Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Lunchtime cycle tomorrow

• 17-06-2014 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭

I would urge anyone who works in Dublin City to take part in this event tomorrow, it is important to keep promoting cycling in Dublin and Ireland, and you can do your little bit by just showing up on your bike. It's a casual affair of course and it will be a lovely sunny day tomorrow, so hope to see you all there at 12:45 pm Grand Canal Square. I have nothing to do personally with this event,, just think we should get out and promote cycling when we can..

Cheers,

http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/cyclingindublin/Pages/DublinCityLunchtimeCycle2014.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

I'll be there, hopefully with a few workmates.

I'm planning to use it as a RoK warm-up - i.e., show up in lycra on a €6,000 bike and yell at everyone to get out of my way. Looking forward to the cobbled section at the finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

There's a cycle and picnic in Fitzgeralds Park in Cork too for anyone feeling jealous of Dubland. All my cycling friends are either working or on holidays though. :(

http://www.corksports.ie/index.cfm/page/lunch-by-the-lee_picnic-in-the

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

I'm going with a gang from work. We may be wearing paper pom-poms on our heads (team building and all that :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

The irony - I'm working in town in a new job since Monday. Requires a suit so haven't got around to the logistics if brining clothes to work to change into yet. And the weather as we'll! Will all change when I'm bask on the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I'm going aswell. Going to try to barge my way into buffalo's lead out train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

That sounds pretty cool. Not sure I'd have enough time on my lunch tho.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Its only a 15 second cycle so I might pop around, try and get an autograph from buffalo

I registered yesterday, and won a goodie bag. No idea what is in it yet, but I really hope it contains a venge.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Got a goodie bag too. I'll be there - in a boards jersey as that's what I wore this morning for my commute.

lennymc wrote: »
    I registered yesterday, and won a goodie bag. No idea what is in it yet, but I really hope it contains a venge.....

I got one too! \o/ I don't remember what was in it last year, but I recall being underwhelmed. I think the highlight was a bottle of water. Possibly the bag itself was the most useful thing. :)

Yep, I got one last year too, and I'm a winner again this year (must do the Lotto tonight with this great streak of luck :p)

I think it was water and a granola bar last year, so don't get too excited :D

QueensGael wrote: »
    Yep, I got one last year too, and I'm a winner again this year (must do the Lotto tonight with this great streak of luck :p)

I think it was water and a granola bar last year, so don't get too excited :D

Alot of people don't register online so maybe its a simple case that they barely fill the 500 quota, I got it when I registered but I had not intention of registering until I heard here, the other people in work who are planning to go over I am pretty certain have not registered.

^^^^ I figure that most people don't register, so you are probably right cram. They will regret not registering when we are on our new venges...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

^^^^ I figure that most people don't register, so you are probably right cram. They will regret not registering when we are on our new venges...

Bet they have the wrong size, or colour, or a bloody compact on the front. I never catch a break! And even if they get that right, whats the chance of them wrapping the handlebar tape the wrong way!

With much hilarity I realise the vouchers have no distinguishing features, one voucher has now become 4 for my work colleagues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Well that was just grand wasn't it :)

Met a couple of boardsies at the ride. One in pink and another I had a nice chat with on the way around. As I was leaving I think I heard someone else call out boardsie but didn't see who. I was the one in the green boards kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

A bit of fun - goodie bag was ****e but the water was welcome!

TV3 Weatherman and event MC Derek reckoned there was about 1000 people there. Well marshalled by the police bikes, although one gave out to me for taking a 'cycle selfie'. I wouldn't mind but we were travelling at around 10kmph and were told to take them by Derek :-p!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Orion wrote: »
    Met a couple of boardsies at the ride. One in pink and another I had a nice chat with on the way around. As I was leaving I think I heard someone else call out boardsie but didn't see who. I was the one in the green boards kit.

That was myself. Lovely day for it and loving the brodericks bar they gave out with the goodie bag. nyom nyom nyom.

Initially I picked up a goodie bag, but there was no venge inside, so I went back and got a different one. Imagine my surprise when I found this:

91824ed0507f58663c7d390caa3a5ecf.jpg*

*ok, I didn't really get a venge, but I had yee all going.

Plastik wrote: »
    Well that was just grand wasn't it :)
    Indeed it was, surprised how quickly we got around considering the speed
    I seen at least three, very impressed with the full kit on, tempted to say hello but I let it slide as everyone was in conversation.

Reminded me alot of A4 racing, I tried to get up the front early on, the pacing was weird with several people just sitting up in the bunch. I tried going up the outside and got near the front but slowly drifted to the back after getting pinned in by the moto-marshals. I got talking to another guy before the turn for the canal and we agreed we would shoot up the outside on the cobbles as this was the most likely place for a break for the line, alas I got boxed in by 2 bromptons and a hybrid so I just sat up. The marshalls were going crazy near the line as it was quite a technical finish. Disappointing first day road racing this year but will work on it for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

anyone else feel like a boss cycling within a group up the Giro finish route? ;-)

Good to see so many out - the one cycling event of the year where helmets are not compulsory? :)

Spotted Heather Boyle and Geoff Liffey of CI, as well as CramCycle, QueensGael and Leroy42. I feel like such a socialite now!

The simple joy of sun and cycling :D A lovely way to spend a lunchtime!

Anyone remember what the twitter hashtag is for it? Wouldn't mind seeing some of the photos people are tweeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,332 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

beautiful day for a leisurely spin around the city centre. Highlights of the goodie bag included a 98FM mousemat and a sweatband with built-in coin-purse!

loyatemu wrote: »
    beautiful day for a leisurely spin around the city centre. Highlights of the goodie bag included a 98FM mousemat and a sweatband with built-in coin-purse!
    I never looked in the bag after the bar and drinks, the mousemat will be useful, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

IMG_2020_zpsdfb688ff.jpg

IMG_2021_zpsad011f05.jpg

IMG_2022_zps587617be.jpg

I didn't get a mousemat - I demand satisfaction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Very nice spin, well organised and thanks for the support from the Gardai and patience of all the passing motorists and pedestrians.

Grand canal dock is a great place to host it.

Would be nice to see more effort to involve the community. Obviously it would cost a lot, but engaging with everyone not out on a bike, maybe handing out free bike week goodies, would be a nice idea. A lot of people looked a bit peeved at the cyclists riding 5 abreast and swanning through red lights*

Met Idleater and lennymc, who I'm now convinced is unable to separate his Giro aero helmet from his head.

*All allowed on the route of course.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    lennymc, who I'm now convinced is unable to separate his Giro aero helmet from his head

I gotta gets me moneys worth....

I forgot i was wearing it one day, while driving down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

Anyone remember what the twitter hashtag is for it? Wouldn't mind seeing some of the photos people are tweeting.

Some here: https://twitter.com/LunchtimeCycle
    CramCycle wrote: »
    Disappointing first day road racing this year but will work on it for next year

Likewise. I'd been keeping my tactics a secret since this thread went up, but now I can reveal that I'd planned to take lennymc's wheel in buffalo's train, then make a break for glory in the last 500m.

For most of the route I tucked in behind Owen Keegan and his DCC colleagues until I managed to find lenny's wheel, but buffalo's train seemed to be over 700 strong ('socialite'? More like a bloody county councillor at the mart!), which wasn't ideal. And then lenny completely thwarted my plans by intorducing me to Idleater. At that stage, a break would have just been rude. Next year I'll be leading from the front and you can all eat my dirt.

I also spotted DirkVoodoo, looking louche and metro, and a lad in a pink Boards jersey (the same one in the photo on the bridge above)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

That was me in the pink jersey - nice to meet you!

Also got a 'Boardsie!' shout from a female cyclist who refused to identify herself. ;) I have now just worked out that it was QueensGael with her pom-poms in her basket! Nice to meet you too.

Tried to drag the cycling population in work along but only one managed to get out with me. Nice to get out in the sunshine in the middle of the day.

Also caught up with one Mr Daly resplendent in full pink kit who was more successful than me in dragging his work colleagues along.
    Plastik wrote: »

IMG_2021_zpsad011f05.jpg

That's me in the pink Boards jersey in the middle of the shot!

I seen lennymc but at that point I was psyching up for the start so didn't break my concentration. I thought the ET bike was quite clever and fair play to the person in the cow suit, that must have been torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

#@lucky Backstards that could get of the office today!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    A lot of people looked a bit peeved at the cyclists riding 5 abreast and swanning through red lights*

I did notice quite a few stranded office workers, standing on one side of the road with their purchased lunch, clearly distressed at not being able to return to the sanctuary of the air-conditioned canteen.

Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Farmlife

I put a GoPro on board, see if you can spot yourself http://youtu.be/hK9MYR_yyVg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Farmlife wrote: »
    I put a GoPro on board, see if you can spot yourself http://youtu.be/hK9MYR_yyVg

That would be me @ 20:52 heading back to work after collecting my goodie bag! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Farmlife wrote: »

@06:36...looking "Louche and metro" (??)

I know it was a bit of fun, but it could also have been a chance to show people how to ride on the roads. The lad in front there with the balloon was hugging the right of the road rather than keeping left. I know, I know...