Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toilet/phone etiquette

• 26-06-2014 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭

I know most of us now bring our smartphones into the toilet with us to fend off any fleeting moments of boredom by playing Candy Crush or whatever, but I'm wondering what people think of making phonecalls while sitting on the jacks? The reason I'm asking is because of an incident that happened in work the other day. Apologies in advance to anybody who doesn't like reading about toilet based activities.

I was in the gents, in one of two cubicles, minding my own business. I heard the door open and a colleague walked in having a conversation with someone (didn't recognise the voice). I realised that he was on the phone, seemingly on a wireless headset from what I could tell (I could hear a lot of what was being said on the other end). What surprised me was when he went into the next cubicle and proceeded to noisily evacuate his bowels without so much as a pause in his conversation! This went on for as long as these things take, while I'm in the next cubicle trying not to laugh. From the tone of the conversation I got the impression that he was talking to his wife/girlfriend. I've no idea whether the person on the other end had any idea what was going on, but I'd be surprised if they didn't. It might be something he does regularly!

Anyway, I don't think I'd ever make a phonecall while taking a dump, it would feel like there was someone in there with me, and I certainly wouldn't do so in a shared facility! What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I know most of us now bring our smartphones into the toilet with us to fend off any fleeting moments of boredom by playing Candy Crush or whatever, but I'm wondering what people think of making phonecalls while sitting on the jacks? The reason I'm asking is because of an incident that happened in work the other day. Apologies in advance to anybody who doesn't like reading about toilet based activities.

I was in the gents, in one of two cubicles, minding my own business. I heard the door open and a colleague walked in having a conversation with someone (didn't recognise the voice). I realised that he was on the phone, seemingly on a wireless headset from what I could tell (I could hear a lot of what was being said on the other end). What surprised me was when he went into the next cubicle and proceeded to noisily evacuate his bowels without so much as a pause in his conversation! This went on for as long as these things take, while I'm in the next cubicle trying not to laugh. From the tone of the conversation I got the impression that he was talking to his wife/girlfriend. I've no idea whether the person on the other end had any idea what was going on, but I'd be surprised if they didn't. It might be something he does regularly!

Anyway, I don't think I'd ever make a phonecall while taking a dump, it would feel like there was someone in there with me, and I certainly wouldn't do so in a shared facility! What do you think?

It's gross all right, the person at the other end can always hear what's going on (pissing etc)- I know I've been that person. I suppose we can be thankful no-one's invented the Smellophone yet. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No I'd be paranoid they could hear and that gives me stagefright.
    I'd text and all that but even I'd draw the line at a chat while pooping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

I answered the phone whilst in the shower the day but probably wouldn't while ET was going home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

What kind of savage would do such a thing? Sitting on the throne is one of the last chances to experience true mindfulness in this crazy, technology driven world. I don't agree with having any distractions. I can only imagine being on the phone to someone, only to have them pause for a second, sigh, and then to hear a sound that sounds like a box of shoes being thrown out of an attic. Just ignorance of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

My Phone always Rings when I'm squeezing one out, I always answer and tell them I'm taking a sh1t, most people don't care

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

From the tone of the conversation I got the impression that he was talking to his wife/girlfriend. I've no idea whether the person on the other end had any idea what was going on, but I'd be surprised if they didn't.

Since this happened the other day, I'm guessing this guy is probably now separated or has a new ex-girlfriend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I do most of my boards posting sitting on the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jikashi

I was chatting to my girlfriend at home one night when I needed to answer the call of nature. I took her off speaker and lillypadded a bit of loo roll to mask the sound. I finished my business quietly, then like a fool I instinctively hit the flush without thinking to cover the mic, and give the game away XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I mod when on the loo. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

I Skype my nan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sedgyfego is some woman to use her phone in the shower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ruu wrote: »
    I mod when on the loo. :p

So your ivory tower is a more porcelain throne then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I answered the phone whilst in the shower the day but probably wouldn't while ET was going home..

I don't get it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,833 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Thread stinks.

/Exits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I think its disgusting....

I was in public toilet the other day, and while washing my hands, there is a guy taking a leak and has the phone pressed to his ear. You should have seen the look he gave me when I used the very noisy hand dryer.....especially when I used it the second time, just to sure my hands were dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

As long as he did the customary 20 "ok bye bye bye bye" at the end i dont see the issue

wprathead wrote: »
    As long as he did the customary 20 "ok bye bye bye bye" at the end i dont see the issue

To his poo or into the phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I know most of us now bring our smartphones into the toilet with us to fend off any fleeting moments of boredom by playing Candy Crush or whatever

Your joking right? Please tell me most of us don't actually do that??

At 27 years old I think I can handle a dump without getting bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Aglomerado wrote: »
    To his poo or into the phone?

To the phone.. he can't take a snapchat of his poo if he is still on phone ya see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

the_monkey wrote: »
    I don't get it ?

I call my poo ET due to the similarity of their appearance.. :o

Excrement-Terrestrials :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I cherish my toilet time, especially when I set off to do a number 2. No way could I hold a conversation with someone while on the toilet. I hate people even talking to me from the cubicle beside me. G'way!! :mad: Thankfully in work the toilets aren't like that, we have the toilet and sink all in one. Utter bliss to concentrate on the task at hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

but probably wouldn't while ET was going home..

Is this a euphuism for taking a dump? If so, fair play. Will be stealing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I regret asking now :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

It's bad.

But eating a chicken baguette while taking a dump is worse.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    It's bad.

But eating a chicken baguette while taking a dump is worse.

GET OUT! :mad:

Who does that? Ugh, yuck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Your joking right? Please tell me most of us don't actually do that??

At 27 years old I think I can handle a dump without getting bored.

Well I definitely do not bring my smartphone into the loo with me to read boards while sh1tting. No way. :shiftyeyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

GET OUT! :mad:

Who does that? Ugh, yuck!

Worked with somebody who did that a couple of times. Mid 2000s. "Too busy" to eat lunch in the kitchen like everybody else.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Worked with somebody who did that a couple of times. Mid 2000s. "Too busy" to eat lunch in the kitchen like everybody else.

He/She should be taken out and shot with balls of their own shíte. That'll learn them.

Ewww!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Someone suggested that to me before.. I was badly hungover and asked a co worker to get me a chicken fillet roll in the shop. Only problem was my break wasn't for another hour.

"Where could I eat this and not be seen?" I asked.

"Go into the jacks" he says.

Eat my breakfast with some hoor getting sick out through his ass in the cubicle next to me? No thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I was having a conference call a few years ago with about 30 other colleagues. One of the managers nobody liked was talking about sales targets when we heard a flushing toilet. Everyone giggled. Manager went on a rant for a minute about it. Nobody admitted blame, not even me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Someone got awfully offended when they found out i was texting them on the loo. I see nothing wrong with it.

I wouldn't eat anything in the toilets though thats a bit weird!

I think there is a clear line though between guys and girls on this topic though

Any girls i know are disgusted but the lads are grand, one of my mates texted asking if i wanted a game yesterday, told him gimme 15 mins as I was busy and he replied telling me to have a good sh*t

Eat my breakfast with some hoor getting sick out through his ass in the cubicle next to me? No thanks!

That is a beautiful phrase. :D

Years ago in NUIG I was in a toilet off the concourse and heard someone rustling tin foil in the trap next door, followed by munching and smacking sounds.
    Gross...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I hope he didn't hear you evacuating yours!