Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Applying for Sandhurst

• 22-06-2014 2:52am
    Registered Users Posts: 4

What is the procedure for applying to Sanhurst military academy? I applied for the cadets this year but was unfortunate enough to fail the online assessment. I am educated to degree level but I am 27 years old. Am I too old at this stage?
    And also, can I apply for the regulars at the same time as Sandhurst just in case I don't get in?

Any info would be great.
    Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭teddyhead

You should check out the mod.co.uk website or sandhurst site but since you havent worked that out , youre probably not officer material. Good luck old sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Probably best ringing a careers office or checking the website. Though i have a feeling you might be too old.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

I thought 26 was the maximum entry age for Sandhurst.

My G*dson is a 25-year-old Captain.

However, good luck in whatever you decide. As a prospective Other Rank in today's cut-down Army you really are going to have to be something special for the board to take on a furriner instead of a national, unless, of course, you ARE a UK citizen already.

Edited for accuracy, or rather, lack of it.

tac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Tac, we've been through this - if you are a citizen and resident of the Republic of Ireland, you are eligible for Sandhurst.

Best of luck OP, my only regret in life is not passing main board. Whatever you do, don't apply for enlisted entry too - it looks bad, apparently. You are either ambitious or you're not, apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

What is the procedure for applying to Sanhurst
    Cheers

Probably something that doesn't involve coming on to an Irish website for advice, Freddy.

teddyhead wrote: »
    You should check out the mod.co.uk website or sandhurst site but since you havent worked that out , youre probably not officer material. Good luck old sport.

Well he wants to be a British officer to be fair ...:D

And you have a degree or two, of course? :D

And you are also an officer in the PDF?

I was an officer in the British Army, and I have three of 'em - a Masters and two Batchelors [one an Hons], not that I'm boasting - it was all very hard work. Making out that we are all a bunch of omadáns tells me that you know SFA about the modern army, British or otherwise...

In my last unit of over thirty personnel, there were only four people who did not have at least one degree - one was the civilian 'typist', the other three were SACs in the RAF who had been posted into the unit as the highest achievers in the upgrading course run at the school.

tac

Bore off.

tac foley wrote: »
    And you have a degree or two, of course? :D

And you are also an officer in the PDF?

I was an officer in the British Army, and I have three of 'em - a Masters and two Batchelors [one an Hons], not that I'm boasting - it was all very hard work. Making out that we are all a bunch of omadáns tells me that you know SFA about the modern army, British or otherwise...

In my last unit of over thirty personnel, there were only four people who did not have at least one degree - one was the civilian 'typist', the other three were SACs in the RAF who had been posted into the unit as the highest achievers in the upgrading course run at the school.

tac

Re degrees: Yep.

It's amadáin (although I doubt they allow Taig speaking in the Brit army).:rolleyes:

The British army unfortunately have a reputation of being delinquents, in Ireland in any case, probably world-wide too.

It's amadáin (although I doubt they allow Taig speaking in the Brit army).:rolleyes:

The British army unfortunately have a reputation of being delinquents, in Ireland in any case, probably world-wide too.

Yeah we're all delinquents, great shout mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Freddy Will

I got this from the website today:

18 years - 26 years. However, current Army policy does permit applicants to enter the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst (RMAS) after their 26th birthday and before their 29th birthday in the AGC (SPS), AGC (ETS), ACG (RMP), RAMC (MSO) and the INT CORPS, or if they are a serving soldier. Higher age limit for professional or specialist applicants may apply.

I know what the INT Corps is but I'm not sure what the rest stands for?

AGC - Adjutant Generals Corps, among the listed below, they also consist of the military police, special investigation branch and the jailers. Not really soldiering, not sure why anyone would join.

SPS - Specialist Personnel Section, admin boners who just look after pay and accounts. People of this branch can be attached to any of the armys units, often leading to bull****ters who will tell you they are from 'Hereford' and then you find out they were the pay clerk. Not really soldiering, not sure why anyone would join.

ETS - Education and Training Section - subbranch of AGC. People who go around making sure various (think phase 1 bootcamp, phase 2 trade training etc) training establishments live up to expectations and deliver training to the expected standard. Not really soldiering, not sure why anyone would join.

MSO - Ahhh, now these lads are grand. Medical Support Officers. They organise the logistics behind the line for the medical support units, field hospitals, tier 1 locations etc. Demanding job but they do great, just look at afghan, lads get hit and get seen by doctors within an hour! Get this job and be a legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Freddy Will

Thanks discus. What light can you shine on the Intel Corps? On the website it's just for UK citizens but it also says they make exceptions for other nationalities ( I'm assuming Irish). The Intel Corps would sound like a bit of craic.

How odd, the Irish unfortunately have a reputation of being delinquents, in UK in any case, probably world-wide, too.

Are you here to pass on your knowledge of the British Army, or just p*ss in peoples' hats?

If the former be the case, then you are welcome to contribute - if the latter be the case, then please go away.

The Irish language is not generally spoken in the British Army, odd as it might seem, and nor is Gaelic or Welsh, although those who DO speak these languages often use them between themselves in an attempt to confuse their officers. Quite right, too, IMO. :)

tac

Thanks discus. What light can you shine on the Intel Corps? On the website it's just for UK citizens but it also says they make exceptions for other nationalities ( I'm assuming Irish). The Intel Corps would sound like a bit of craic.

It's The Intelligence Corps or INT Corps, BTW.

Look 'em up up on the website.

Certain parts of the Intelligence Corps might allow non-UK citizens to join, but I never met with anybody who wasn't a UK citizen with two UK citizen parents in the thirty-one years I spent in it, so my information may well be incorrect.

Give them a call at HQ DISC and see what they have to say - I'd be interested to know, but not interested enough to make my own enquiries, after all, I've been there and done it. :D

tac

No chance mate. Do you reckon you'll bypass the 5 year UK residence and UK passport holders requirement to get any sort of security clearance.
    Certain parts of the Intelligence Corps might allow non-UK citizens to join, but I never met with anybody who wasn't a UK citizen with two UK citizen parents in the thirty-one years I spent in it, so my information may well be incorrect.

Give them a call at HQ DISC and see what they have to say - I'd be interested to know, but not interested enough to make my own enquiries, after all, I've been there and done it.

I'll tell you all now, for a fact, there is no chance that he'll get any part in the Int Corps.

How odd, the Irish unfortunately have a reputation of being delinquents, in UK in any case, probably world-wide, too.

Are you here to pass on your knowledge of the British Army, or just p*ss in peoples' hats?

If the former be the case, then you are welcome to contribute - if the latter be the case, then please go away.

The Irish language is not generally spoken in the British Army, odd as it might seem, and nor is Gaelic or Welsh, although those who DO speak these languages often use them between themselves in an attempt to confuse their officers. Quite right, too, IMO. :)

tac

Yeah I couldn't agree more. This guy strikes me as a candidate for the Darwin award. Usually soldiers wait to get attacked by the enemy before getting killed, but you know the Irish ...

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-soldier-killed-on-army-firing-range-441320-May2012/

To be fair, the Brits have a reputation in Ireland over the decades, and now since they're with the US army, probably world-wide too, as being delinquents.

They're catching up.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/afghanistan/10791194/Armys-most-skilled-pilots-among-five-killed-in-Afghanistan-helicopter-crash.html

Yeah I couldn't agree more. This guy strikes me as a candidate for the Darwin award. Usually soldiers wait to get attacked by the enemy before getting killed, but you know the Irish ...

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-soldier-killed-on-army-firing-range-441320-May2012/

You're a fucking bellend, you absolute piece of spineless shit.

Thats a ****ing despicable comment. I wonder how good at soldiering you'd be or are you just a big man when it's behind a keyboard. ****ing pathetic.

I thought I was just showing how,

"the Irish unfortunately have a reputation of being delinquents".

Thats a ****ing despicable comment. I wonder how good at soldiering you'd be or are you just a big man when it's behind a keyboard. ****ing pathetic.

Yeah, me be that.

And you be big man when you're pointing a machine gun at someone.

discus wrote: »
    I'll tell you all now, for a fact, there is no chance that he'll get any part in the Int Corps.

Depends what part of the island of Ireland he is from.

Ireland, Northern? Of course, he IS a UK citizen.

Ireland, Republic of? Your comment stands.

BTW, we DO have 'temporary attachments' from Australia and New Zealand, both of which have their own Intelligence Corps that is called the Intelligence Corps, but no other Commonwealth countries, including Canada, sadly.

tac

Bugger. You just beat me to it. :mad:

tac

It's pretty sad that one ****ing mong and the ridiculous and inflammatory comments he writes can ruin what was going to be a valuable thread for one aspiring young man trying to make his way in life.

I guess that whenever an Irishman - from whatever part of the island he comes from - asks questions about joining the British Army, the plawks are going to come out from under their dark and dank little hidey-holes to screw the thread up.

tac, saddened

Yeah, me be that.

And you be big man when you're pointing a machine gun at someone.

Well done you've shown how adept you are at behaving like a complete twat. Your mammy will be proud.

It's pretty sad that one ****ing mong and the ridiculous and inflammatory comments he writes can ruin what was going to be a valuable thread for one aspiring young man trying to make his way in life.

I guess that whenever an Irishman - from whatever part of the island he comes from - asks questions about joining the British Army, the plawks are going to come out from under their dark and dank little hidey-holes to screw the thread up.

tac, saddened

Any of you wanting to join the Micks ought to be less stuck up.

Well done you've shown how adept you are at behaving like a complete twat. Your mammy will be proud.

Well hold on!

We don't know how Tac's family feel about him joining the British gunmen.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,248 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If you get carded for that, it'll have been a card well earned.

Well said, sir.

endacl wrote: »
    If you get carded for that, it'll have been a card well earned.

Well said, sir.

But that's not the Queen's English.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Right, week's holiday for him, for doing nothing but knowingly causing angst. It'll get longer if he tries again.