Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW Golf 05 tdi 180k, no service history? Would you chance it?

• 27-06-2014 5:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭

Vw golf van could be bought for 1800 euro but no service history , straight enough body would u chance it , or can service history be traced through main dealer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nope.
    High milage no history is a pure lucky dip. If your really keen, offer €500..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭893bet

Miles or Km?

O5 car should be in KM but bot sure what you are measuring in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭893bet

Miles or Km?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Thousand euro max. A single injector for those yokes is about €350 plus fitting.At that milage she is getting ready for some spendy attention. Clutch and flywheel close to a €1000 plus fitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

in a lot of cases service history means no more than a stamped log book

I'd prefer a high milage tdi than one that was doing city stop/start driving any day

05 vans are rare enough and making a lot more than 1800 even with higher mileage

"if it's too good to be true it usually is",,,, need to suss out the van and the seller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Depends on whether you're a gambling man or not.

Buy it and drive it if something goes bang it'll always be worth a few pound, if nothing goes wrong you've a cheap van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

If you pay around 1k for it and it runs for a year or so before something major breaks you probably got your moneys worth.

I wouldn't personally but some would argue it's a risk worth taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭PANADOL

Just to recap its 180k miles v clean body , I'll have a gamble I bought a citreon xantia diesel for 300 a few years back great yoke had it for 2 yrs there was over 200k on it ,my theory being all the money has been spent on these yokes , to get them to that millage

well at least knock the price of a new timing belt fitment off the asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

thats alot of milage, its prob looking for its second flywheel and clutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    well at least knock the price of a new timing belt fitment off the asking price.

How much do you think an 05 Golf Van is worth????? Peanuts seems to be your suggestion.

With DOE, Tax and straight enough, that's a 4-5 grand van - Car Vans are getting silly money at the moment.

€1,800 for an 05 Golf van that runs, is a feckin bargain - even with no history at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Golf vans go for serious money even high mileage ones. €1800 seems cheap imo which would raise some suspicions with me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

rs8 wrote: »
    thats alot of milage, its prob looking for its second flywheel and clutch

My 08 is on around 240K Miles at the minute, only swapped the flywheel last year and still in perfect running order. 180k - plenty of miles left in the engine.

893bet wrote: »
    Miles or Km?

284k km approx 180k miles ?

R.O.R wrote: »
    How much do you think an 05 Golf Van is worth????? Peanuts seems to be your suggestion.

With DOE, Tax and straight enough, that's a 4-5 grand van - Car Vans are getting silly money at the moment.

€1,800 for an 05 Golf van that runs, is a feckin bargain - even with no history at all.
    Got if for 1500 engine running well first thing is cambelt change at 350 from vw, it could be a lemon at that money worth the risk!

R.O.R wrote: »

Got if for 1500 engine running well first thing is cambelt change at 350 from vw, it could be a lemon at that money worth the risk!

Well done ! now to fit the tow-bar and offer up the Ifor Williams!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Cheap van even if it needed a timming belt and even if it needs a clutch down the road. A clean 05 one would make 4-5k euro so it's worth spending a couple of quid on it too get it right.

Comes with tow bar !