Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Springer late

• 06-07-2014 8:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭

Hi lads,
    I got my 4 year old springer covered on May 1st and by my calculations she was due Thursday gone. I've never bred a dog before so it's all new to me. I felt pups move inside her this morning but still no sign of her whelping. Do I need to be worried or is this normal for a dog to go over??

Thanks for looking.
    Jim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

not yet anyway.my bitch was covered on the 1st of may also and had them on tuesday but she was early.if its more then a week id bring her to the vet to be on the safe side.my bitch had 12 :eek: wasnt expecting that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

by my calculations she is day 66 and yes I would be worried if nothing happening today or in morn I would be going to the vet

especially with a maiden bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 kinelly

Ive had them go over by 6 days with no problems. If she isnt trying to whelp I wouldn't be too worried. If she is trying but nothing is happening go to vet immediately. Or if you're just not sure whats happening, play it safe and go to the vet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

She's not trying to whelp and seems in good form. Gone off her food a little but is still eating.

Jimy1971 wrote: »
    She's not trying to whelp and seems in good form. Gone off her food a little but is still eating.

going off their food and a drop in body temp would be a sure sign that whelping is close most likely 4am like all mine that ever had pups

good luck with her and keep us informed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

she will more then likely have them in the next few hours.has she got sick or start panting yet.she will be close if so.also keep an eye out if starts ripping up bedding or digging up ground to nest.all tell tail signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭fitzy_fitzy

Best of luck with her jimy1971, temperature drop is sure sign.
    Vet tomorrow if still no pups. You can't beat peace of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Best of luck with her jimy1971, temperature drop is sure sign.
    Vet tomorrow if still no pups. You can't beat peace of mind.
    She grand u should never start the count until 3 days after mating so she should have them soon. only worrie i'd have is if she was a small bitch and the sire was a big fella. Then i would watch her when she starts welping. What age is she.

She started whelping about 8 o clock and has had 4 so far. Thanks for all the advice and well wishes lads.

snipe49 wrote: »
    She grand u should never start the count until 3 days after mating so she should have them soon. only worrie i'd have is if she was a small bitch and the sire was a big fella. Then i would watch her when she starts welping. What age is she.

She's 4 next month snipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭shoot to kill

Keep us posted. Hope all goes well.

6 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

6 now
    congrats pal. :)

great news now the fun begins you don't know what u have let yourself in for

snipe49 wrote: »

why would you start 3 days after mating

Ended up having 11, some size of a litter for her first.

Great news, 6 pups is manageable.
    My lab had 9 recently, some amount of shyte to clean.
    Best of luck with them.

the last time i saw it it was 6.
    Didnt see the update for some reason,

Jesus, your hands will be full now.

the last time i saw it it was 6.
    Didnt see the update for some reason,

Jesus, your hands will be full now.

Thought she was finished at 7 around half 11. But when I went back out to check she was whelping again. Lost 1. Have 4 gone already. Should be ready for the Game fair in Birr. I only live a few miles from it.

Took these last night and this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

Took these last night and this morning.

lovely litter,nicely marked,what about tail docking?bitch ate the tails down to halves on my pups,nice stroke of luck eh!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Kiltris

hathcock wrote: »
    lovely litter,nicely marked,what about tail docking?bitch ate the tails down to halves on my pups,nice stroke of luck eh!!!!!!

Some stroke of luck alright lad!!

hathcock wrote: »

as a saying goes down my neck of the woods

jaysus your as lucky as a jack Russell with 2 willies ;);)