why?

I started to loose my hair in my early 20's. I'm in my late 50's now and have been shaving my head ( A number 1 cut for about 20 years.) It doesn't bother me or the women I have 'slept' with. Lots of women out there. All with different tastes. Sure I would have liked to have a good head of hair but wasn't to be.

Confidence my friend. You can be as good looking as you want but if you have no confidence women smell it. I remember a lad I worked with, smallish, certainly not handsome, but he had a different woman on his arm every time I saw him. He was a charmer, confident and funny.

At the end of the day it's about you. Do you think a procedure will give you more confidence? Or can you gain confidence with a more positive attitude about yourself? I would try the latter first.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

IIRC it's more likely on your mother's side of the family, so look at your maternal grandfathers. Seems to be a crapshoot though. I've known guys where the men on both sides had good heads of hair and they went bald early and vice versa. Maybe in cases like that check out the milkman's scalp. :)

I did read (in New Scientist I believe) that after a twin study they found environmental factors can be at play. Receding at the front was strongly genetic but balding at the crown or overall thinning appeared to have a strong environmental component. IIRC blood sugar levels were implicated, vitamin D3 and diet too. Smoking makes hair go grey earlier, so maybe that would be another component. MIght explain how some medications available work, or don't work. Again IIRC regaine and the like only works for the crown area and isn't fiddling about with testosterone in the scalp whereas the other med whose name escapes blocks testosterone in the scalp and works on both areas. Maybe the regaine offsets the environmental factors? It would be interesting to see if men are balding more today than in the past.

For me it's fascinating why men go bald in the first place. Why did this become selected for/evolve? It's clearly not universal among men. It's not universal among different populations either. EG Native Americans don't go bald, Native South Americans rarely even go grey and keep their Beatle moptops until old age. Asians tend to go bald less too. I seem to recall that the mechanism involved in balding Asians is slightly different. Africans, depending on background vary all over the place. Europeans, particularly northern Europeans tend to go bald much more readily. Within subsets of the Jewish population it's near a given.

Maybe it's something to do with increasing exposure to sun and vitamin D production. Though that's a real double edged sword. It only occurs after puberty so maybe it's a low level secondary sexual characteristic denoting male maturity. Contrary to popular bald men don't have more testosterone so it's not a signifier there. Maybe it's just a fluke and fault in the genes, a fault that wasn't considered sexually unattractive enough to be bred out. Interesting area.

"Curing" it won't be easy I imagine. Not if someone is completely bald anyway. Prevention may work though. Cloning of hair follicles would "cure" it and wouldn't require harvesting from the donor areas. Man that would be pricey though.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

I got hotter the balder I got, the missus loves giving it a good auld stroke.

• Site Banned Posts: 4 Snoweagles

I have a feeling the shape of your head plays a significant factor. Square heads seem to be less likely to go bald uniformly like rounder heads. I think it's related to areas of tightness and pressure on the scalp.

If you google detumescence therapy you'll find a study showed that you can regrow hair using massage techniques.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Snoweagles wrote: »
    I have a feeling the shape of your head plays a significant factor. Square heads seem to be less likely to go bald uniformly like rounder heads. I think it's related to areas of tightness and pressure on the scalp.

If you google detumescence therapy you'll find a study showed that you can regrow hair using massage techniques.

You can also find pots of gold at the end of rainbows

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I'm in my late twenties and have been balding for around 6 years and honestly, it's a bloody pain. It doesn't affect my confidence that much but I cringe when I hear people say "just shave it, no problem!" or "women don't care". Bottom line is this:

1. I care. I would rather be recognisable to myself for as long as possible, and I've always had hair. It's a part of my own identity.
    2. Losing your hair in your twenties is incomparable to losing your hair in any other decade of your life.
    3. Hair frames your face. Depending on the shape of your face and your skull structure, you could look great with a bald head. But if you don't... you don't have any options to look different other than get a tan or grow a beard.

Financially I'm at a point where I could drop 10k on a hair transplant and still have some savings, but the fact that I might have to resort to that, when none of my closest friends would have to, bugs me. My plan is to keep working on my savings until 10k isn't too big a drop in the ocean, then take the plunge.

Wibbs wrote: »
    IIRC it's more likely on your mother's side of the family, so look at your maternal grandfathers. Seems to be a crapshoot though. I've known guys where the men on both sides had good heads of hair and they went bald early and vice versa. Maybe in cases like that check out the milkman's scalp. :)

Yeah load of rubbish. All the guys on my mother's side of the family (and my dad's for that matter) kept their hair past middle age, myself and one cousin out of about 3 dozen are the only ones who lost it early.

I'd rather not be bald but I've quite a few more pressing issues when it comes to attractiveness to worry about it too much.

For the price of a vw polo I can have a full head of hair for life I'm not insecure or anything

But Feck it if a girl can go in and get a set of double d knockers I can have my hair transplant

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

*bows to Fergus for that post* :D You're right too IMHO. I've known a couple of men and women who've gone for cosmetic surgery, some minor like ears getting pinned back and dental braces, to boob jobs, dental implants, tummy tucks and such. IMH I reckon go for it. If you can afford it and it will make your life better then why the fook not? I think "cosmetic" surgery has too many bad connotations. Sure you get the eejits who go too far and start to look plastic, but when you think about it we all, or most of us, apply some level of artifice to our appearance through clothing, makeup, styling etc. This has a loooong history and is a large part of what makes us human.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Captain Hman

Im taking 1mg of finnasteride a day now, hopefully it works out for me, hair is thinning a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

I just shave to get rid of the evidence. It's funny though, I look better with a shaved head: Bald.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

To the guys who have receding hairlines and in the stages of balding, or fully bald, how has this affected your life? I'm interested to hear how this affects guys mentally and would you ever consider some of the treatments available?

It really is a state of mind as to whether it's a problem for you and is like any other physical imperfections we perceive about ourselves. It's what drives so many to get cosmetic surgery for noses, chins, lips, crows feet and all those other nips and tucks that no-one else would ever think was a flaw on you.

If you decide going bald is a problem for you, then it is. You don't have to delight in going bald, but if you can accept it, then it really will not be a problem for you.

For what it's worth, I've had far more attention and passes made at me in my 30s as a bald guy then I ever did in my 20s with a full head of hair and presumably better looking back then. I would put that down to having more confidence now then anything to do with looks. Confidence also helps you not to be dictated by what others shallow observations or opinions of you are which in the bigger scheme of things should not be so important.

I did buy Regain (or equivalent) for 60 euro once when I first got a shock after putting a mirror over my head to discover a bald patch, read the cumbersome instructions and then decided, screw this, got a refund for it and started getting a No1 haircut. I've never looked back! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

While I am acutely aware of all the good advice re: balding/baldness, have seen the examples, KNOW confidence and vitality, how someone makes others feel mean that baldness CAN be a complete non-issue, how it is very superficial and doesn't have to cause a problem.

That being said, losing my hair now at the age of 27 has effected me and my personality to a great extent. I have also heard of other people becoming much more reserved after it happening to them at a relatively young age. I think it has to be quite unnatural to be balding properly before your 40s 50s. But that's another days talk.

For me, it inhibits me, it has always been a huge fear even before it started happening. I was unfortunate to have a mind that equated balding and baldness to the end of the road, even death. From a young age thinking that as soon as a man loses his hair, how he is viewed by other people changes completely and that he should know his place (which is as an old man on a deck chair). And so my long-held fear came true, and even though my critical, logical mind gives me all the information available, and I know it's not the way things have to be, I never could shake the feeling that I just don't have the same options in life as I did before.

I was always very cheeky, flirting with every girl I talked to (well not quite but ye get me) was a huge part of my rush of life. I derived a lot of my well-being from assuming people (especially women) liked me straight away. My personality was based around people being receptive to me immediately so I could do and say things that would get us to having a good time faster. That is now lost.

I do shave my head but I feel like a pariah and basically a wasted life. I am an extreme of the spectrum but there are a lot of men for whom the process changes them from what they were before. Whether a positive change (as in becoming more mature) or a negative change (as in losing a core confidence and becoming obsessed), it is a big event.

There are a minority, I know one person, where it was just not an issue at all. I would have liked to have been born and grown up in such a way that this was the case for me, as I said I have all the information, knowledge to conclude that it's not a big deal but I can't control how it has affected me, it is somewhat irrational.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Eph1958

Paul,
    Thinning hair and receding hairline scared the sh1t out of me for years so I took the plunge and got a number 1........best thing I ever did. At first there were a few raised eyebrows and smartassed comments. These very quickly stopped and the relief was unbelievably liberating. 'Have enjoyed it ever since and never looked back.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,247 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I've the opposite problem. Too much bloody hair. To thick, and too hot in this weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

For the price of a vw polo I can have a full head of hair for life I'm not insecure or anything

But Feck it if a girl can go in and get a set of double d knockers I can have my hair transplant

Did you do much research into this Fergus ? or where did / will you get it done ?
    There are 2 different procedures from what I'm aware..FUT and FUE

I remember thinking about it, so went into...ehh...Ailesbury about 2 years back for a consultation.
    Gave them my number, it was FUE...where they would take out the hairs and pop them individually on in groups back in.
    I think the price was like 4k for 2000 hairs or something, I can't rightly remember....but then they had quoted other prices to other people.
    Apparently...and they told me this...each case is different...so the pricte always varies...which I thought was a little sneaky.

Then for weeks after I would get constant emails and calls asking if I was coming back etc, worse than a needy girlfriend...which seemed too much for me. So I left it.

Still think about maybe getting it done now and again, but dunno where, what way, do you go abroad , etc etc ?

SeantheMan wrote: »
    Did you do much research into this Fergus ? or where did / will you get it done ?
    There are 2 different procedures from what I'm aware..FUT and FUE

I remember thinking about it, so went into...ehh...Ailesbury about 2 years back for a consultation.
    Gave them my number, it was FUE...where they would take out the hairs and pop them individually on in groups back in.
    I think the price was like 4k for 2000 hairs or something, I can't rightly remember....but then they had quoted other prices to other people.
    Apparently...and they told me this...each case is different...so the pricte always varies...which I thought was a little sneaky.

Then for weeks after I would get constant emails and calls asking if I was coming back etc, worse than a needy girlfriend...which seemed too much for me. So I left it.

Still think about maybe getting it done now and again, but dunno where, what way, do you go abroad , etc etc ?

Ive read up on it before its cheaper if you go to England the difference between the two is that one transplants single Hair follicles and the other is clumps of follicles giving the look of a Barbie doll but from what I was reading the clump one is cheaper so if you got the clump one on the top of your head and then near your hairline get the single follicle transplants saving money

No one will really notice that you got it done because the hair that is put in actually falls out quickly then over the next 6 months it gradually grows into a full head of hair

And it will never fall out again because it is genetically immune to balding because the follicles are taken from the back of the head