Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He'd keep you talking until dawn.

• 20-06-2014 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭

I was down in the local this evening having a few pints of stout whilst watching the match. Ended up having the 'banter' and the 'craic' with a couple of the local wits. "The last culchie who worked that bar ended up dead" type stuff. Classic Dublin humour.

One lad had an opinion on the time of day, the Government, the state of young people; the way the TV is going, the head on Eamon Dunphy. He'd be giving out shíte about everything and nothing if he understood how to visit a site like this.

So my question to AH is: Who are the 'characters' in your local pub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

They are all full of shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

An oul lad who has his regular seat and reeks of piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Characters in pubs went out with the smoking ban and the price freeze on pints

Now they are just shiny art deco noise traps filled with deco that did arts and tramps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Says the man who's whinging on boards about strangers

Hmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Says the man who's whinging on boards about strangers

Hmmmmmm

Says the man whose username is a whinge and sexual frustration rolled into one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

One lad had an opinion on the time of day, the Government, the state of young people; the way the TV is going, the head on Eamon Dunphy.

Doesn't everyone have an opinion on everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

His name was jaw breaker mitchell actually :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Plenty of mad cnuts in my local.

During some football related banter one of them told me he doesn't follow history.

Another oddball won't accept a drink off anybody, and won't buy anyone else one. Ever, under any circumstances.

Overhead one telling the barman to smash a pint glass after a black man had drank from it.

When I first moved into the area the pub owner asked me had I bought or rented my house, and how much I'd paid for it.

Refused to serve me a pint of blackcurrant cordial one day, said he was there to serve proper pints, then when I threatened to drink elsewhere permanently, he tried charging €2 for it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

A lad I used to know back home was a bit of a character for sure, a real Walter Mitty type. Desperate for everyone to think he was this hard man, always going on about getting into fights and beating people up when he was a younger man. Everyone just used to laugh at him and he'd try to get us to "go outside" but no one would budge and we ended up laughing louder. Lovely guy all the same, but a persistent spoofer.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The closest thing I have to a local pub is Krystle Nightclub on Harcourt Street, and I'd imagine to most other regulars I'm probably the "character" you refer to, and not in a good way ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Can't beat the local characters in pubs, The worlds problems are forever being solved there, the goverment should meet in one at lest once a week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Jesus, if that's what passes for wit and character in your local then it's a dull kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

realies wrote: »
    Can't beat the local characters in pubs, The worlds problems are forever being solved there, the goverment should meet in one at lest once a week...

I remember one old character from my local at home. Shortly after a budget, a few lads were complaining about a recent hike in the price of a pint.

Your man, half tight and with a benson hanging out of his mouth, raises a finger, and piped up.....

"shut your fcuking mouths lads, ye's didn't drink enough of it whenever it was cheap"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

realies wrote: »

The government should get out of the feckin pub at least once a week!