Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bonding with a puppy.

• 12-07-2014 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

Well lads I bought a new pup Labrador last week from excellent breeding. I take him out 3 times a day for 20 minutes each time. in this 20 minutes I feed him and then play around with him petting him. Just wondering what ye think is the best way to build a good bond with a dog so I can build the best bond possible.

Thanks , SM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Kiltris

Keep doing what your doing, I've always taken a similar approach with new pups. Feed them twice a day at the start (depending on their age) and interact with them as much as I can, building confidence and trust. When I had less dogs and was training my first two springers I would bring them out in the evenings checking larsen traps etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

I use to just bring the dog everywhere , alway difference parks and stuff get them really confident in new areas, apart from that just keep at what your at . And best of luck .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Jimbob79

Keep doing what ur doing. Remember it's still only a baby so don't start to "train" him.

Just build his confidence in himself and u. I'd give little treats too when puppy comes running up to u.

Best of luck with the puppy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Trick I use when a pup is 5 to 6 months old.
    Take the pup into a large open wooded area for their usual free running time.
    When pup is good and confident with this hide behind a tree.
    Pup begins to panic as suddenly it's alone. Blow the call back whistle and the pup will come flying to you so make a fuss of him.
    You can repeat that every few outings. Pup is now over half trained to the call back whistle !!

I don't believe in ever using food to train a dog. If they are well bred, being allowed to work is their treat. Keep treats for when you have a problem with pup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭springer man

Kiltris wrote: »
    Keep doing what your doing, I've always taken a similar approach with new pups. Feed them twice a day at the start (depending on their age) and interact with them as much as I can, building confidence and trust. When I had less dogs and was training my first two springers I would bring them out in the evenings checking larsen traps etc.

Im really aiming to make a great woodcock/duck/pheasant dog out of him. His mother is an excellent bitch to hunt and retrieve. I haven't brought him to a field yet , do you think he would be able to walk in the grass with it been so heavy this time of year? id say I could keep him out of the field for another few weeks until he gets a bit bigger or stronger! thanks for the advice , really appreciate it :)

Jimbob79 wrote: »
    Keep doing what ur doing. Remember it's still only a baby so don't start to "train" him.

Just build his confidence in himself and u. I'd give little treats too when puppy comes running up to u.

Best of luck with the puppy.

Thanks a lot , ill try my best anyway , hes more then capable of bringing me years of enjoyable hunting , its up to me!!

TriggerPL wrote: »
    I use to just bring the dog everywhere , alway difference parks and stuff get them really confident in new areas, apart from that just keep at what your at . And best of luck .

Thanks trigger , ive been bringing him everywhere with me in the car and he loves it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

A fella once tried to tell me "never show the dog emotion.you'll ruin him!"
    Now I can speak from experience and say that its total bullish!t!!
    Now, even as grown dogs, I take time out of my day to socialise with the dogs.
    Dogs respond and react to interaction
    So IMO, the better you are to your dog, the better your dog will be to you