Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl cycling cleats

• 06-07-2014 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

Quick question lads.

Anyone ever buy them from lidl? See they are on sale this week n just wondering is it just the shoe or do the pedals come included? Or what type pedals do u need??

Sorry if it's a silly question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭DanDublin1982

Yea I have a pair gathering dust. Just the cleats. Haven't looked into what pedals I should get to use them. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Had a look at the website, no sign of cleats but they have shoes. Are you calling shoes cleats the way Americans call football boots cleats?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Brian? wrote: »
    Had a look at the website, no sign of cleats but they have shoes. Are you calling shoes cleats the way Americans call football boots cleats?

Haha, I was going by the site too, shows what I know. Would have just called them shoes myself but assumed they knew what they were on about. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭straps

Ye sorry! Haha. Yea just shoes. They don't include the pedals no? What type of pedal do I need for the shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

straps wrote: »
    Ye sorry! Haha. Yea just shoes. They don't include the pedals no? What type of pedal do I need for the shoes?

You need SPD pedals.

Haha, I was going by the site too, shows what I know. Would have just called them shoes myself but assumed they knew what they were on about. :)

There you are now, the site does call them cleats. They're not though, the cleat is the attachment for the bottom of the shoe that clips into your pedal.

In the case of these shoes they'll only take 2 hole cleats like Shimano spd:

http://www.wiggle.com/shimano-spd-mtb-cleats/

Pedals:

http://www.wiggle.com/shimano-m424-spd-pedals/

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭straps

One more silly question do I need to buy both assessories in the links yeah?

I think if I ever decide to switch from the runners I've been using up to now I'll go to a cycling shop and have a chat with someone who knows what they're talking about. :D

straps wrote: »
    One more silly question do I need to buy both assessories in the links yeah?

Has to be all 3 or none. Although any pedals I've ever bought included cleats. Not sure about the ones linked though.

they/them/theirs

I think if I ever decide to switch from the runners I've been using up to now I'll go to a cycling shop and have a chat with someone who knows what they're talking about. :D

They're not going to tell you any more than I just did. It's fairly straight forward.

they/them/theirs

They're not going to tell you any more than I just did. It's fairly straight forward.

Oops. I wasn't suggesting you didn't know what you're talking about so sorry if it came across as such. I just meant that as my purchases so far have left me with a pair of useless shoes I'd be better off exploring options next time round. Still learning about bikes and what have you. The advice is appreciated. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The pedals Brian? linked include a set of cleats. So those + the shoes and you're good to go.

Oops. I wasn't suggesting you didn't know what you're talking about so sorry if it came across as such. I just meant that as my purchases so far have left me with a pair of useless shoes I'd be better off exploring options next time round. Still learning about bikes and what have you. The advice is appreciated. :)

Ah I didn't take offence at all. I was just trying to convey the simplicity of choices. Those shoes you have aren't useless, if you buy some spd pedals they will do the job.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭lissard

If you pick up a pair of Shimano M520 pedals they will come come with a pair of SPD cleats that fit the LIDL shoes. They work perfectly fine but in my experience the Shimano SH56 multi-release cleats are far easier to clip in and out of. I used the lidl shoes for commuting for about 6 months. My only criticism of the shoes is that the MTB 'grips' are made of plastic and have no grip at all on slippy surfaces. Nearly splatted myself several times coming in and out of my shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭otterj

would the shoes work with keo look pedals?
    look-keo-easy-pedals-43721.jpg

otterj wrote: »
    would the shoes work with keo look pedals?
    look-keo-easy-pedals-43721.jpg

Nope

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭otterj

What cleats do i need?

You need shoes that with 3 holes, the look cleats are 3 hole.

Like this:
    Shimano-WR40-womens-road-cycling-SPD-shoe-300x300.jpg

they/them/theirs