Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Tractors ever

• 27-06-2014 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭

Just wondering about peoples opinions and experiences about poor quality Tractors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Belarus, heap of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭shrubs

mf 690-swallow money and time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

IMT softer than goose shyte.
    Leylands,Early 1950's designed brakes, steering and clutches still being peddled in the late 1970's.
    Also, probably the only manufacturer to bring out a new gearbox with less gears than the one it replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

leylands ... had 2 and spent more time on the road to KK for parts than on the tractor

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

500 series MF weren't great either.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Case 4230 light ****e and waste of money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Zetor 6718 spent more time under it and over it than inside it.the worst heap of **** of ayoke of a thing that man ever made.my father bought it new and after a few days work the hitch fell off it,where ever you would take it you would have to walk home.what a heap of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

jt65 wrote: »
    leylands ... had 2 and spent more time on the road to KK for parts than on the tractor

I'd say I know where ya were gettin these parts too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

stanflt wrote: »
    Case 4230 light ****e and waste of money

Really? Our 4240 was a great worker. Just died of old age and not getting looked after well enough.
    Was it a nonturbo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Not a tractor but farm loader
    Manitou MLA 120 has to be the biggest hape of shyte I've ever had the misfortune to have here.

Bought brand new.
    1 Starter replaced within 3 hrs of arrival
    2 Cab cracked within 3 mts
    3 Cab mountings replaced 3 times
    4 New back axel within first year
    5 Plug blew on "safety valve" on main ram causing loader to drop with full grab of silage
    6 Burst pipes almost monthly
    7 Air con couldn't be got going, despite repeated attempts
    8 Several times had to ring for a lift home
    9 Two hyd pumps

This is just a flavour but believe me it was the worst built machine I've ever come across

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

not all the machines I have are on the farm, mostly on site but I have spent €15000 on breakdowns in the last 4 weeks and there are some machines only halfway through fixing

we would have normally bought new machines every 4 years but the building downturn means we are keeping yokes longer than normal and the amount of breakdowns is cruel

I have gone away for the weekend, before everything around the place is broke. A Deere 3140 with a head gasket gone, a Deere 1360 mower with probably a bearing gone, trooper peeing power steering oil and a Passat with a rounded off lock bolt on a front wheel.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I have gone away for the weekend, before everything around the place is broke. A Deere 3140 with a head gasket gone, a Deere 1360 mower with probably a bearing gone, trooper peeing power steering oil and a Passat with a rounded off lock bolt on a front wheel.:(

had that problem of the lock nut on a Passat before, it was a curse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Brother in law bought a new Valtra T202 a few years ago to do all the main tillage work and has had nothing but issues. 1st day sheared a steering bolt turning at the head land, replaced the bolt and it snapped again at the next headland. On the phone to dealer and had it taken away. Found out there was a fault in the design and a new axel had yo be fitted. CVT never worked properly so has to use the gears as normal. Every time I go over there is something wrong with it. Dealer has guaranteed him a trade in price on it when the HP is up but he won't be going Valtra again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Mf fan,had alot tractors,only bad one was6180 mf that didn't agree with the Hedgecutter.got hot then couldn't get a gear.would only happen at a bad place on the road or something.bad puller to,just sat and bounced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Zetor 6718 spent more time under it and over it than inside it.the worst heap of **** of ayoke of a thing that man ever made.my father bought it new and after a few days work the hitch fell off it,where ever you would take it you would have to walk home.what a heap of ****.

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Get a socket a size smaller, beat it on wit a sledge and that wil put manners on it.
    Rgds,
    King of gunthering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Get a socket a size smaller, beat it on wit a sledge and that wil put manners on it.
    Rgds,
    King of gunthering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

MF 390 here, blew a head gasket, had to change the radiator, pig to start, slow and ****e to pull. For all the raving some lads do about them, we got a right pig of a yoke. Sold for a valtra and not had an ounce of bother!

Rgds,
    King of gunthering.

Wont work, its an internally splined bolt head, round on the outside.

Gonna beat in a 19mm diameter bolt and try and weld it round the rim of the lock nut, see if that works. Its down deep in the rim. They cant be made of very hard stuff, so probably drillable if all else fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Damo810 wrote: »
    MF 390 here, blew a head gasket, had to change the radiator, pig to start, slow and ****e to pull. For all the raving some lads do about them, we got a right pig of a yoke. Sold for a valtra and not had an ounce of bother!

Boo ....down with that sort of thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Wont work, its an internally splined bolt head, round on the outside.

Gonna beat in a 19mm diameter bolt and try and weld it round the rim of the lock nut, see if that works. Its down deep in the rim. They cant be made of very hard stuff, so probably drillable if all else fails.

Happened before to me. Hammer and chiesel did the trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Leave it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reggie. wrote: »

Correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

they all have their problems, had to put a new block in 390t after about 6 months when a valve went, new clutch in tm125 after 12 hours. In the 70's my dad bought a new zetor crystal it was the bees knees and later that year he bought another of the exact same model as he had alot of work on, it was ****e, never ending trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Had a 390 here a few years ago was a nice handy tractor but the famous "pin" went in the gearbox costing a nice few euro in labour replacing..clutches at very soft too....new massey 5610 arriving here next week so aint goin to slate the masseys to much..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Had a 390 here a few years ago was a nice handy tractor but the famous "pin" went in the gearbox costing a nice few euro in labour replacing..clutches at very soft too....new massey 5610 arriving here next week so aint goin to slate the masseys to much..;)

Neighbour has one, little peach of a tractor

Ye won't be disappointed. Lovely tractor. Bit hard on juice though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Ye won't be disappointed. Lovely tractor. Bit hard on juice though

Yea?...even with the 3 pot sisu engine??

Ye a small bit. Ours is none stop since we got her. It wouldn't use a whole lot more but ye would notice a diff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Reggie. wrote: »

Thats why I thought this would be a more interesting thread than the best tractor one, the amount of lads that rave about 300 series Mf's and we ended up with a c**t of a yoke.

Theres good and bad to each, even if I think those 300's were completely overrated/overpriced in the first place! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Thats why I thought this would be a more interesting thread than the best tractor one, the amount of lads that rave about 300 series Mf's and we ended up with a c**t of a yoke.

Theres good and bad to each, even if I think those 300's were completely overrated/overpriced in the first place! :D
    Can't disagree with that