Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking on the bus

• 26-06-2014 11:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭

I was on a 29A to town this morning at about 11.00. In raheny some woman came on, sat down and opened up a can of Druids. The smell of it was revolting.
    I didn't report it to the driver Incase she did any thing to me.
    Has any one come across this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

all the time on the 7 / 45a

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I was on a 29A to town this morning at about 11.00. In raheny some woman came on, sat down and opened up a can of Druids. The smell of it was revolting.
    I didn't report it to the driver Incase she did any thing to me.
    Has any one come across this before.

Your first journey on public transport in Ireland i take it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Your first journey on public transport in Ireland i take it?

yeah....grew up out that way and encountered plenty more than a can of cider on the 29A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Riskymove wrote: »
    yeah....grew up out that way and encountered plenty more than a can of cider on the 29A

Sadly,this practice is rapidly worsening.

For example,my last week of early duties,with a first departure of 0640 saw me harvesting up to 6 empty Cider and Lager cans each day after the journey.

What also comes to mind is the obvious hand to mouth coordination issues which many of these drinkers have,as the amount of spilt-drink on the floor was significant.

Whenever I spot a can-hoarder boarding I ALWAYS remark on it and ask them not to drink on the bus....I'm generally ignored or told to "Mind your own Fxcukkin Business....Bud"...however I have,and would continue to,stop a journey until a drinker either ditched the can or left the bus.

Busdrivers alone,cannot and will not sole this problem (and it IS a Problem) without the active assistance of the remainder of the customer base.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

But yet we tolerate and indeed defend drinking on trains.

As I've said before, consumption of alcohol on any mode of public transport should be illegal - end of! It only takes one who can't handle his/her drink to ruin the entire journey for every other passenger.

I know we're obsessed with "having a drink" in this country, but surely we can all survive for at most a few hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Doesn't particularly bother me once the drinker keeps themselves to themselves for the duration of their journey.Lad on the 76 some mornings consumes cider for his journey to Ballyfermot but sits there quietly whilst doing so,unlike the group of 20 somethings I encountered on the 13 a few weeks back on their way to the 40 foot already messily drunk at 11.45am.Or the usual messers on the last bus to town on a Friday/Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,327 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

AlekSmart wrote: »
    What also comes to mind is the obvious hand to mouth coordination issues which many of these drinkers have,as the amount of spilt-drink on the floor was significant.

if you drove more smoothly, they wouldn't spill so much - everyone wins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Busdrivers alone,cannot and will not sole this problem (and it IS a Problem) without the active assistance of the remainder of the customer base.

I note the word 'active' which I take to mean actual intervention - do you mean we should have a word with the miscreant or attempt to take the can off him? Or what had you in mind when you say 'active assistance'?

Is there a DB compensation fund to fix up my face when his mate or girlfriend slashes me with a knife?

You're safe behind your barrier, sorry but the rest of know when to keep our mouths shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,279 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    But yet we tolerate and indeed defend drinking on trains.

As I've said before, consumption of alcohol on any mode of public transport should be illegal - end of! It only takes one who can't handle his/her drink to ruin the entire journey for every other passenger.

I know we're obsessed with "having a drink" in this country, but surely we can all survive for at most a few hours?

It is already illegal to eat and drink on Dublin Bus.

From the Dublin Bus bye-laws:
    43. No person shall consume alcoholic drinks or other beverages or food while on the vehicle.

It is illegal to consume alcohol on Bus Eireann:

48. A passenger shall not consume alcoholic drinks, hot beverages or hot food
    on a vehicle.

49. A passenger shall not be in possession of any open bottle, or container,
    of intoxicating liquor.

Irish Rail is more lenient:
    16. No person in a state of intoxication shall enter or remain upon the railway or in any vehicle

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Not much point in having by laws when they are not enforced. I got the DART from Grand Canal on the 14th. Had to run as it was coming into the station when I got there so ended up on the back carriage. The smell hit me first and then the sight of two seats completely covered in vomit nearly turned my stomach.
    I have often seen drinking on the DART and on the bus. Smoking is pretty common too.

I actually have no problem with people drinking on the bus or in public. I have more of a problem where they are drinking to get drunk and causing a disturbance. So I guess the problem is the people rather than the alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

lxflyer wrote: »

[/SIZE][/FONT]

Irish Rail is more lenient

16. No person in a state of intoxication shall enter or remain upon the railway or in any vehicle:

I often see people entering the Waterford train in a state of intoxication. Yesterday I got the 3.10 from Heuston and just before the train departed a reasonably well-dressed man staggered onto the train, can in hand. He sat opposite me and I had to move because he kept belching beer fumes into my face.

Another time I got on the train at Carlow and the only place to sit was a carriage with a group of drunk men, again reasonably well-dressed. I think they must have been on a stag. One guy was particularly bad and I think he went to the door to relieve himself when the train stopped at Athy. His mates pulled him back. They were constantly pulling him back because he kept getting up from his seat and reeling around the carriage.

I often see groups of people getting onto the train with drink on them. It's hard to detect when they're getting on but it's obvious when they're on the train.

Ireland! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I have to say very rarely have trouble with people drinking on the bus as mostly its the last bus or 2nd last into town and they have a bit of a laugh usually upstairs.
    This I have absolutely no problem as they are happy and once keeping to themselves and not starting on others I deem this ok as it's better then having to deal with other thicks or arrogant or aggresive people whom for some reason I come across quite a lot.

I fully get what the op is saying as sometimes some drinks can be quite strong but do recommend having a few windows open anyway as it's good to have some fresh air.

Sure today for example it's not very sunny but wasn't cold but yet this 1 gets on and closes every single window on the bus as she is the 1st on at the terminus.

I was young like everybody else at one point:pac: and myself use to have a few drinks while heading into town and the buzz use to be great as you nwould have a laugh and bit of craic with others on the bus. Still have the odd drink on way into town whether on Dart or bus :D sure why not when your not been a fool and bothering others.

I have more trouble during the day with thicks then at night and that's even without drink so maybe something else there on.

Had a go on the DB Ghost Bus and brought few beers on that and had a great night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Emme wrote: »
    I often see people entering the Waterford train in a state of intoxication. Yesterday I got the 3.10 from Heuston and just before the train departed a reasonably well-dressed man staggered onto the train, can in hand. He sat opposite me and I had to move because he kept belching beer fumes into my face.

Another time I got on the train at Carlow and the only place to sit was a carriage with a group of drunk men, again reasonably well-dressed. I think they must have been on a stag. One guy was particularly bad and I think he went to the door to relieve himself when the train stopped at Athy. His mates pulled him back. They were constantly pulling him back because he kept getting up from his seat and reeling around the carriage.

I often see groups of people getting onto the train with drink on them. It's hard to detect when they're getting on but it's obvious when they're on the train.

Ireland! :rolleyes:

The entire Waterford-Dublin line is an utter basket case.

It has a mix of a bunch of scummy towns and stag/hen/party towns as destinations so it is horrible most of the week and worse at the weekends.

I feel sorry for anyone commuting on it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

coylemj wrote: »
    I note the word 'active' which I take to mean actual intervention - do you mean we should have a word with the miscreant or attempt to take the can off him? Or what had you in mind when you say 'active assistance'?

Is there a DB compensation fund to fix up my face when his mate or girlfriend slashes me with a knife?

You're safe behind your barrier, sorry but the rest of know when to keep our mouths shut.

Sorry coylemj,you "take it" wrong...:)

Perhaps I should just have left it at "assistance" then ?

I'd be happy to have ye come down and tell me that there's drinking goin on,that's "active" enough for me...I'll do the rest,and you can sit elsewhere and just observe.

Passive,is keeping schtum,OR gettin on the keyboard at home after the event and firing off an e-mail to the company givin out that the Busdriver did nothing about it ......:(

As Kaiser2000 sez,this tolerance for boozin on the move is waay to comfortable in our society,but the closed mouth response is one sure way of gettin nothing done about anything...however if it floats yer boat,work away ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

For example,my last week of early duties,with a first departure of 0640 saw me harvesting up to 6 empty Cider and Lager cans each day after the journey.

Whenever I spot a can-hoarder boarding I ALWAYS remark on it and ask them not to drink on the bus....I'm generally ignored or told to "Mind your own Fxcukkin Business....Bud"...however I have,and would continue to,stop a journey until a drinker either ditched the can or left the bus.

It is a problem but it won't be solved by relying on other customers to sort it out, that may work sometimes on certain routes where ordinary decent passengers greatly outnumber the scumbags but that's not true on all routes, what is needed is a public transport Gardai unit, that operates across all operators, focusing particularly on problem areas, on the Luas, Bus and Dart, not doing a DB ticket checking job were they specifically avoid problem areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

what I've seen several times is a driver tell people getting on that they either leave their cans in the baggage hold beside the front door, or their not getting on.
    of course this in one of the nicer parts of Dublin, I'm sure it wouldn't work on every route.