Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Permanent in place slurry piping

• 22-06-2014 10:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭

I have a tank that is 125 meters away from a piggery, and want to put in place a permanent pipe underground from the piggery tank to the empty tank. So, I just hook up my pump to the tractor every now and again at the piggery and pump away. What type of piping would I be looking for. Is there something in a co - op that would be readily available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Will sewer pipes work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

I have a tank that is 125 meters away from a piggery, and want to put in place a permanent pipe underground from the piggery tank to the empty tank. So, I just hook up my pump to the tractor every now and again at the piggery and pump away. What type of piping would I be looking for. Is there something in a co - op that would be readily available
    As it's going to be permanent it'll probably be underground, so how about the 4" water pipes used for main water & put a fitting at either end to connect the pipe system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

moy83 wrote: »
    Will sewer pipes work ?

Not under pressure. It was suggested but shot down straight away.
    I wonder what lengths the suction hose for filling a vacuum tank comes in.

Farrell wrote: »
    As it's going to be permanent it'll probably be underground, so how about the 4" water pipes used for main water & put a fitting at either end to connect the pipe system

That might be an option. Do you know how each length of that type of pipe is joined

Not under pressure. It was suggested but shot down straight away.
    I wonder what lengths the suction hose for filling a vacuum tank comes in.

3 meter I think .
    I wouldnt rule out the sewer pipes just yet . Where are they going to go if they are under ground and well back filled . You could throw down a bit of concrete around the joints if you were worried about them loosening

That might be an option. Do you know how each length of that type of pipe is joined

Not a clue, would it be plastic welded in some way

3 meter I think .
    I wouldnt rule out the sewer pipes just yet . Where are they going to go if they are under ground and well back filled . You could throw down a bit of concrete around the joints if you were worried about them loosening

It's for the day job (not on my own place, no problem using 150 mm sewer pipes at home😆) the owner of the piggery wasn't too enamoured with the idea.

Not a clue, would it be plastic welded in some way

That was what I was thinking. That could be a problem to get someone to do plastic welding as a nixer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Would you be better off putting down a concrete duct and pulling a flexible pipe through it ?

Be easier to unblock / replace if it went bad

pig slurry pumping thingy below

It's for the day job (not on my own place, no problem using 150 mm sewer pipes at home😆) the owner of the piggery wasn't too enamoured with the idea.

Ah something you have to stand over , I see :D
    I saw some 5/6" real heavy guage gun barrel in a hotel I was working in a couple of weeks ago . It was about 5 meter lengths and bolted together on the joints and , it had fine shut off valves and stuff that I thought could look useful for coupling up to a slurry tank :D
    It was for water and I don't know would the slurry rot the steel but ill put up a few pictures if I'm in there during the week . Not cheap I'd imagine though .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Seen a good few pics of setups over in England for doing similar lengths, most just use ordinary sewer pipes or else the twin wall stuff, they concrete the joints normally, then just back fill carefully with loose material to make sure it packs well

Zr105 wrote: »
    Seen a good few pics of setups over in England for doing similar lengths, most just use ordinary sewer pipes or else the twin wall stuff, they concrete the joints normally, then just back fill carefully with loose material to make sure it packs well

Dead sand all around it , whacked and the joints concreted . I can't see there being anything much better . Maybe the only downfall would be damage of heavy machinery travelling over it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

I have an 8 inch sewer pipe running under concrete yard for 100 metres from slatted tank to slurry store. Works well no problems with it so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Would a flexible pipe like the umbilica contractors lads use not do, wouldn't take long to roll up that length and no worrying about an underground pipe leaking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Uphill or downhill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Tbe (various sizes) of water mains pipes in 4m lengths take up to 10 bar (150 psi) pressure and just pushed together to join.
    The 100m rolls take up to 15 bar (225 psi) are plastic fusion welded. Simple done if you have the kit - connected to probes for specific length of time and you done.
    Both pipes be pressure tested to one and a half times these figures before been certified but only recommended for 30 mins. Ones used on water scheme here nade by Wavin.
    There company (i think) in Cootehill Co.Cavan that make hosing and would presume to whatever length you need. Not sure of name but can can try an find out if you interested.

Would hope that slurry not all blown out by you 'sponge ball' thingy would not cause a problem in subsequent pumpings. Should be no different to conventional umbilical system

I saw some 5/6" real heavy guage gun barrel in a hotel I was working in a couple of weeks ago . It was about 5 meter lengths and bolted together on the joints and , it had fine shut off valves and stuff that I thought could look useful for coupling up to a slurry tank :D
    It was for water and I don't know would the slurry rot the steel but ill put up a few pictures if I'm in there during the week . Not cheap I'd imagine though .

It's not something that's in our contract. It's more or less doing the owners a favour while we have machinery on site. (Leverage for when something if fecked up later in the job, I'm sure) i need to have the section under the yard area (approx 30 meters) installed by the end of the week as the concrete yard is being poured middle of next week. The 100 mm or 150 mm water main sounds like it could be an option if it come in long enough lenghts. Cost is also an issuse. .... Farmer paying for 5 he pipe, we are doing the digging FOC

keep going wrote: »
    Uphill or downhill?

From the piggery to the tank is slightly downhill

Tbe (various sizes) of water mains pipes in 4m lengths take up to 10 bar (150 psi) pressure and just pushed together to join.
    The 100m rolls take up to 15 bar (225 psi) are plastic fusion welded. Simple done if you have the kit - connected to probes for specific length of time and you done.
    Both pipes be pressure tested to one and a half times these figures before been certified but only recommended for 30 mins. Ones used on water scheme here nade by Wavin.
    There company (i think) in Cootehill Co.Cavan that make hosing and would presume to whatever length you need. Not sure of name but can can try an find out if you interested.

Would hope that slurry not all blown out by you 'sponge ball' thingy would not cause a problem in subsequent pumpings. Should be no different to conventional umbilical system

The water main piping that is pushed together and take 10 bar sound like what I could be looking for.

If you could find out the name of that company in cootehill, I appreciate it. There is no harm in giving them a buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

The water main piping that is pushed together and take 10 bar sound like what I could be looking for.

If you could find out the name of that company in cootehill, I appreciate it. There is no harm in giving them a buzz.

You are in Cork if I remember correctly. Longs in little island do civil eng supplies so they might be worth a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I think sewer piper would do, as well it has the added advantage that the inner walls of the pipe are designed not to allow sewerage to stick to same. With a little fall they would tend to be self cleaning or a few hundref gallons of water after uses would clean same. The danger with any of these systems is when empty is the bugs they hold multiply legionaires disease is a serious issue with static water.

However any such system would have samer issue. It is a matter of being aware and if doing any repairs being aware of hygiene etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Vacuum pipe and steel will cost too much. Complete overkill for what you are doing. If client won't accept sewer pipe, water main is the next best thing. I think you can get long rolls so joints won't be an issue. Then get a flange connector for each end of the plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

What do farmers use in uk for permanent umbilical underground pipes. Heard of them doing this. Also any ball park figures for the different pipes

cjpm wrote: »
    You are in Cork if I remember correctly. Longs in little island do civil eng supplies so they might be worth a call.

It's for my day job. The job is in Co. Down. But I know longs have a place in Belfast too. I might ball into the little island depot and see what they have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

If you want a proper job you'll need HDPE but fusion welded pipes. MDPE would probably be okay as well (slightly cheaper). There are 2 main pipe ratings SDR 11 & 17. SDR 17 would be okay here again slightly cheaper than the SDR 11.

This is a heavy duty plastic pipe used on watermains and rising sewer mains. (the yellow gas pipes are similar type product). Ends a welded together for joints with a special welder. Larger bore pipes come in lengths but smaller bores can be got in coils so no welding required. I would suggest at least 100mm pipe and would prefer a 150mm pipe. If slurry was watery smaller bores like 80mm would do if you have a fall on pipe and a good pump.

It would be important to flush any type of pipe with water when you are finished pumping to ensure no build up on line and prevent future blockages.

I'm sure a twin pipe sewer with S&S joints (with seals properly pushed home) would suffice though and much cheaper option than MDPE above. You just need to ensure that joints are concreted on completion and that the trench is properly backfilled with stone and compacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Hi the local gravel quarry here put in replacement pumps to pump water from the stream to the washer. Rush job as the washer was idle. Pipes put in were like sewer pipes, brown in colour but had a much heavier wall, 20 foot lengths and pushed together. Still there ten years later. No idea of pressure but a head of 40 feet from pump to washer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

From the piggery to the tank is slightly downhill

If there is a fall away in it and its you standard tractor slurry pump almost anything would do in 12inch or nine inch for that matter we have a few lenghts of nine inch wavin that we use for shifting slurry now and again and theres is no pressure on it.the only issue is if there was alot gravel in the slurry it wear the bottom of it but ithink that a long long way down theroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

The biggest factor is really what are you pumping with? If only agitator i wouldn't be worried about the sewer pipes, it wont be building pressure as I'm guessing your just going to be leaving other end open and not put nozzle on it. If your using a doda or similar you may need to go a bit heavier but not much

st1979 wrote: »
    What do farmers use in uk for permanent umbilical underground pipes. Heard of them doing this. Also any ball park figures for the different pipes

I've just been onto a guy in stranrear in Scotland. He uses a buried irrigation pipe for his permanent umbilical system. He has hydrants sticking up between every second field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Think I sent you pm with details. Maybe 3 or 4 times cos this phone acting up and not sure what I did. Let me know and if not work I post on here. Thought the mods not like us using company names on here

I've just been onto a guy in stranrear in Scotland. He uses a buried irrigation pipe for his permanent umbilical system. He has hydrants sticking up between every second field.
    Apart from the expense, contractors would love if that was here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

There's a quarry out my way that uses heavy walled 4"plastic water piping for pumping water 150ish meters uphill for washing stone etc, something similar to water mains piping I'd say. I'd say that's ur best option, I could find out where he gets it if u like. Slurry hose comes in 5 or 6 metre lengths, and about €80 a piece I think roughly for 6". Although I'm sure u can get long 4" lengths from Sparex, but would still be too expensive imo

I think sewer piper would do, as well it has the added advantage that the inner walls of the pipe are designed not to allow sewerage to stick to same. With a little fall they would tend to be self cleaning or a few hundref gallons of water after uses would clean same. The danger with any of these systems is when empty is the bugs they hold multiply legionaires disease is a serious issue with static water.

However any such system would have samer issue. It is a matter of being aware and if doing any repairs being aware of hygiene etc.
    If flushed out before & after slurry would it reduce / remove the potential of disease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

The sort of stuff you'd like to have in the back of your van going home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Ducting with lay flat in it would probably be the easiest way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Water pressure pipe might do the job alright. We used these for pumping sludge from one plant to another in work. It's used for mains water but can take a fair bit if pressure.

http://www.corkplastics.ie/products/water_pressure_pipe

td5man wrote: »
    The sort of stuff you'd like to have in the back of your van going home.

I thought about it alright , they would be handy for alot of things :D

What did ye end up doing Darragh ?

Got a guy in to do it, £2,000 including installation (plastic welding). Local guy involved in supplying material to treatment plants. It's not my money thank god..... its better than the €7,500 quote from my German buddies
    Got a quote from the irrigation pipe company which was a good bit less.