Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Macarons

• 17-06-2014 1:06pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Someone please tell me what the big deal is with these things??

They're all over every bridal magazine I look at.. they're just biscuits aren't they?

They don't even look that appetising to me :confused:

What am I missing ? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Have you tried them?
    They are delish!

I guess the colour selection and popularity of them makes them into the vintage style weddings.
    I'd rather have a batch of them myself then have them at a wedding mind you...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Theyre a really light, crispy and chewy biscuit with a ganache filling that can be made in tonne of different flavours and all different colours. So they're really versatile and they look great.

We considered having a macaron 'cake' at our wedding as it would be way cheaper, but we changed our minds.

Also, just to be pedantic, it's a macaron you mean, not a macaroon :). A macaroon is made with coconut and egg whites, while a macaron is made with almonds.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Ah, I see.

So, how are they pronounced?

McKarens?
    MacaRONS?
    MaCARons?

xzanti wrote: »
    Ah, I see.

So, how are they pronounced?

McKarens?
    MacaRONS?
    MaCARons?

MacaRONs :)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

They're super tasty. I discovered them in Paris on my honeymoon. There was a place on the Champs Elysee that my sister said we had to go in to, and it sold macarons. We had a couple there, then bought 2 big boxes which we were supposed to be bringing back as a present for our families........ 3 days later we had to go and re-purchase because the first two boxes were mysteriously eaten by person or persons unknown :o

I've never seen them at a wedding before, although as Whiskeyman said, I'd prefer a big pile of them all to myself - wouldn't want to be the person at the wedding known as "yer one in the corner hogging all the posh biscuity things"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Fagashlil

They're just divine! Laduree have opened in BTs and at nearly €3 per macaron is totally worth it. The caramel flavour is to die for.

Was at a wedding last month where they had them at the drinks reception, there just wasn't enough for me and everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Why are they such a crazy price? They are nice and all but not sure they are THAT nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

They are very labour intensive to make properly, hence the expense. I was at a wedding with a macaron cake. It was fine but nothing amazing. I'm not mad on them anyway. I've tried my hand at making them and it seriously wasn't worth the effort.

With the laduree ones, you're partially paying for the name, and they come in a pistachio green box with gold lettering! I've tired the M&S ones, and they have feck all flavour, they all taste the same. And as lazygal said, they're labour intensive. Wouldn't be buying them daily, but as a treat or whenever himselfs in trouble, they do the trick!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Goddamnit

Now I want to go out and buy some :(:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

Amateur cook here, tried to make these at home and like above its a LOT of effort for little reward. tried them in town one day in a nice coffee shop and thought yeah they're kinda nice. Better then I could make.

Then was driving down the mediterranean couple years ago whilst on a family holiday and ended up in st tropez (just saying like), parked the car, walking through the main square went in for a coffee in a boulangerie (proper bakery) and tried a macaron in there. Holy jaysis. nicest thing Ive ever eaten with a coffee bar none. Its a whole different beast to anything you can ever hope to make at home.

If done right its massive, otherwise dont bother with expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

Macarons are just about my favourite things in the world, I'd keel over with happiness if I was at a wedding and there was a macaron cake!

Laduree is grand for them but the best ones I've had in Dublin (and I could write a book about the best ones I had in France, if anyone is interested :pac: ) are from Cocoa Atelier on Drury Street in Dublin. I think they're 1.70 there and they definitely do 'macaron cakes' which I'd imagine are a bit cheaper per macaron. Absolute HEAVEN

WinterSong wrote: »
    Macarons are just about my favourite things in the world, I'd keel over with happiness if I was at a wedding and there was a macaron cake!

Laduree is grand for them but the best ones I've had in Dublin (and I could write a book about the best ones I had in France, if anyone is interested :pac: ) are from Cocoa Atelier on Drury Street in Dublin. I think they're 1.70 there and they definitely do 'macaron cakes' which I'd imagine are a bit cheaper per macaron. Absolute HEAVEN

god damn Im heading up there soon as I get a chance. thanks for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

god damn Im heading up there soon as I get a chance. thanks for that.

They have seasonal flavours in atm, mango and violet is the absolute best!

I think that macarons are wonderful in that they're not only delicious but they also look really beautiful. The colours are always so vibrant!

They have seasonal flavours in atm, mango and violet is the absolute best!

I think that macarons are wonderful in that they're not only delicious but they also look really beautiful. The colours are always so vibrant!

OMG those flavours sound divine.

And I've just googled the place, if only it was open right now, dare I say they look prettier than the laduree ones?!!

Yeah, they're really labour intensive and fiddly, and the ingredients are actually very expensive. Ground almonds are pricey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I have nothing to add except that this song comes into my head every time I read the thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'm not into them.
    Which is mad because I have a massive sweet tooth.

Somehow I find it hard to discern different flavours in them...they all just taste like sugar to me.

Maybe I have an uncultured palate :o

For me:
    The macarons look nicer alright!
    But cupcakes fill you up more.

If you are planning on serving with cups of tea between church and dinner I suggest cupcakes - will sustain your guests far better until the dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Laduree are the BOMB. Mega drool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I am not fond of them but was at a wedding last week and had one to be polite. To say it made me gag is putting it mildly. It had so much rose water in it, it was like it had been filled with handcream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

I had a macaron tower for my wedding. It was what I had always wanted as I absolutely adore them. Plus, they look amazing and all my guests loved them as they were so easy to eat. No mess.

I had a 10 tier from Cocoa Atelier on Drury Street and we were able to pick macarons that matched in with the colour theme of the wedding. They have a great selection of flavours. I remember caramel and apple was a great hit with my friends as was the chocolate and hazelnut.

are from Cocoa Atelier on Drury Street in Dublin. I think they're 1.70 there and they definitely do 'macaron cakes' which I'd imagine are a bit cheaper per macaron. Absolute HEAVEN

Just had to come back and thank you for this, €21 later and full of the violet and mango and passionfruit ones, I think I've found heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Sam Rock

I'm going to try the next one I see!

I don't like the look of them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Greg Ireland

Macarons rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

My sis had some at her wedding (her wedding cake guy made them for her)- lemon , rasberry and chocolate. The lemon and raspberry were out of this world - really punchy flavours. Dont eat chocolate but I believe they were fab too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Macarons rule!

Really old threads don't though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

They are mank I don't get these things at all. Just another fad

Macarons rule!

Mod Note: Hi Greg Ireland and welcome to boards.ie. Ordinarily, we discourage the bumping of threads that are more than 6 months old, especially when nothing constructive is added to the conversation.

However, as this thread has had more posts since being bumped, I'll leave it open for now.

Also, mod hat off, I totally stand by my first post: Macarons are awesome when they're well done! I'm going to take a macaron-making class soon :).

Since I've posted I've gone off macaroni even more :) They always taste stale to me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

amdublin wrote: »

Oh I think maybe you are getting them in the wrong place! I love them, cocoa atelier on drury Street is the best place in Dublin in my opinion :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I've never had a macaron. I always thought they'd looked fierce expensive for a itty bitty bikkie.

I'll give them a shot now though :P

I'm not getting married, nor going to any more weddings this, so I've no advice on that side of things :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

old stale macarons are awful. Fresh ones are totally different ballgame. I got a pack for my hen from a friend in France and they were amazing. I absolutely love trying all the different flavours and trying to guess them. I love the violet ones, then again I do like turkish delight and the like.

I've made them myself too. Definitely a lot of work, hence the price. They're also incredibly easy to mess up. The chocolate ones aren't too bad to make, but anything else is scientifically precise in colouring and flavouring and a pain in the butt. Don't try wrong colouring with wrong flavour either, looks and tastes wrong ... ha ha...

Gatica wrote: »
    old stale macarons are awful. Fresh ones are totally different ballgame. I got a pack for my hen from a friend in France and they were amazing. I absolutely love trying all the different flavours and trying to guess them. I love the violet ones, then again I do like turkish delight and the like.

I've made them myself too. Definitely a lot of work, hence the price. They're also incredibly easy to mess up. The chocolate ones aren't too bad to make, but anything else is scientifically precise in colouring and flavouring and a pain in the butt. Don't try wrong colouring with wrong flavour either, looks and tastes wrong ... ha ha...

now I want a turkish delight. :mad:

I went and tried in cocoa atelier after recommendation here and yes they are as good as stated, anyone who hasnt a proper one really doesnt know what theyre missing, anything other than a good one will leave you feeling let down at best about them

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I just realised there's a Laduree on the corner of south william st! I'm going to take an excursion into town tomorrow and get my sister a box for her birthday....and sample the goods while I'm there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I find laduree a bit overpriced and not as fresh though.