Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit and run on Dunboyne roundabout off M3

• 13-07-2014 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭

Today I had a car accident. I was stopped at the roundbout, giving the way to the cars and waiting for my turn when I was hit behind by another car.
    I went out from my car and so did the other driver. He suggested to pull over in a safer place as there's a lot of traffic on the roundabout.
    I followed his suggestion, however inside of me I wasn't sure he would follow me. Therefore, from the backside mirror I was prompt enough to read and memorize his registration number, when he suddently took another road and disappear from my sight.
    I went to the closest Garda station and I reported it. Later I also called my insurance and made the claim. Both Garda and insurance said that they'll call me (the insurance will call me tomorrow to define the claim in details).
    Now I just have to see what happens. I think I did all I could do. I've no injuries, there is a damage on my car, I've no idea about the value. However, it's more for the principle that I want to fight for, you cannot escape like that.
    However, I'm worried that if they found the driver, he could say that it wasn't him, that he wasn't there... I don't know if I can manage without any witness. I'm not originally from Ireland, so I don't know how it works here in these situations.
    What is your opinion?
    Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Let the Garda worry about it. One presumes you can supply a physical description of the driver to the guards, and if that and the car registration tally it should result in a traffic conviction for the driver. Then you should have no trouble with your civil claim. Talk to a solicitor and get your civil claim in train as fast as possible. If he is convicted the judge will probably be interested in how he is meeting your civil claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Don't claim from your own insurance, you'll lose your 'no claims bonus'

Sent a claim to the MIBI instead, that's what they are there for.

https://www.mibi.ie/uninsured-unidentifi.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Some of their car's paint may be on your car. If it is then this can be used as evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

It's more than likely that if the gardai get to him in good time, he still will have damage to his car. I hope to God that he gets a good going over, can't stand people who do things like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Yeah surely there would be paint rub off and damage matching the damage to your car. If the guards get to him quickly you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Good chance he's not insured anyways so looks like you could be dealing with MIBI regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭sushmita

hi5 wrote: »
    Don't claim from your own insurance, you'll lose your 'no claims bonus'

Sent a claim to the MIBI instead, that's what they are there for.

https://www.mibi.ie/uninsured-unidentifi.html

Thank you Hi5. I didn't know about that. However, why should I loose the 'no claim bonus' if the accident hasn't been caused by me?
    I checked the MIBI website. It says that they compensate victims who have been involved in an accident caused by uninsured or unidentified vehicles. In my case it's an identified vehicle. And I don't know yet if it's insured or not.
    That could be the reason why he left, but I don't know. Maybe his car hasn't passed the NCT? Maybe he has some penalty points already? Maybe he doesn't want to have his insurance premium increased? Who knows...

The Dagda wrote: »
    Some of their car's paint may be on your car. If it is then this can be used as evidence.

Thank you The Dagda. This could be possible. However the car hit mostly the chrome bumper, I wonder how much could have been left on his car.
    Unfortunately it all happened so quickly (maybe 90 seconds?) that I didn't have the time to check if also his car was damaged.

Good chance he's not insured anyways so looks like you could be dealing with MIBI regardless.

Thank you Voodoomelon.
    Does it mean that if the other vehicle is not insured, my insurance cannot be involved?

Yes, it's true, my no claim bonus will be affected. I just didn't know :(
    I don't understand, why should I pay more in insurance for an accident not caused by me? I don't understand...

By the way, I've just come across this website: https://www.cartell.ie/ it seems like they give you all the history of the vehicles registered in Ireland and UK.

If the other vehicle is uninsured or unidentifiable, then you have the options of paying for it yourself, claiming on your insurance (and all the bad stuff that goes with that) or going with MIBI.

The other option is if the Gardaí catch who it was and force them to pay.

If the other vehicle is uninsured or unidentifiable, then you have the options of paying for it yourself, claiming on your insurance (and all the bad stuff that goes with that) or going with MIBI.

The other option is if the Gardaí catch who it was and force them to pay.

Thank you Voodoomelon.
    The insurance called me and they said that they won't open the claim. I've been told to keep chasing the Garda on their investigation while from the insurance they've contacted the board for getting the information if the car is insured. This might take them up to 2 weeks to get a reply.
    The case is now with Garda station in Dunboyne. They're a very small office, opened only from Monday to Friday for 3 hours a day, and it's not guaranteed that they're open in case they need more agents on the road. I called them yesterday, they said that they have to assign the investigation to somebody. I asked for a time frame, they didn't give me an answer, they said that it's not urgent :(
    I wonder how much investigation is involved... Shall they not just check on the Motor database and see who's the owner of the car? Does it take a long time to do that? Garda should have easy access to it shouldn't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

The damage on your car may not be visible externally. So, might not be a bad idea to get it checked out just in case.

sushmita wrote: »
    Thank you Voodoomelon.
    The insurance called me and they said that they won't open the claim. I've been told to keep chasing the Garda on their investigation while from the insurance they've contacted the board for getting the information if the car is insured. This might take them up to 2 weeks to get a reply.
    The case is now with Garda station in Dunboyne. They're a very small office, opened only from Monday to Friday for 3 hours a day, and it's not guaranteed that they're open in case they need more agents on the road. I called them yesterday, they said that they have to assign the investigation to somebody. I asked for a time frame, they didn't give me an answer, they said that it's not urgent :(
    I wonder how much investigation is involved... Shall they not just check on the Motor database and see who's the owner of the car? Does it take a long time to do that? Garda should have easy access to it shouldn't they?

Practically, it takes no time at all to investigate the other driver. Realistically though it could take quite a while with a small station and limited staff. I'd ring every second day though, keep looking for updates.

Hi Voodoomelon. I thought the same, such as calling them every two days.
    I called Garda in Dunboyne again today.
    They said that they have to wait for Garda from Blanchardstown (where I made my report) that they assign the case to a gardai in Dunboyne. I don't understand why to be honest, considering that now the case is with Dunboyne and it's up to them to resolve it.
    Is it just me thinking that this is too complicated?

I contacted my insurance again and they told me that the car is insured. They opened the claim and I'm now waiting for the garage to call me anytime for the car inspection. I asked the other insurance for the name of the driver, they said that they don't give it to me for data protection. The funny story (at least for me!) is that they would provide me with the name if he stayed there at the accident scene, but because he escaped, he's protected. Quite ironic...
    On the Garda side, they haven't even sent yet the report to the Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I asked the other insurance for the name of the driver, they said that they don't give it to me for data protection. The funny story (at least for me!) is that they would provide me with the name if he stayed there at the accident scene, but because he escaped, he's protected. Quite ironic...

The main reason you get the other drivers details at the scene is so you can deal with their insurer. Plus at the scene the driver will usually give you their details themselves (or the Gardai will), so data protection is not an issue. I guess once your insurer knows their details there is no reason for them to pass them on to you; you are not going to have any futher direct dealings with this person.

djimi wrote: »
    The main reason you get the other drivers details at the scene is so you can deal with their insurer. Plus at the scene the driver will usually give you their details themselves (or the Gardai will), so data protection is not an issue. I guess once your insurer knows their details there is no reason for them to pass them on to you; you are not going to have any futher direct dealings with this person.

The reason why I asked the other insurance for the name of the driver, was because I wanted to call the garda and pass the name on to them. Even if I get the damages on my car refunded, the guy escaped from the accident scene and as far as I know this is a crime.
    I've also been suggested to contact the Garda Ombudsman in case they don't do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

There's always the chance that the offending car was on false plates, so giving out names and addresses could lead to someone totally innocent being implicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

The reason why I asked the other insurance for the name of the driver, was because I wanted to call the garda and pass the name on to them. Even if I get the damages on my car refunded, the guy escaped from the accident scene and as far as I know this is a crime.
    I've also been suggested to contact the Garda Ombudsman in case they don't do anything.

Your drifting off into a murky world of revenge seeking to find the driver.The insurance company is dealing with it you turn up on this guys door step the damage to your car will be the least of your problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭hairybelly

know something similar that happened to a family member.
    driver rear ended the car and speed off. Thankfully the gardai found him, but dealing with the insurance company was a nightmare.

They will do anything and everything to not help you, and you will most likely be through the nose for insurance for the next few years.
    Because insurance companies are filthy scammers like that.

BMJD wrote: »
    There's always the chance that the offending car was on false plates, so giving out names and addresses could lead to someone totally innocent being implicated.

Bmjd, probably you haven't fully followed my thread. Just to clarify, the plates were not false. My insurance found the insurance of the other car. The other insurance talked to the guy and he couldn't deny the accident and his responsability. So if I get the name of the driver, I'm sure it's the right driver and not someone else hence someone innocent.

visual wrote: »
    Your drifting off into a murky world of revenge seeking to find the driver.The insurance company is dealing with it you turn up on this guys door step the damage to your car will be the least of your problems

Hi Visual,

the insurance is dealing with the case, but only damage wise, not with the escape from the scene. As far as I know only Garda can investigate on that.
    I'm not looking for revenge, just for justice and someone hitting somebody and running is a crime. I was lucky to get the registration number very quickly, otherwise I wouldn't even have the luck of getting my damage repaired with no charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Hi Visual,

the insurance is dealing with the case, but only damage wise, not with the escape from the scene. As far as I know only Garda can investigate on that.
    I'm not looking for revenge, just for justice and someone hitting somebody and running is a crime. I was lucky to get the registration number very quickly, otherwise I wouldn't even have the luck of getting my damage repaired with no charge.

once the garda have reg plate your statement and insurance accept libility, garda has his case made. They dont have to run around and try get the guy to accept libility and prove he was driving the car and prove he hit you.

Because he drove off doesn't mean he will get away with it but the wheels of justice turn slow
    it can be many months before a court summons is issused.
    Garda won't tip their hand until all evidence is gathered and summons is issused.
    Can be frustrating for victims as they aren't in the loop

visual wrote: »
    once the garda have reg plate your statement and insurance accept libility, garda has his case made. They dont have to run around and try get the guy to accept libility and prove he was driving the car and prove he hit you.

Because he drove off doesn't mean he will get away with it but the wheels of justice turn slow
    it can be many months before a court summons is issused.
    Garda won't tip their hand until all evidence is gathered and summons is issused.
    Can be frustrating for victims as they aren't in the loop

Hi Visual, I appreciate what you're saying. It can be months before something will be done, or maybe nothing will be done at all. At least I'm trying.
    If we think oh well that's the way it is and we don't even try, nothing will change for sure.

Finally I found somebody competent in the Garda station and they started the investigation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

The Dagda wrote: »

LOL

csi1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭mrsoft

Finally I found somebody competent in the Garda station and they started the investigation!

Someone competent. Really is there a need for such a comment?

Are you are aware that Garda resources are stretched and minor incidents like this are not priority.

Im sure you'll get a positive outcome. Hopefully that one competent guard doesnt get a transfer in the interim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

mrsoft wrote: »
    Someone competent. Really is there a need for such a comment?

In my experience, Yes. Some are excellent, some are completely in it for power and authority. Had one guy continue to take down details of a broken window when the same group that had done it ran riot the next road over. No matter how much I told him and pointed, you could both hear and see them, he wanted to know how much the window cost so he could write it in his notebook etc Needless to say, nothing came of it and I forked out for it. Contrast that to America where they literally had a squad of officers assigned to the case happy and willing to make a 'sting' when my car was robbed and tracked.

Noddy's with the occasional gem in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

ironclaw wrote: »
    Contrast that to America where they literally had a squad of officers assigned to the case happy and willing to make a 'sting' when my car was robbed and tracked.

That really depends on where you are, in New York and big cities, yeah they have a crap load of cops.

A lot of other places you get some fat guy that's peed off you interrupted his dunkin donuts and coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭mrsoft

ironclaw wrote: »
    In my experience, Yes. Some are excellent, some are completely in it for power and authority. Had one guy continue to take down details of a broken window when the same group that had done it ran riot the next road over. No matter how much I told him and pointed, you could both hear and see them, he wanted to know how much the window cost so he could write it in his notebook etc Needless to say, nothing came of it and I forked out for it. Contrast that to America where they literally had a squad of officers assigned to the case happy and willing to make a 'sting' when my car was robbed and tracked.

Well in that case let the Sgts assign 4/5 guards onto the case for every minor tip nationwide.

That'll work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

mrsoft wrote: »
    Well in that case let the Sgts assign 4/5 guards onto the case for every minor tip nationwide.

That'll work.

Its not about complaining about what you don't have, its about using what you do have effectively. There isn't a single public service that is run correctly or efficiently in this country because there is absolutely no incentive to do so. HSE and An Garda being key examples of the danger of absolutely power and nepotism.

For another thread!

I hope the OP gets a positive outcome from all this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

LOL

You might think it's funny but a few years ago one of our vans was crashed into.
    It happened while the van was parked up at night and there was no cctv or witnesses.

The only "evidence" we had was the paint transferred on to our van. A burgundy colour.
    A burgundy jeep from a nearby town was spotted with recent damage, so the Gardai had a chat and the driver eventually admitted to the crash.