Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keying cars - why?

• 05-07-2014 7:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭

What is wrong with those people:mad:

Just found the whole passenger side was keyed last night, probably by the crowd coming back from a pub last night.

313480.jpg

It's an old car, but the paintwork was in fairly good condition.

Makes you think twice before buying something nice.

Scumbags:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

You got it right in one - scumbaggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Degenerates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Deub

I had the same issue with my car. 3 long nice and deep scratches on the driver side. From the hood to the boot.
    It happened on a tesco car park.

From that day I decided that I will only buy second cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Guess the car: Renault Scenic?

Seriously though very sorry to hear that, op. There are few things in life that boil my blood more. Could insurance cover it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Cnuts who will never work to buy themselves a nice car cannot accept those that do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Guess the car: Renault Scenic?

Seriously though very sorry to hear that, op. There are few things in life that boil my blood more. Could insurance cover it?

Nah, i wouldn't even bother with the insurance in this case.
    It is just very annoying, at least it is on the passenger side, so don't have to look at it every day I get in.

Such a pointless crime, really. Makes no sense at all, unlessed someone secretly hates me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

oldyouth wrote: »
    Cnuts who will never work to buy themselves a nice car cannot accept those that do.

It isn't even a nice car, fortunately. Just an old banger at this stage.

I guess they do not have a car and a life really. I do hope karma will get them one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

I had similar a few weeks ago,some cnut stole my side indicator off the wing.Had to go and source parts and join wires coz they pulled it off with force:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

The lady friend took delivery of a brand spanking new mini 5 days ago, she was going out to the car to go home this morning to find a big nasty full length scratch across the bonnet.

We've cctv at the front of the house and you can clearly see 3 yobos at 2am walking past the house and about 10 seconds later a 4th yobo.

Hoping the dealer repairs it seeing as the car is only 5 days old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

The lady friend took delivery of a brand spanking new mini 5 days ago, she was going out to the car to go home this morning to find a big nasty full length scratch across the bonnet.

We've cctv at the front of the house and you can clearly see 3 yobos at 2am walking past the house and about 10 seconds later a 4th yobo.

That's absolutely disgraceful. My blood is boiling just reading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Unlikely. It's straight-up vandalism.

Particularly scummy vandalism too.

Where've all the ****ing scumbags come from lately. They're ****ing everywhere.

That is what bothers me the most, with an old car like mine I can live with that.

If that happens to someone who just spent 5, 10 or 40k on a car, it must be a shock. People work hard and treat themselves with a nice car, many of them on a finance, and some yobos take it all away from them.

I would prefer them to break into the cars - would make more sense than just vandalising for no profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

A swift kick to the balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

She's disturbingly fine about it. Myself and the 3 lads I live with are a different story.
    We've printed off the images to the best of our ability and are posting them to the 60odd houses around here.
    We're hoping in vain that someone recognises the clothes their wearing.

We live at the entrance to a cul de sac so they had to be coming from someone's house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Disgusting thing to do. Lowlifes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Be it to an old or a new car,it's an absolutely disgraceful thing to do. I can't fathom the mindset of the people that do this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Scum,

If found out you should be legally allowed go in and trash their sh1t up as retribution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Degenerates.
    I love that word. Pity it gets used so often.

Some one did the bonnet of my car and two of my friends car in one night a while back. Real deep ones too. If only we caught the person doing it, they would be a week gathering bits of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Has anyone contacted the guards when their car has been keyed? I have keyed mine accidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

To the new mini owner, sorry to hear that, but dealer unlikely to fix (for free)just because its 5 days old :mad:

Has anyone contacted the guards when their car has been keyed? I have keyed mine accidentally.

How can you do it accidentally???

It was not a scratch, it is a constant line across the side of the car. Can't be done accidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Doesn't really involve a car but we had the bins spray painted with some male anatomy by some school kids (Junior Cert or there abouts) You can clearly see the uniform, school etc on the CCTv. Went down and the school weren't interested. It merely would have been a case of who was absent at that day / time, they even had a good idea who it was anyway.

So basically, I despair for society. People don't seem to care if it doesn't directly effect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

Happened to me when I got my first brand new car a few years ago. Parked the car on a street, walked 20 metres up to an ATM, the street was practically deserted. Walked back to the car, and a big scratch across the back passenger door and rear quarter. I was literally 2 mins up to the ATM and back. Absolute scum. 800 quid to get sorted and the car was less that 2 weeks old. Just seems that there are always some out there that aren't happy when someone gets nice things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Irish people have got to be the worst in the world for begrudgery, it therefore is no surprise that people engage in such scummy behaviour towards new cars, though obviously it is appalling no matter how old or new the car is.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

She's disturbingly fine about it. Myself and the 3 lads I live with are a different story.
    We've printed off the images to the best of our ability and are posting them to the 60odd houses around here.
    We're hoping in vain that someone recognises the clothes their wearing.

We live at the entrance to a cul de sac so they had to be coming from someone's house.

That's a really good idea, fair play I hope you catch them or at least some one knows who they are and gives them a bollicking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Aye. Some toerag spilt white paint over my Honda a few years back. Wiped about 600-800 off when trading it in (impossible to get it off unless I sanded it). To this day, I've no idea who did it. No other car on the road was damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

Alchohol + bitterness + badness =

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I just don't understand it - these people never seem to think about how they would feel if it happened to them.

When I lived in Cork, my car was parked overnight in front of my house, on the street. Came downstairs one morning to find the rear passenger door completely bashed in. Complete hit and run. To this day, I don't know if it was accident, or if someone had it in for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Happened to my dads car year's ago it was a brand new merc they keyed it right the way around. They did a couple of thousand euros worth of damage. It was reported but nothing ever came of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Happened to my dads car year's ago it was a brand new merc they keyed it right the way around. They did a couple of thousand euros worth of damage. It was reported but nothing ever came of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

It's a lousy thing to do. Most keying seems to be random.