Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice needed for a complete noob!

Options
  • 18-06-2014 11:57am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭

I'm looking to get into a bit of fishing this Summer. I've never fished before and no idea where to start with regards equipment etc.

I'm looking to do a bit of sea fishing and river fishing and getting set up relatively cheaply with begginer equipment. I'm worried if I go in and tell that to a guy in a shop he'll rip me off. Any advice would be great. Cheers.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Tbh best to choose one or the other when starting off. You either want to do freshwater or sea angling.
    It's not as simple as dippin a line and hooking a fish. Both are completely different.
    As for gear you are right that some shops will rip you off in terms of gear when it comes to a newbie.
    First things first. Freshwater fishing or sea angling

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Tbh best to choose one or the other when starting off. You either want to do freshwater or sea angling.
    It's not as simple as dippin a line and hooking a fish. Both are completely different.
    As for gear you are right that some shops will rip you off in terms of gear when it comes to a newbie.
    First things first. Freshwater fishing or sea angling

Does it have to be a case of doing one or the other? Is there not a rod that would be adequate for both?

If that is the case I'd do freshwater angling more as I don't live near the sea. But if any way possible I'd like to do both with the same gear.

Cheers for the response.