Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Age Card question

• 18-06-2014 8:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

Hi, I know there are plenty of threads on this topic but I realised that the majority are from 3 years or more ago. I'm being paranoid, I want to know if anything as changed since :rolleyes:

My question is to anyone who has recently enough gotten their age card, how long did it take in total for you to receive yours? I know on the website it says the Application form will be sent within 3 working days and then the age card will be sent usually within 10 working days. That being said, I'm reading stories where people have had to wait months for their's because some stations send the cards in batches.

I need it in 11 days. Would it be unrealistic to expect for then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

millgate1 wrote: »
    Hi, I know there are plenty of threads on this topic but I realised that the majority are from 3 years or more ago. I'm being paranoid, I want to know if anything as changed since :rolleyes:

My question is to anyone who has recently enough gotten their age card, how long did it take in total for you to receive yours? I know on the website it says the Application form will be sent within 3 working days and then the age card will be sent usually within 10 working days. That being said, I'm reading stories where people have had to wait months for their's because some stations send the cards in batches.

in my experience, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Pffft. Mine took about 3 months. Then they sent me a letter saying there was a problem with my photos and could I please drop in some new ones, which I did. Another 6 or so weeks I finally got the new card and they had the original photo on it :rolleyes: The picture was faded on one side and there was a mark across my face that looked like the number 6. No one would accept it as ID cos it looked ridiculously fake. Feckin robbin' bastárds. Should have called the gards on them... oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I bought a fake one online, has it in a couple of days and it looked identical to me mates wot was legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

There's a bloke in Moore street that'll get you one , he does NCTs ,licences and can get Russian brides too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭millgate1

TheZohan wrote: »
    I bought a fake one online, has it in a couple of days and it looked identical to me mates wot was legit.
    There's a bloke in Moore street that'll get you one , he does NCTs ,licences and can get Russian brides too.

Cheers lads but I've been scammed once to many, I tend not to trust anyine in this department anymore.

Worst comes to worst, I'll attempt to use my expired passport with a pic of me when I was 9 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I got two because I lost my first one. I got both of mine within 5-7 working days. I've heard of these 3 month stories before but nobody I know has ever experienced it.

Why can't you just use your passport, op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

In 11 days you could grow a beard and never worry about this **** again. Unless you're a girl, then you can find someone with a beard or ID and they'll buy the drink for you. PM me details of your preferred nightclub or offie and I'll see you there. You're welcome.

BOHtox wrote: »
    I got two because I lost my first one. I got both of mine within 5-7 working days. I've heard of these 3 month stories before but nobody I know has ever experienced it.

Why can't you just use your passport, op?

That's relieving to hear :) And because it expired 2 years ago and I'm only about 8 or 10 in the picture. I also looked nothing like I do now :P
    In 11 days you could grow a beard and never worry about this **** again. Unless you're a girl, then you can find someone with a beard or ID and they'll buy the drink for you. PM me details of your preferred nightclub or offie and I'll see you there. You're welcome.

Hahaha, this is the best. I'm a lad, and as much as I'd like to grow a beard, my face doesn't like the idea. Thanks for the advice tho haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My one took about 3 months to arrive. The carrier pigeon got sidetracked by The Emergency.

I am old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

In answer to your question... Maybe.

The Dagda wrote: »
    In answer to your question... Maybe.

This literally sums up all the answers I've gotten so far haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

My sister got hers within 2 weeks last month

aaabbbb wrote: »
    My sister got hers within 2 weeks last month

My hopes are being raised , cheers man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

millgate1 wrote: »

Did you get it yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Depends on your station.. The guard in mine told me most of them will send them all off in batches so it depends how many are handed in around the same time as yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Ah the age card...Yeah, I never used one for years... Then I was 23 and my license wasn't sufficient to buy alcohol.. so annoyingly I got one at 23.. can't remember how long it took..

Haven't used it since then and I've aged a bit more since..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The general standard of age cards is shocking. It seems they couldn't care less about quality as long as it has the birthdate and a photo of some sort. They aren't very durable either, the plastic on the front begins to peel off too easily which can cause problems getting in to places sometimes.

OP, 11 days would be touch or go, mine took three weeks to come and as other posters mentioned, there can be hitches as well. Have you a drivers licence or pass-port you could use?

I'd imagine this is a peak time for applications as people look to have a proper ID for concerts and stuff and in time for going to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭HauntedGhost

I got mine after a week of giving to the Garda Station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Umadbrah?

I guess I was lucky because I got mine after around a week

Thanks everyone for your responses, unfortunately I didn't get mine in time. I handed in the application form and your woman told me I'd receive it in 2 to 3 weeks. "Within 10 working days" my arse! I got no license but I do have an expired passport with a pic of me when I was 8 - 10 :P I'll probably just pre-drink so or go sober.

Thanks again everyone!