Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do i need to make concrete apart from cement?

Options
  • 29-06-2014 12:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭

Have no clue about what to mix as i've no experience before.
    Heading up to Cork tomorrow to B&Q to buy some stuff to fill a small sized garden with concrete.
    Same sized garden but not mine.
    asasa.jpg

What i've in mind is to buy:
      Lafarge concrete but don't know which one to buy best, in terms of price and the weather conditions
      Not sure what else to buy, isn't gravel and mortar the same thing? correct if i'm wrong and should i consider buying it to make the concrete more durable?

All help appreciated , thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Sand and water

You can throw stones in too if you want to

This is the stuff my father always buys. Good stuff, mixing is I believe 3 parts cement and 1 part sand and water just enough so it's pourable but not too thin usually if there's no sand or cement powder there's enough water basically 3 shovels of cement to 1 shovel of sand. If it's too watery when it's laid it won't set..

Are you mixing with an electric mixer or a wheel barrow and shovel?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭redser7

You might get more info on the DIY or Construction forums Dominic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,390 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

you're buying in b&q? would you not get a better deal in a builder's merchants?