Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

190cc Petrol Lawnmower in Woodies - €100 off

• 02-07-2014 12:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭

This is not bad at all. Lidl/Aldi recently had theirs for around €220, but they have the less powerful B&S engine (149cc V this 190cc) and a much smaller grass collection. Had I not just bought Aldi's I would have jumped at this.

190cc at this price is very hard to find.

nl1pow.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

That also seems to be variable speed. Bollix anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

So what price is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Barr wrote: »
    So what price is it ?

There's a really big price tag in the photo! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Barr wrote: »
    So what price is it ?

€229

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Ahh the photo is blocked on my work PC :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭gerrykiddy

Over 60's get another 10% on a thursdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭A Law

gerrykiddy wrote: »
    Over 60's get another 10% on a thursdays.

Doesn't work on discounted stock I think. Axa card gives u 10% off anytime aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Doesn't work on discounted stock I think. Axa card gives u 10% off anytime aswell.

I still have a loyalty card from 5 years ago that works with most things (even sale items sometimes!... maybe it depends who's on the till as they type it in manually!).

Edit: Just reserved now online (no credit card needed), thanks for the link and thanks op...what a bargain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭A Law

Does that mean you're volunteering to buy it and we give you the money??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Does that mean you're volunteering to buy it and we give you the money??

Im volunteering to buy it and ye can pay to watch me cut the grass,

I use a very ancient forgotten method ...following a parabola edge with a 3:4 height differential between right and left wheels. The rotation of the blades must be kept in tune with an A 440hz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Thanks, OP. Just picked one up...I don't even have a lawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭epopnomis

So this is worth getting, anyone used it yet???? Is she purring like a kitten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭The lips

stimpson wrote: »

Nothing on the add or any other pro lawn plus 18" mower info I can find has variable speed.

I see the lever would lend us to believe it has though.

Has anyone used one or seen it in the flesh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭The lips

The lips wrote: »
    Nothing on the add or any other pro lawn plus 18" mower info I can find has variable speed.

Edit: it is variable speed using the throttle lever. Blade will slow along with wheel speed.

The lips wrote: »

It has a red speed lever on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

I think that lever is the choke.

Those engines have an automatic choke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

excuse my confusion, but is that a positive?

The current lawnmower is on its last legs, might be time to take the plunge.

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    excuse my confusion, but is that a positive?

The current lawnmower is on its last legs, might be time to take the plunge.

It is a positive. I'm saying bollix because I bought the Aldi one. This looks like a very good deal.

because I bought the Aldi one. This looks like a very good deal.

Me too, tempted to buy this and flog the Aldi one. In its favor the Aldi does have the 575EX engine with the quick start (no priming required), but the grass box on it is too small for my garden.

Looking at the specs, it's not that much more powerful - 7.5 Nm vs 8.5 Nm, and it's a couple of kilos heavier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭TimMac

Word of warning lads there have been a lot of people on this forum complaining about the back wheels falling off these within 12 months of purchase.
    might be better off spending a bit extra to get something more reliable

TimMac wrote: »
    Word of warning lads there have been a lot of people on this forum complaining about the back wheels falling off these within 12 months of purchase.
    might be better off spending a bit extra to get something more reliable

Thanks. Just reading reviews, pretty negative by and large. I might hold off on buying this one.

http://www.homebase.co.uk/en/homebaseuk/garden/garden-power-tools/lawnmowers/qualcast-46cm-petrol-rear-roller-lawn-mower---125cc-245671

Any thoughts on the Qualcast mower in Homebase with a 2 year warranty as a better option?

Just notice price is sterling, so a bit dearer.

I saw the Aldi one in my local during the week. If you're looking for peace of mind it has a 3 year guarantee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭celtic_oz

anyone buy this recently ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭breffni bogballer

Anybody have any idea about the mowers at present in aldi as of 19-3;15

It looks to be the same as last years. I had mine out last weekend for the first cut of the year. Changed the oil and put new petrol in it. Started after a few pulls and away it went.

It's a grand piece of kit for the money.

Mite just buy one so,for that money I cant go wrong with3 yr warranty as well. I had a weibang picked out for 450euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

This prolawn woodies brand will break your heart. Had two. At least with the aldi branded one it has a three year warranty and was rebranded McCullough..

b4 i buy, has anybody any knowledge of weibang mowers, never heard of them myself til 2 weeks ago thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Just picked upthe one from Aldi, seems a good deal. Was there at 9.10 - Sold out Listowel, Sold out in one tralee branch, had 1 left in the other one.

This prolawn woodies brand will break your heart. Had two. At least with the aldi branded one it has a three year warranty and was rebranded McCullough..

And McCullough is owned by Husqvarna.