Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

handy farm loader

• 14-07-2014 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭

Well lads im looking for something for cleaning out the sheds, moving around the odd bale and lifting bags of fertiliser. My budget is €3-4k.Its cab has to be under 9ft high even no cab would do.

Im thinking of a MF 50 or 30 loader any recommendations? ...or anything in particular to watch out for on these machines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

would you consider a skidsteer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

would you consider a skidsteer?

I would only all my yards around the sheds arnt concrete so would a skid steer not tear the place up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Well lads im looking for something for cleaning out the sheds, moving around the odd bale and lifting bags of fertiliser. My budget is €3-4k.Its cab has to be under 9ft high even no cab would do.

Im thinking of a MF 50 or 30 loader any recommendations? ...or anything in particular to watch out for on these machines?

A 50 b a great old yoke .you should get a good one for 3to4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Think you've nearly the best yoke for the job picked already to be honest :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Jim Rockford

A good wheelbarrow, it's your only job . . . I'll sell you one for 2k no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Concrete is best for skid steers but if driven right won't do too much damage on flat ground. Probably the same as turning the wheels on a biggish tractor over and back.
    I'd be slow about lifting big fert bags with one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Little jcb mini loaders are a great job don't know what sort of money they go tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

A 50 b a great old yoke .you should get a good one for 3to4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

Use the other yoke you have..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Little jcb mini loaders are a great job don't know what sort of money they go tho

Axles fall apart on them, stay clear.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

blue5000 wrote: »
    ah right didn't know that using one on a place I doing a bit of work at the minute thought it was fierce handy little thing, but sure there no good if there not reliable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭MfMan

Do you mean the 520-40 / 520-50 models? Was looking at one of them before as a possible exchange for a skidsteer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

no the smaller ones, bit like a 2cx. 520 are grand, but 4k would be getting a fairly old one.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭9935452

50b or an older 50 with no cab, Fairly bullet proof , parts easily got , can be got for your price range. Easily sold after.
    Back actor is very handy for doing small jobs around the place.
    Ive seen lads taking off one arm off it for height restricted areas, which is very easily done

I dont think you would get something like a skid steer or 2cx in good condition for 4 grand. then you would be looking at repair bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

no the smaller ones, bit like a 2cx. 520 are grand, but 4k would be getting a fairly old one.

Don't get 2cx anyway. A neighbour had one. Broke his heart and wallet. Handy yoke when going right but there wasn't a month that it didn't give hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

a bit more than your origional buget but how about something like this?

http://www.donedeal.ie/otherfarmmachinery-for-sale/kramer-312-sl-loader/7241955

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

a bit more than your origional buget but how about something like this?

http://www.donedeal.ie/otherfarmmachinery-for-sale/kramer-312-sl-loader/7241955

Nice machine but double my budget, looking like a 50b or 30e type machine