Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 24: Day 9 - Live Another Day, Hour 8 [ 6 p.m. - 7 p.m. ] [** SPOILERS **]

• 16-06-2014 12:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭

Synopsis:
    Jack Bauer and President Heller endure the unthinkable to thwart the terror attacks of mastermind Margot Al-Harazi (guest star Michelle Fairley). Meanwhile, CIA agent Jordan Reed faces a life-or-death struggle and Kate takes drastic measures to track down Margot before it’s too late in the all-new “Day 9: 6:00 PM-7:00 PM” episode of 24: LIVE ANOTHER DAY

Episode 200 tonight, really hope President Heller doesn't die but it's not looking good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Will be gutted if Heller goes too, been one of my favourites down the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Speechless. The music during the split-screen made it 1000 times worse.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Didn't think they'd do it....

I expect Margo won't make it to 8pm either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

Mr E wrote: »
    Didn't think they'd do it....

I expect Margo won't make it to 8pm either.

I've a feeling jack will hunt them down and **** them all up.

also think the Russians will get hold of Jack but Audrey will enlist Kate to get him back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

No silent clock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

No silent clock wtf????

I'd say there is a time jump on the last episode, 12 hours forward, with Hellers casket and Jack heading back to the US so they could keep it til then.
    Either that or it's being kept for Jacks death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I really liked the episode. Loved how they brought Wembley into it :D

Jack gets a pardon, but i'm sure Mark forging the president signature to hand Jack over to the Russians will complicate that.

Only 4 episodes left:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Wow. Didn't think they'd actually follow through with that. At least he went out in a blaze of glory - excuse the pun.

I wonder if Jordan is still alive or not though. Did yer man stab him right in the windpipe? I hope he's still alive, apart from Milo, he's easily been the best analyst guy.

The final 4 minutes were stuck up on youtube:

Still devastated, worse than
    Edgar and Ryan Chappelle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

RIP James Heller. A truly honourable man. One of my favourite characters down through the years. Poor Audrey :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Absolutely gutted!!!

Strange that there was no silent clock. Heller deserved that recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,184 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Well that was unexpected.
    Right up to the end I did not think it would end like that thought Jack would save him or she would not fire.

Audreys going to be pissed

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    Strange that there was no silent clock. Heller deserved that recognition.

agreed

I want the next episode now NOW NOW NOW NOW*

*Trashes around like a kid with a temper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭WexTK

I feel he lives, implausible as it sounds... I thought I saw him making a forward motion in the last shot of him..... my money is he aint dead.

I think the only possible way for the president to still be alive is if Chloe hacked the drone feed and put in a loop ala 'Speed'.
    In next weeks preview (Spoiler)
    Ian says they can see their drone feed
    but it doesnt explain why Jack was looking so upset as he walked out.

Also, looking back at it now, there isn't a 'live' shot of him standing there for the entire final 2 minutes, its all drone feed footage we see but I still think he really is gone.

Well it looks like the FA Cup Final is back to the Millennium Stadium next year so :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I have a rule with television. If you don't see the body explicitly dead assume the character isn't dead. No silent clock for Heller? Who knows? It's not beyond the realm of possibility that Chloe hacked the feed and played them a loop.

Fun episode. Hope he's not dead, but [Games of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire spoiler]
    24's universe is not too dissimilar from Westeros. Characters die for fun.
    . In 24, unless you're jack you're most likely going to die at some stage. Exception being Chloe. Feck! I've probably jinxed her fortune now and Adrien will kill her.

Also, Jordan idiot! If anyone ever asks it about the safety just fire a round! Better yet assume a commissioned assassin pointing his gun trying to kill you isn't going to have the bloody safety switched on! PLease don't be dead I rather liked you.

Favourite bit of the episode.
    "Wake the bitch up!"

Turtwig wrote: »
    I have a rule with television. If you don't see the body explicitly dead assume the character isn't dead. No silent clock for Heller? Who knows? It's not beyond the realm of possibility that Chloe hacked the feed and played them a loop.

Fun episode. Hope he's not dead, but [Games of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire spoiler]
    24's universe is not too dissimilar from Westeros. Characters die for fun.
    . In 24, unless you're jack you're most likely going to die at some stage. Exception being Chloe. Feck! I've probably jinxed her fortune now and Adrien will kill her.

Also, Jordan idiot! If anyone ever asks it about the safety just fire a round! Better yet assume a commissioned assassin pointing his gun trying to kill you isn't going to have the bloody safety switched on! PLease don't be dead I rather liked you.

Favourite bit of the episode.
    "Wake the bitch up!"

I am wondering is Chloe in on what Adrien has done and gone to the dark side ala Almedia.

I like 24 when it's tight and intimate. I think there's always a risk when big explosions and drone strikes enter it, what with tv budgetary constraints etc..... that the show loses something as a result

I do hope there is a time jump in the next episode as it would mean we didn't have to judge the special effects of the destruction etc.... it would seem logical time for a jump and might add intrigue to the story?

WexTK wrote: »
    I like 24 when it's tight and intimate. I think there's always a risk when big explosions and drone strikes enter it, what with tv budgetary constharaints etc..... that the show loses something as a result

I do hope there is a time jump in the next episode as it would mean we didn't have to judge the special effects of the destruction etc.... it would seem logical time for a jump and might add intrigue to the story?

Say it would be the time jump between the episodes does seem the logical place and leave a bit of mystery did she dump the drones or are they around for another attack (I would say by the son)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

I think Ian betrays Margo and keeps the drones flying. Although Jack never hung up on chloe either and she stayed working at trying to hack the drone so its possible of a loop placed in it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

It is the mordant humour that pushes it towards true excellence - Chloe in the pub or President Heller's comment on Jack's surgical skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Manach wrote: »
    It is the mordant humour that pushes it towards true excellence - Chloe in the pub or President Heller's comment on Jack's surgical skills.

Enjoyed it when Heller called Jack "son". For the past few seasons Jack is usually calling younger Policemen or government agents "son", so it was nice for a change to hear someone else use it on him!

Also really enjoying how they are handling Mark. I expected him to be pure dirty, only looking out for himself and basically be a terrible husband. And while he has done been those things plenty of times throughout the day it was nice to see him get a chance to show just what Heller meant to him. However I reckon things are gonna get much worse for him with the fake signature in the next hour or 2.

Also I just realised had Jack not got involved in the threat in the first place there might have been a lot less innocent deaths (that is if Margot keeps her word). Heller would still have given himself up and the drones will be destroyed . But the CIA would never have got Simone without Jack so Margot would probably not have hit the hospital. And a few people may have died as a result of her missile strikes on Jack's car. Jack should have just continued as he was being "batman"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Don't get the love for the kate character at all. Probably the least convincing character on the show.

Acting chops of a plank. Sure she looks good, so what. Peolple saying shes the next jack ?!? Gimme a break. Even Chloe with her black eyed squint "i'm doing my best Jack" is getting annoying

If I was the the Doc and she pulled a gun on me like that I'd have called her bluff. Shes not a killer. Whats she gonna do ? kill the whole surgical team and administer the drug herself ? Blah

Jacks great as usual but his gruff voice and sideways glance at everything every second is getting a bit off putting. I know thats his character but come on he over does it a bit.

William Devane is excellent as usual (in everything he does, and if he is gone in this episode I'll miss him.) Tate Donovan is also a great underrated actor. Great in Hostages.

Love 24 love the london setting. love the shorter series but not without flaws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

Who is the actor who was at the helicopter for Jack and Heller? Hes a government official or agent. Think he was in Band of Brothers, could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

absolutely love this show. waiting til it's over in states then going to watch all the episodes in one go.
    what's not to love. Jack - yum. Action - great. Storylines - excellent.

Definitely, Heller is a great character. Chloe is the best though.

Who is the actor who was at the helicopter for Jack and Heller? Hes a government official or agent. Think he was in Band of Brothers, could be wrong.

Yeah, he's Marks aide. Ross McCall, great actor.
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0564680/?ref_=tt_cl_t13

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Don't know how true this is :
    But apparently the Latin American trailer for next week shows
    Heller Alive!!!

Delighted this season is 12 hours long , feels much more full than the 24 episode seasons

^^^ No one read that!!!
    :P

Heckler wrote: »
    Don't get the love for the kate character at all. Probably the least convincing character on the show.

Acting chops of a plank. Sure she looks good, so what. Peolple saying shes the next jack ?!? Gimme a break. Even Chloe with her black eyed squint "i'm doing my best Jack" is getting annoying

If I was the the Doc and she pulled a gun on me like that I'd have called her bluff. Shes not a killer. Whats she gonna do ? kill the whole surgical team and administer the drug herself ? Blah

Jacks great as usual but his gruff voice and sideways glance at everything every second is getting a bit off putting. I know thats his character but come on he over does it a bit.

William Devane is excellent as usual (in everything he does, and if he is gone in this episode I'll miss him.) Tate Donovan is also a great underrated actor. Great in Hostages.

Love 24 love the london setting. love the shorter series but not without flaws

Does it in every 24 season.

I was the one who said the Sutherland may not do another 24 and could they be trying to see if someone can take the lead. No one has said Kate would do it quiet the opposite. In relation to pulling a gun on the team I would not be surprised if she can go quiet dark. Wait till she finds about her husband. But no she will not be the main character in it again yes but not the lead By the way Chloe character is the same is every series in the way she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Rumour has it the missile hit the England band instead

Every cloud.......

I would say (from what I can recall) that there is little difference in the characters of Renee Walker and Kate Morgan.... certainly Renee had some badassness in her final season I seem to recall.

I think Kate Morgan is a good addition to the show.... in spite of the fact that some might consider her good looks distracting at times.... :-)

There's been a fair bit of gossip on the internet lately about Kate Morgan taking over from Jack Bauer in 24. Which I think would be an awful idea. This season has been really good - if Kiefer doesnt want to do any more then they should just leave it. I suppose 24 with Jack Bauer as a guest star would be one thing, but surely the show couldnt survive without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

"Wake the bitch up"; heh, I laughed out loud:)
    I don't think Heller is dead; it would kind of defeat the whole purpose of the show if the bad guys win. Anyway as somebody said; no silent clock which a is dead giveaway (no pun intended).
    I agree with whoever said the son is going to keep the the drones operable.
    I thought it was great the way they brought Wembley Stadium into it; the FA won't be too pleased that their pitch is all messed up though.:D
    Edit:Just seen the Latin American promo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

I didnt want to watch that spoiler :O damn you guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

what are the bets Chloe hacked the drone at the last second and simulated the explosion,

My money's on hacked the drone but the explosion is real and the FA are going to be pissed!

FA are going to be pissed!
    Why... not as if the English football team would have been using it much, as evidenced by their Brazilian trip .... :)

don ramo wrote: »
    what are the bets Chloe hacked the drone at the last second and simulated the explosion,

Explosion happened I say Chloe stepped the loop feed in time so they think its real

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Really enjoyed that. I'm on two minds on whether i want Heller to be alive or not. He's a great character, but it would feel a bit cheap have him survive that. Sure Chloe probably could have done something, but still.

Bloody amazing season so far though, and can't wait to see how it ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Forgot to post about this episode. Rappih!

Gutted for Audrey :(

"Could have changed his mind... or at least said goodbye"

Top notch series, but I actually hope it's the end. I still want a bleedin film though :P

So my prediction is
    Ian gets power-hungry, kills the mammy, then goes on a mad one. Or else the opposite of the end of Day 8: Jack on the run to get back to America for refuge :P !

Came in here to say 'HELLER NOOOOOOOOO'!!! But
    I clicked the Latin promo for next week, and really hope that he is still alive

If this show didn't previously have David Palmer in it, I would say that Heller was the best president it had, even if he did abandon Gotham City when they needed him most in the TDKR!

This has been a really strong season of 24 so far, I would definitely welcome another mini-series if they could keep this quality up.

As for Kate becoming the new Jack, I can't see it happening and hope that it doesn't. Sutherland absolutely loves this role and he has already seen that if other projects don't go so well for him (i.e. Touch), he can always take Jack Bauer off the shelf and do another series of 24. It's the role of a lifetime. Jack Bauer is 24.

Future prediction - I can totally see Ian going rogue on Margo and not sending those drones into the sea off the Dover coast.

My stumble upon led me to a article that said 24 was renewed. My heart jumped and then dropped when I saw it was from 2013. :( Really hoping they give Jack another summer. This one has been awesome.

Could do Day 10 in Russia or China, they wont go back to LA or do London again.
    Assuming he doesn't die of course. . .

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Assuming he doesn't die of course. . .
    Stopping Mr. Bauer's heart (Day2?) only makes him angrier.
    Or then, Zombie 24?

Now..that. would be brilliant!

Maybe that's the clue in the subtitle for next season. Ex-CTU Bauer is revived by the CIA to help hunt down a team of deadly terrorist hell bent of killing civilians.