Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1.8 tfsi for city driving

• 26-06-2014 6:38am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭

I do 6000 miles a year. A lot of that is city driving - Lots of traffic lights, stopping, speed bumps etc in the heart of Dublin city centre.

Thinking of an A3 and the 1.8 tfsi engine. From 2009 / 10.

Anyone know if these would be a killer on juice in around the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I do 6000 miles a year. A lot of that is city driving - Lots of traffic lights, stopping, speed bumps etc in the heart of Dublin city centre.

Thinking of an A3 and the 1.8 tfsi engine. From 2009 / 10.

Anyone know if these would be a killer on juice in around the city.

I drive a 1.8Tfsi A5 and to be honest it would be heavy enough on petrol in city driving like that. Having said that you are doing tiny mileage so might be a nice enough choice. Less issues and less maintenance than a diesel. Going diesel would be madness anyway at the tiny mileage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭tom_tarbucket

mickdw wrote: »
    I drive a 1.8Tfsi A5 and to be honest it would be heavy enough on petrol in city driving like that. Having said that you are doing tiny mileage so might be a nice enough choice. Less issues and less maintenance than a diesel. Going diesel would be madness anyway at the tiny mileage.

Thanks. But the A5 is a fair lump of a machine and would be heavier than the a3 - I think anyways.

Is yours manual ?

Any real world idea of mpg for the city driving ? Like eoukd it be closer to 20 or 30 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Thanks. But the A5 is a fair lump of a machine and would be heavier than the a3 - I think anyways.

Is yours manual ?

Any real world idea of mpg for the city driving ? Like eoukd it be closer to 20 or 30 ?

Manual and the A5 is 170 bhp.
    I get just about 30 mpg mixed driving.
    sitting in stop start traffic impossible to say what mpg would be but in any kind of repetitive stop start situation, I say low 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭ei9go

Think a Nissan leaf is the obvious answer to 6000 miles city driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Stop start city driving is terrible for fuel consumption in any car. I would guess around 25mpg.

Go for a small Micra type car if your concerned. Or a push bike.

Thanks, but I need a car.
    And just want one with a bit of go that wont crucify me on MPG - and a diesel would not suit this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭sham58107

I had a 2.0lt tfsi and had to sell just got rid of it(very hard to sell) and it was drinking juice,about 120 km for 50euro and about 80km of that was getting to city and back on N roads.Car was very light and fast but very thirsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

11mpg? The car was either veeeery heavily modified or had some problem.

I think the 1.8tfsi is a good choice. 160bhp in the A3 so should be decent around town. Nothing is going to be overly efficient around town but it's not going to break the bank, especially at that annual mileage.

sham58107 wrote: »
    I had a 2.0lt tfsi and had to sell just got rid of it(very hard to sell) and it was drinking juice,about 120 km for 50euro and about 80km of that was getting to city and back on N roads.Car was very light and fast but very thirsty.

hmmmmm interesting, so even though its a relatively light car.

Jaysus christ, getting 120 km from 50 euro worth of petrol is absolutely terrible, are you sure that's right ? that works out like 30 litres per 100km or roughly 12 MPG !

Wonder would a 1.4 tfsi improve things or is that just as thirsty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Thanks, but I need a car.
    And just want one with a bit of go that wont crucify me on MPG - and a diesel would not suit this

Quick cars that have good MPG in city driving don't really exist. Why do you want a car 'with a bit of go' for city driving? Where would you drive it fast?

Maybe try a Honda Civic.

How much are you willing to spend? Budget must be decent enough if you're thinking of a 09/10 Audi.

hmmmmm interesting, so even though its a relatively light car.

Jaysus christ, getting 120 km from 50 euro worth of petrol is absolutely terrible, are you sure that's right ? that works out like 30 litres per 100km or roughly 12 MPG !

Wonder would a 1.4 tfsi improve things or is that just as thirsty

Yes was a Leon Cupra 2008 with Audi engine, not modified but as I said very fast and thirsty,1.4 would be great I now have a 1.8 (not tfsi) and notice a huge difference.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Quick cars that have good MPG in city driving don't really exist. Why do you want a car 'with a bit of go' for city driving? Where would you drive it fast?

Maybe try a Honda Civic.

How much are you willing to spend? Budget must be decent enough if you're thinking of a 09/10 Audi.

Ah I just like my bit of speed now and then like. I'm not a boy racer or anything

Willing to spend about 15,000

OSI wrote: »
    I find that very hard to believe. I have the 2.0 TFSI in my GTI and a tank at €80 will last at least 400km of stop start Dublin City Centre driving, and I by no means have a light foot. And that's with the DSG to which should be marginally thirstier.

I came on to give OP some advice not get into slanging match about fuel consumption in other cars with fuel light on in my car 50 euro in tank light was back on after 120-150km.
    Also as golf has 65 ltr. tank can you tell me where you can buy petrol at 1.22 a litre. Its 1.57 down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You will have some job finding a 1.8 TSi A3 in this country.

Also most similar cars whether petrol or diesel will be not be great on fuel if driven mostly in cities. All that constant start/stopping kills fuel economy This is where hybrids come into their own but being honest if you are only doing 6000 miles per year then fuel economy becomes less of a deciding factor especially if spending €15k on the car itself.

I think something like a Prius is probably more suitable, it is still capable on the open road too as it has a 1.8 litre petrol engine under the bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Something like this might be to your liking;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-golf-gt-sport-1-4tsi-140bhp/6907101

Are they really 140bhp though?

Yes, they were available in 122bhp, 140bhp and 170bhp.

OSI wrote: »
    The 170 is best avoided though.

I hear the 140 bhp is not great either

bazz26 wrote: »
    You will have some job finding a 1.8 TSi A3 in this country.

Also most similar cars whether petrol or diesel will be not be great on fuel if driven mostly in cities. All that constant start/stopping kills fuel economy This is where hybrids come into their own but being honest if you are only doing 6000 miles per year then fuel economy becomes less of a deciding factor especially if spending €15k on the car itself.

I think something like a Prius is probably more suitable, it is still capable on the open road too as it has a 1.8 litre petrol engine under the bonnet.

I know yeah, very hard to find. Yeah I just dont like the look of a prius

How do people think the 1.4 tfsi engine would be in traffic ?
    Would it also eat petrol ?

OP, if you are only doing 6k miles per year then don't let fuel economy rule your choice, it really becomes less important when doing such low annual mileage. The 1.4 TSi has 122bhp and is perfectly fine, even the old 80bhp VAG 1.4 litre with only 80bhp will move through busy traffic without issue.

I know its only 6000 miles but I tell ya, it all adds up like.

Not saying go out and buy a V8 monster but spending €15k on the car and expected depreciation are going to cost you more than worrying about a few mpg when only driving 6k miles per year. My point is that fuel consumption will be the least of your motoring costs.

I know its only 6000 miles but I tell ya, it all adds up like.

At 120 miles a week the different between 25 and 40 mpg is €13. You won't get 40mpg with urban driving anyway so that saving is even less.

Not saying go out and buy a V8 monster but spending €15k on the car and expected depreciation are going to cost you more than worrying about a few mpg when only driving 6k miles per year. My point is that fuel consumption will be the least of your motoring costs.

Thanks. Understood.

At 120 miles a week the different between 25 and 40 mpg is €13. You won't get 40mpg with urban driving anyway so that saving is even less.

Still about 700 quid extra a year ; )

I'm slow as feck tonight, how did you work this all out.

Work the cost per week for both.

120 miles divided by mpg gives number of gallons. Multiply by 4.545 for litres, multiply by 1.6 (price per litre) approx for cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Better off getting a 1.8 Civic 140bhp for half the price of the A3 IMO, TFSI engine can have turbo issue like the diesels too in city driving, alot of the A3 tfsi come with DSG which does give trouble.

Not a city engine IMO.

Y2KBOS86 wrote: »
    Better off getting a 1.8 Civic 140bhp for half the price of the A3 IMO, TFSI engine can have turbo issue like the diesels too in city driving, alot of the A3 tfsi come with DSG which does give trouble.

Not a city engine IMO.

right, thanks.

I thought the tfsi engines are fine at 122 bhp, and its only the 140 and 160, 170 bhp's that give the issues

in regard to the 1.4 tfsi and specifically the 122 bhp engine. How would this be economy wise

It seems the VAG group have similar engines, the tfsi and the tsi.

The 1.4 T FSI engine seems to be in the Audi's.

The 1.4 T SI engine seems to be in the VW / Seat / Skoda

Can anyone tell me the difference between the tsi and tfsi engines or are they more a less the same ?

They are the same engine. It won't cost an arm and a leg to fuel either.

thanks , good to hear.

I know they are a petrol engine and they have a turbo and are relatively quick.................but they also seem to be designed with economy in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

I drove a rental Golf 1.2TSI 105bhp over a weekend, was nippy enough I thought with 4 adults and 1 kid, could get upper 40mpg, although not around town.

What happened to the E60?

rocky wrote: »
    I drove a rental Golf 1.2TSI 105bhp over a weekend, was nippy enough I thought with 4 adults and 1 kid, could get upper 40mpg, although not around town.

What happened to the E60?

E60 is going strong.

This 1.4 tfsi is for herself - and for me sometimes ; )