Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leitrim...

• 08-07-2014 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭

So it seems 'Leitrim' is on the NSA's list of keywords that makes them want to start snooping on your Internet activity. I always knew there was something funny going on up in that place.

w w w.business insider. com/nsa-prism-keywords-for-domestic-spying-2013-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Appears to be true. Come down from the mountain, Osama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Probably part of a sub-list of places that don't exist :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

It pops up a lot when terrorists send messages to each other like : "We'll bomb this place so badly that when it's over, people will think they've ended up in Leitrim!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I can confirm that it doesn't exist. Once us Letrimarians cross over the border, we are transported to a parallel universe which is ruled by sheep and a talking wardrobe.

However, Garth Brooks is playing 5 shows here instead of in Dublin. Which is nice.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

.Kovu. wrote: »
    I can confirm that it doesn't exist. Once us Letrimarians cross over the border, we are transported to a parallel universe which is ruled by sheep and a talking wardrobe.

However, Garth Brooks is playing 5 shows here instead of in Dublin. Which is nice.:pac:

Can you keep him there please? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I heard Edward Snowden is playing midfield for Melvin Gaels in Leitrim.

He rides Shergar to training apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

That CIA/NSA/spooksRus bloke is from around there somewhere ? maybe thats it ?

You wouldn't be long ending up in the silage pit if you started buying too many tea towels in local shop
    Director of CIA John Brennan with Kilteevan businessman John Gilooly

YdcacDQ.png

dependable sort of a lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

I see that the word **** ( W.A.N.K in case it is auto censored) is also on the list.. is that to imply that terrorists masturbate alot or talk about masturbating all the time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Up 'trim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Leitrim is deadly, haters gonna hate n:rolleyes:

Feck, it's actually true http://www.businessinsider.com/nsa-prism-keywords-for-domestic-spying-2013-6

Although my favourite has to be 'Bubba the Love Sponge'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

gctest50 wrote: »
    That CIA/NSA/spooksRus bloke is from around there somewhere ? maybe thats it ?

You wouldn't be long ending up in the silage pit if you started buying tea towels in local shop

dependable sort of a lad

They're from Roscommon. We're like north and South Korea, Roscommon and Leitrim, completely different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Feck, it's actually true http://www.businessinsider.com/nsa-prism-keywords-for-domestic-spying-2013-6

Although my favourite has to be 'Bubba the Love Sponge'

Ugh.

Of course terrorists have terrible taste in radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Rasheed wrote: »
    They're from Roscommon. We're like north and South Korea, Roscommon and Leitrim, completely different.

sorry about that - i though it was like Tipperary north/Tipperary south - just an admin thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Jimmy our Big Boss has been trying to turn the place into Outer Heaven for years but now we've been had - blow the bridges!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

johnty56 wrote: »
    I see that the word **** ( W.A.N.K in case it is auto censored) is also on the list.. is that to imply that terrorists masturbate alot or talk about masturbating all the time??

Or that they are ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Gallowglass

I've met all sorts of people from around the world but never a Leitrim person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Dylan Moran ~

"Because that's still how Irish Leitrim people are seen, as twinkly-eyed ****ers with a pig under their arm, high-stepping it around the world, going 'I'll paint your house now, but watch out, I might steal the ladder later, ohohoho!' Which is only half true!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

5-0 hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Trollhättan

5-0 hahahaha

Are Leitrim playing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

Are Leitrim playing??

Yeah Germany beat them 7-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Limecube

I'd imagine its more got to do with the Canadian spying activities that happen here ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CFS_Leitrim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Came across this list. Surprisingly absent are other places such as Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan. Or the term al Qaeda.

Leitrim is a county and town in Ireland as well as a town and obscure military base in Canada. The connection between Irish Leitrim and terrorism is remote: an IRA incident involving the kidnapping of Don Tidy lead to a shootout in Ballinamore in the mid 1980s. Now, this type of thing happened in all over Ireland then: afterall, Dessie O'Hare the Border Fox was involved in shootouts with the Gardai as far South as Kilkenny. You can't just pick out Leitrim. Leitrim actually is the county with the lowest levels of crime today and then too and is the direct opposite to a terrorist hellhole. So, I would say Leitrim has to refer to the Canadian base as a lot of military bases are on the list.

We're always watching BuilderPlumber....always watching...

that plug...it's got a camera, that shower too....your mobile? Nah, too obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Don't forget the Drumshambo massacre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Sex and pornstar are another of their key words.

Thats about 90% of internet searches then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

There is a conspiracy that instead of fertiliser being spread in Leitrim, its chemtrails meant to sedate and dumb down the population.

Or at least thats their excuse:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

.....Letrimarians....

Aaaawww I really want that to be the real word for people from Leitrim.
    I'm almost afraid to look it up on Wikipedia in case I'm dissapointed:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

stmol32 wrote: »
    Aaaawww I really want that to be the real word for people from Leitrim.
    I'm almost afraid to look it up on Wikipedia in case I'm dissapointed:).

Or in case some lads in black suits and sunglasses are knocking on your door in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I originally thought they included Leitrim due to the high number of victims of IRA murders who are supposed to be buried there. A sparse county population wise, it's the perfect location for concealing remains. Shergar is also said to have been disposed of in the county.

Now that I see it's also a military base in Canada, that is more likely to be the reason why it's included on this list.